We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable quarters, excellent service, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable quarters, excellent service, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We keep returning to El Rey Inn, year after year, because it delivers consistently and a bit more. This time, at the end of June, the gardens were in bloom, providing welcome shade from the hot sun. We discovered two wonderful Mexican restaurants within walking distance! Our room located off the courtyard was quiet (no noise from Cerrillos Rd.).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annewdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    225
    68
    15
    9
See reviews for
150
340
37
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Well-maintained vintage property. Entered room via our own patio with wrought iron table and chairs and framed by vines, trees and flowers. Large, clean room had tall windows with white plantation shutters. Terracotta tile floor, comfortable king-size bed, cozy sitting area with cute corner fireplace, skylight in bathroom for plenty of natural light. After unpacking, my husband and I strolled around the beautiful grounds. It was like fairytale land at dusk with charming paths, twinkle lights, flowers, vines, trees, fountains, etc. Complimentary breakfast was good and dining area was delightful. We carried our breakfast back to our patio and enjoyed the breeze. Staff was pleasant and professional. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

About 10 minutes from the heart of Santa Fe on Cerillos Road, El Rey will sweep you back to a leisurely time of visiting outdoors in cool gardens with gently flowing fountains and birds chirping. They have a continental breakfast included in the price of the room. It is enjoyable with seating in a courtyard as well as inside.
This Inn dates back to the 1930's when it was a "tourist court" with twelve rooms. Now it has 89 rooms with various layouts from singles to suites, a swimming pool, fitness center, and hot tub that is surrounded with a high wall but open to the stars! It also has a kiva in the hot tub area.
For a full breakfast, lunch, or dinner, The Pantry restaurant is right next door with some of the best fare in Santa Fe.
You'll be glad you chose El Rey as "your home" while in Santa Fe.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KCTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I LOVE,LOVE,LOVE the El Rey Inn!!! What a pleasant surprise of a sweet gem during a busy business week of traveling. The El Rey is a throw back to an old motor lodge court motel, updated with modern furniture keeping with the Southwest feel. The bed was a Memory Foam..need I say more!! The grounds are adorable with lush gardens everywhere you turn. I love that you are encouraged to sit and enjoy the outdoor gardens at every turn with either benches or table sets, fountains and more. It is was an amazing restful stay at the El Rey. The hand-made tortillas in the morning with a variety of breads, cereals and juices were a perfect way to start the day. The only down fall is the lack of tv channels. Overall, I would encourage you to select this hotel for your next trip. Perfect location out of the busy downtown area but close enough (within 5 minutes) and also about 10 minutes to the interstate.

Green Features: The El Rey is an Environmentally Friendly hotel, so they will not change your linens but every 4 days and your towels are removed if they are placed in the bath tub.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The staff at the El Rey Inn are the best! Doris the night clerk is so helpful and friendly she goes out of her way to make you feel at home and comfortable. I can't say enough about this lovely vintage motel. This motel is a great value!

Green Features: Beautiful motel I love this place Doris is the best!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Largoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

New Mexico is one of the most beautiful states in the country and is truly 'The Land of Enchantment.'
This vintage hotel is close to the Plaza of Santa Fe and is easy to find. First built in the 1930's,the El Rey is a known landmark and a very comfortable stay. Our sink got backed up but all it took was one call to the front desk. Within 5 minutes there was a knock at the door and a staff member who was there,eager to fix it. That is service! Outstanding. The outdoor pool is huge and the jacuzzi is wonderful. The hospitality is also top notch and with that comes a complementary breakfast with fresh tortillas and bananas. Only one observation of Santa Fe which can only be described as a bit 'snooty': There seems to be a group of people up here who do have alot of money. Nothing wrong with that,but when they close certain historic old churches and other landmarks to host their 'private' parties, this is almost unforgivable.
It's not fair for the tourists who might be on a budget who keep this city alive with our dollars. One of my friends nailed it. He calls them the 'art and wine snobs'. Just be aware of these very rude people. They like to hold their wine glasses and stare at families walking by with kids with scowls on their faces. Don't let them ruin your visit. Enjoy Sante Fe and the magic of this beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Santa Fe is an expensive place to stay but it can be made more affordable by staying on the outskirts of downtown, and this place is a definite for your list. The pool and hot tub area are super because the pool is actually larger than the postage stamp you get at most places. The young man at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The grounds are well kept and lush. Our room was clean and large, and the shower actually gave you a rush of water as opposed to some of the trickles we have encountered at other places The only reason I didn't give it a 5 bubble is because the furnishings need a little updating and the breakfast is a madhouse with rude guests...BUT that last part is not the hotels fault. The breakfast area is small and quaint so get there early or find somewhere else to dine!

Room Tip: Room was quiet and we were in the center of hotel. We had a king with two sleeper sofas which helped...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not sure aside from the usual hotel signs asking us to conserve water and towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishfultraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing