We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this property!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved this property!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

Where do we start? We absolutely loved our stay at the El Rey Inn!

The property is located a short drive away from the Plaza, but the positive trade-off is the fantastic room rate! Our room had two queen beds, huge and very comfortable chairs, a desk, and large, fluffy towels. The beds were very comfortable. Our room was located in a section built in the 1950's, and although it was only a short walk away from busy Cerillos Road, was incredibly quiet.

My kids got a kick out of the vintage bath fixtures! But that doesn't mean that the property is "old"...there is an abundance of pride demonstrated by management in the upkeep and appearance of this property. Inlaid, unique and hand-painted tiles decorate the walls both inside and out; while hand-painted flowers decorate the stucco on the exterior of the buildings. There are numerous fountains, as well as a playground for the kids, a heated pool (pink pool towels are located in the guest rooms).

The complimentary breakfast was wonderful, and although the seating area was crowded, the weather was perfect so we were able to take our food outside and eat by a fountain. There are also outdoor grills, and wireless internet access is free in the lobby area.

We regretted not being able to spend more time at this property, but we hope to return to Santa Fe one day just to visit the El Rey again!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Caseyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    231
    74
    17
    9
See reviews for
154
354
38
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

A quiet haven on five flowery acres away from the hectic plaza but close enough to jump in the car and get there. Rooms are nicely done, grounds are gorgeous. Rooms vary though....ours was dark,others were filled with light, so if you're into ambience you might want to check out your options upon checking in. Breakfast was hilarious -- tight space filled with Birkenstock guests fiddling with their chai teas. Definitely a good find, albeit pricey. Worth it. Clean!

  • Liked — Gardens
  • Disliked — Dark room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2007

Just had a family reunion in Santa Fe staying 4 days at the El Rey. Had kids from 3rd grade through high school, and they all loved the motel. Fantastic large pool with hot tubs open until 10:00 p.m. to wind down the crew before bed. Spacious grounds with a playground, too. There is wonderful landscaping with lots of flowering plants and places to sit and relax after leaving downtown Santa Fe (about a 10 minute easy drive away).

Rooms were very nice and big. If you plan a family get-together, splurge on the El Rey Inn suite for someone and split the extra cost. It has a big living room, a TV room and a full sized kitchen for cooking or to serve take-out to a big group. We had lots of room for family games and cards with the kids, too. The morning breakfasts are great and a gathering place for everyone to plan the day. Service is friendly and quick in responding to your questions and needs.

This place is a one-of-a-kind retro hidden gem. It's not the Ritz-Carlton, but you'll love it and remember your visit for a long time. You are close enough to the Santa Fe plaza that you won’t miss staying downtown. The only hassle is having to pay to park in town most of the time.

  • Liked — The pool and the landscaped grounds.
  • Disliked — The mattresses were a bit soft.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DFDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2007

The El Rey was such a delight. The rooms were great and made you feel like you were at home! We got to see another one, to consider switching, and I think a lot of the rooms look different. We had 2 double beds. There were 2 sinks, one inside the bathroom and one right outside the bathroom. The pool and hot tub were fantastic - and the hot tub looks just like the picture on the website. There were beautiful flowers everywhere on the property. The breakfast was great. The only thing that was a disadvantage was that it was right on the main drag of Santa Fe, a couple miles down the road from the downtown area. It's a very busy road so was a little noisy. The front desk staff was great, extremely nice. One complaint, though; we had a bad problem with our lock. We had to get it fixed three times, and even after they switched out the whole entire lock, it broke again. It kinda wasted a little bit of our time, it wasn't horrible, but it would have been nice if they offered us a little something for the inconvenience. Regardless of that I would stay there again and I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GoneTil9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2007

My friend and I (mid 20's from NYC) stayed at El Rey; we're budget travelers so staying here on our roadtrip was a splurge. What a cute place! We booked this place for 2 nights on a last minute's notice (paid 90 + tax p/night which is not a bad deal; cheaper rooms are out front near the main road, but it's not noisy at all) and thought the accomodations were quite nice, staff very friendly, and the free breakfast had a good variety (pack your lunches!), ample parking, and beautiful flowers and birds all around. Pool was never crowded and there are 2 hot tubs (1 indoor and 1 outdoor). You can't walk to downtown Santa Fe from this hotel, but you can drive and park (municiple parking and street parking in the downtown area-- we never had a problem). For some cities and towns, it would be worth it to stay in the downtown area, but for Santa Fe, there really isn't a need because parking isn't hard to find. We saw lots of couples and families staying at El Rey, not too many young single folks. If you're young, traveling alone and want to meet people, I wouldn't recommend this place (there's a hostel down the street and looks ok from the outside).

  • Liked — The pool and the environment
  • Disliked — Price (would be nice if it was cheaper)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arsesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2007

In a world full of disappointments (as far as lodgings go) the El Rey was a pleasant surprise. The retro style and good management went a long way to making our Santa Fe trip a success. OK, the furniture is a little shabby and the rooms need a little more TLC, but on balance it’s a great place to spend a few days. We enjoyed it immensely. It’s a nice change of pace from the standard, cookie cutter chains and a much better bargain than the trendy, yuppie, overpriced Santa Fe so called “resorts”. It’s on our “A” list.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldTexasCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2007

Let me start out by saying that the El Rey is NOTHING FANCY, but what a GREAT place to stay. My mother and I stayed here earlier this week while on a road trip between Seattle and San Antonio.

El Rey is located on the old Route 66 and is not located in downtown Santa Fe, but as we were driving a 12' moving truck, this was desirable to us. Of all the hotels on this stretch of road, El Rey definately looked the best, in fact as far as we were concerned, the place was absolutely immaculate. Our room (#30 w/ two queen size beds) was a steal at $109, roomy and verycomfortable. The grounds were beautiful, but unfortunately, our stay was so short that we didn't get to utilize the pool or jacuzzi.

The only thing that would have made the El Rey better would be if they had wifi in the rooms, but they had it in the lobby/breakfast room, so that was ok!

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and I'd love to go back and spend more time!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank SanAntonio_Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing