We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for something different” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great place for something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

I have stayed at the El Rey twice. Once 7 years ago and then recently on a ski trip. It has not changed. It is an old motel (1930s) that has been lovingly cared for and updated over the years. Each room is different and has its own charm. The staff is wonderful. All the bedding and linens were super clean and of nice quality. The first time we stayed in the 2 bedrom apartment that has a full kitchen. This time we stayed in the king deluxe (#47). It was perfect for my self and 2 kids. If you like new and modern hotels, this is not for you. If you want a good experience, try the El Rey.

  • Liked — Charm, People, Breakfast, Location, Parking
  • Disliked — Nothing worth complaining about.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mlbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    231
    74
    17
    9
See reviews for
154
354
38
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights over the XMAS holiday, as recommended by Fodor's. I checked the room first and liked the look of it and took it for $108/night (they immediately applied the AAA discount without asking for proof), which seemed reasonable considering the season.
After a day the room's idiosyncrasies became clear. It had a tall drop-down desk which doubled as a TV stand. However, it was unusable as a desk because when sitting in the chair I had to raise my elbows too high to comfortably (and ergonomically) use my computer or write. At 5'10", my own height was not the issue. And sitting on the top, the TV was abnormally high, around 5'. The room had no table for eating (except that desk), though there was a small fridge. There was a plastic table & chairs on the balcony, which of course I could not use in December. The room also had poor lighting. All the bulbs were dim with the exceptions of the shower/toilet portion of the bathroom and the reading lights in the ceiling directly over the bed, which were very bright. Trying to shave using the sink was difficult, and none of the other mirrors had decent supporting light (bring a flashlight for makeup, ladies). And the walls were thin - I could hear voices from the adjacent room, and they were not shouting.

That said, the staff were very helpful and pleasant, and the breakfast area and food were nice. The hotel is located on the main commercial drag just a few miles from the Plaza, too far to walk but not a long drive. While my overall experience was mixed, I would definitely check around before staying here again. Some sensible furnishings and stronger light bulbs would sure go a long way.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Poor lighting and furniture configurations, thin walls.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NoVaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

The El Rey is one of those places that you're either going to fall in love with its funky charm, or you're going to say, "eh, next time let's stay at the Holiday Inn Express."

It breaks my heart to read the negative reviews, because I fall into the LOVE IT category. One has to bear in mind, this is a 50 year old motor inn, on one of the old paths of Route 66. If you know its history, its flaws are very easy to overlook. Yes, some of the decor might seem outdated to spoiled contemporary travelers, but to those who appreciate such things, it's absolutely charming. It's clean, it's quaint, and you can park right outside your room!

My husband used to stay there when he was a young dude skiing at Taos. After we got married, we started a post-Thanksgiving tradition of driving up to Santa Fe to stay at the El Rey for a couple of days of walking through the city's various art festivals and eating at some of its excellent restaurants.

On the subject of food, yes the El Rey's complimentary breakfast buffet is sort of blah, but seriously, it's the stuff everyone eats at home - cereal, bagels, fruit, etc. Unless we're in a hurry, we pass it up and go eat breakfast burritos smothered in green chile sauce at a local taqueria.

The El Rey is part of our family tradition, and it holds a special place in our hearts. Here's hoping it can find its way into yours.

  • Liked — Its charm
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EarplugLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed at The El Rey Inn for 6 nights. It is really more of a motel than an Inn. Despite being next to a very busy road it was quiet--as we had a room far back from the road. While we liked that it is not a chain, the El Rey is showing signs of heavy wear.
Doors are not tight, carpeting was dark, fixtures and decor dated.
The rate was 97$ per night which is good for Santa Fe. Our main complaint was that the breakfast is so lousy that we forfeited it and went to a local bakery. Even the coffee was just too weak to drink. The muffins they offer, taste like they just came out of a plastic box from a chain store. Also, be aware, that it is too far to walk downtown as you would not want to walk the most direct way due to the heavy traffic on Cerreous Road. We feel that most the reviews made it sound much bettter than reality.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Thewoollypenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckermet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

We had a great room with a very private balcony overlooking the pool. Although the decor was a bit dated, we didn't mind as we were sick of the chain motels we had encountered and it was nice to sit outside and not be subject to air conditioning at night as we left the window open and it became quite cool.
Staff were very helpful, the pool was clean (although a little cold!).
Breakfast was served in a lovely setting by staff who really seemed to care about the guests. All in all a very pleasant stay, just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — the atmosphere and the balcony
  • Disliked — Bit out of town
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Judejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

We took a last-minute weekend trip to the Santa Fe, and stayed at the El Rey. Third time we have stayed there, first time with our three year old daughter. We had a small "apartment" with kitchen, living room and bedroom with a king size bed we all three slept in. I call it funky because it reminded me of an old "shotgun" house, where all the rooms are lined up in a straight line back from the front door.

We loved the accomodations...you may not like it if you like sleek and modern, or folksy and antiquey. It was a comfortable suite with all the conveniences we wanted, a private outside patio we didn't use because it was too chilly, and a full kitchen. Breakfast is included and not fancy, but perfect for us. You can eat in a bright and casual dining room or outside on a patio. El Rey is right on Cerrillos, with lots of traffic, but honestly we didn't notice it at any time. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful, and there is a small playground for children. We couldn't use the pool because of the time of year, and we didn't use the hot tubs, although they were open.

It's a great value, especially for a family. You can really feel the history of this old time motel. We will definitely stay here each time we return to Santa Fe. Great value for the money, which is important to us in Santa Fe, where the prices keep going up every time we go there. Spend your money on the great food in Santa Fe, not in overpriced hotels!

  • Liked — Friendliness, value for the money, location.
  • Disliked — Breakfast could be better.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cscomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed at the El Rey Inn with our 2 small children. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with a tiny annex bedroom room right off the road - it was dark and cave like - no control over the air conditioning - there must have been straw in our pillows - totally uncomfortable stay - cute pool , nice grounds, hot tub and simple breakfast. I would not stay here again - I think the rooms need updating. Our bathroom was ok- if you like old - my kids refused to take a shower as they thought it looked "gross'.
Perhaps the other rooms are nicer - we booked a few weeks in advance and I guess that was what was left. My advice.. Do not stay in the rooms right off the road.

  • Liked — Nice grounds
  • Disliked — our room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing