We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming vintage vibe classy motor lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tyler, TX
Level Contributor
256 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Charming vintage vibe classy motor lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Ever wanted to try one of those Route 66 motor inns but scared you will likely be stuck in a dive?

Then next time in Santa Fe stay at the El Rey. What a great charming place.

Ignore the slightly dodgy surrounding neighborhood. It's well protected.

There is a great history here. It's a quirky old motor inn with a great vintage vibe but nice clean rooms, up to date amenities, a great pool, wonderful breakfast, above and beyond service and beautiful garden like grounds.

Our family of 5 was accomodated in a small suite. About $165 got us a large unit. A room with a queen. A living room with more comfortable than most sofa bed, and a small alcove off the LR with a twin. Microwave and fridge. Cold AC. Great bathroom.

Our room was the unit closest to the road but we didn't hear a thing. Great adobe insulation I guess.

We just stayed one night as we spent 1/2 a day in Santa Fe on our way home from a CO vacation. We may plan a Santa Fe trip just so we can stay here again.

Just charming.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinmdpedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    229
    73
    15
    9
See reviews for
154
348
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Each room is different...our first night we loved our room...#20 I believe...a smaller one the next two nights...but the bathroom was better...
Enchanting grounds...close to everything...
I would go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast, US
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

I would recommend this hotel on the grounds and amenities alone. The gardens are really pretty and the rooms are lovely. I really enjoyed the sauna!

Pros: Lovely grounds and rooms with great amenities. I love that you get the nostalgia of of a Route 66 motel with the comfort and grace of a nice hotel. There is free and plentiful parking. While the hotel is far from the historic Plaza, there is a bus stop right outside. (I recommend the bus to the plaza since the streets are narrow and parking a bit of challenge.)

Cons: Expensive! I realize that much of the price is dictated by the market in Santa Fe, but as lovely as the hotel was the price did take away from ability to enjoy my stay. I couldn't help but think that I would have rather spent the money on a hotel within walking distance of the plaza. I will also say that the wi-fi didn't really work in my room and my particular mattress was a bit worn. These are minor annoyances, but for close to $200 a night I expected more!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_to_eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Great accomodations for a family of five. El Rey's grounds were immaculate and the pool and playground were big hits with my three kids. Breakfast (burritos, juices, coffee, fruit) in the morning was a nice way to start the day.

Our room (#44) was perfect as well as it featured a spacious living/TV room with two foldout sofabeds, a wetbar-fridge-sink area, and a seperate bedroom with an extremely comfy king bed. The time we spent in the room, it never felt like we were "stepping over one another". The rooms were clean and our patio area out front was well-maintained.

Andrea and Doris at the front desk were super nice and very helpful in recommending great places to eat. For $150 (or less) per night during the "peak season" in Santa Fe, you won't find a better place to stay than the El Rey Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed at the El Rey for two nights and enjoyed our stay at this charming, old-school inn. It has beautiful courtyards and grounds with a great pool and two jacuzzis and a sauna. The staff was very friendly and helpful...there was even a laundry room w/ a microwave. The continental breakfast was good (the usual items). The only drawbacks were the noise from the street (it's off of a major street, so try to get a room towards the back of the inn rather than a street-facing room) and the cleanliness (the bottoms of our white socks were dark brown after several minutes of walking around our room without shoes and the bathroom had a large piece of wall missing w/ rusty looking colors showing - also, the top of the shelves/cabinet was super dusty).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinder8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Santa Fe has more overpriced hotels than you can shake a stick at. The El Rey is reasonable and really wonderful. The older part of the Inn reminds me of places my family stayed when we drove from Tennessee to California in the 50's. The grounds are pretty and well maintained. We had a beautiful room on a courtyard. It was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was casual and healthy, and they start serving at 7 AM which was good for people who were on East Coast time. It is located on the edge of town, so if you want to be within walking distance of the plaza, it's not the place for you. The staff is friendly and the Inn's tee shirt is great! We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenqueen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
201 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

Great Place! Spacious Room. Skylight in the huge bathroom. Hot tub to die for! Clean and you can watch the sunset. Gorgeous grounds, like a park. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing