We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL BABY BOOMER PLACE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
MEMPHIS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL BABY BOOMER PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

What a Great place to stay! The rooms was small but how much time do you stay in your room in Santa Fe! The grounds beautiful. The free breakfast delicious! What a bargin! Hope to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CHARLOTTEMEMPHIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    220
    63
    14
    7
See reviews for
149
324
35
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Another friend chose this hotel & I'm glad we only stayed one night. Quaint is a fairly adequate description - old & outdated more accurate. It is "cute" but the room left a lot to be desired for the price. We were in Room 27.
First the bathroom; I'm just over 6' tall & had to squat in the shower since the showerhead is about about 5'5" tall - the water was very hot & I had to be careful not to scald myself. At least there were two separate sinks but the lighting was poor & as we were getting ready to leave we finally found the 1 electical outlet which is high up to the right of the fluoresecent light.
The carpet did not feel clean so I decided to skip my daily stretching routine that I do on the floor & wished I had slippers with me. The furniture is eclectic...meaning non-matching - some 70's dark wood hotel style bland furniture mixed in w/a couple of SW style chairs.
Thankfully the beds were comfortable but when my friend pulled her covers back I couldn't help noticing that the box springs were dirty. The AC/fan worked well to keep the room temperate.
The continental breakfast was wonderful & the main building is nice. The buildings & grounds look good w/flowers planted here & there but the bushes in front of the rooms were so close to each other you had to push them out of the way to get to your door. In one case a branch almost smacked my friend in the face as she was walked behind me.
I would say that this place has a lot of "character" & since I didn't price out the hotels for our stay I'm not sure how it compares to others. For future stays I would be willing to pay a bit more to stay closer to the plaza in a newer hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallRThanU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerrillos, Owner at El Rey Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
It has been our hospitality philosophy over the past 37 years that we have owned the inn to create an atmosphere where each accommodation has personality and individuality. We have original art in every room created by some 30 different artists from the region as well as unusual period furniture pieces placed to complement the interiors. Many rooms have hand painted murals, tile murals, hand-crafted headboards, hand-crafted armoires, tin light fixtures and much more in order to accomplish a residential and personal space for our guests to enjoy. We do not profess nor is it our desire to emulate the many chain type lodging properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
226 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

An older property on Cerrillos Road, the rooms are dated but the place has incredible charm. We particularly love the grounds and different types of rooms available. We've stayed here several times over the years and find it always delivers what we're looking for. Cerrillos Road is very busy and a chore sometimes to enter but there's no street noise coming into the property.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabundos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

After reading all the glowing reviews, we were extremely disappointed in this motel. Yes, it's old and the grounds are certainly unique and probably charming when in bloom. However, the room was simply old and run down. Bedding was dingy and worn, as was the carpet. The room was very dark and worn. The bathroom was grossly outdated. The electrical outlets were limited and extension cords were being used. Even for those who like and appreciate "old & charming", the price for this room was ridiculous! When we expressed our disenchantment upon checkout, we experienced complete disinterest. We would never recommend this motel or stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank havapekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerrillos, Owner at El Rey Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
I would like to respond to the review of October 20,2010, "So Disappointed". A photo of the accommodation that was reviewed can be seen on our website under the title of "Accomodations" and then under the catagory of "Traditional". The photo is of the two-bedded accommodation which we think is very lovely and charming. We are sorry that these guests did not agree with us and the other guests who have enjoyed this very same accommodation. We would have been happy to offer an alternative accommodation for their two night stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We generally only stay in B&Bs and small places, so i was reluctant to stay in a motel, but could not find another place that worked. This place is unusually lovely and warm for a motel. It is pretty to walk around - with tile work and pretty garden areas. Nice pool. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast, too. I would recommend even if you usuually stay away from motels. Tip - if you don't like traffic noise, ask for a room in the back; it is on a busy road. It is also about 8 minutes from the downtown Plaza shopping area.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LaurafromAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The El Rey Inn is just perfect. Quaint, beautiful, clean and friendly. We stayed a couple nights in early October and the grounds were very pretty. Our room was really nice with everything we needed. The breakfast is nothing short of lovely - with the table settings and the classical guitar music playing, very calm and inviting. the workers were all above average kindness. There is a a realy big beautiful pool with a seperate hot tub / Jacuzzi which is in it's own room. There is also the largest hot tub I've ever seen, it was really deep and nice and hot - this one is set with an open sky, sitting area for several people and a fireplace! Gorgeous. There is a sauna in this area too. You can walk to restaurants and everything is within a couple miles. While there, drive the enchanted circle if you can, breath-taking!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridermp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

What a great place to stay when you're in Santa Fe!!! My wife and I had spent a hectic couple of weeks touring the mid west and we chose Santa Fe to 'chill out' for a few nights. We chose this place - mainly because of the good reviews - and we are so glad we did!!!! Everything about the place shouts western hospitality. From booking in to checking out, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are cosy and clean, the gardens neat and relaxing, the swimming pool warm and inviting!!!!!
The only gripe most people seem to have is that it's quite away from the plaza. Well, yes it is, but it's only a short drive downtown and there is plenty of parking, but the easiest option is to take a bus. There's a stop right outside the hotel, so my wife and took the bus downtown. (As were both over 60 it was only 50 cents for a return ride!!!! Great value.)
If I were to return to Santa Fe, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaffathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,359 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,780 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing