We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Rey in Santa Fe is a turquoise jewel !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“El Rey in Santa Fe is a turquoise jewel !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We are on our 2nd night here and it's absolutely a wonderful little hidden jewel in a beautiful town. We came to visit the Santa Fe University of Art and Design, and this hotel is within 5 minutes of the campus, 5 minutes from the historic downtown..great location. The hotel has a great history, the orig 12 rooms, set up like an old fashioned family court motel. It has over the years expanded several times but they kept the original theme and New Mexico stucco design! white Puebla type buildings! Several courtyards, they must have well over 65 rooms, the landscape is amazing and you can tell they have groomed it well over the years! tall giant conifer trees, lush vines wrap around the cedar post poles outside! amazing butterfly gardens (the gardens remind me of looking at historic homes where gardens have been cared for for over 50 yrs).. It is an older hotel but well kept and maintained, the history you can just feel. If your looking for modern, lush W type hotels or spa's with a butler, this is not for you, but if you want history, a story, old fashioned slower pace and feel (from the old fashioned courtyard entrance, old type mail slots behind the check in counter, old fashioned floor tiles in the bathrooms, old time slider chairs on every porch, beautiful antique cast iron lamp posts all over the property)...then this is where you want to stay. It's amazing, I can't wait to book my next trip here!!!!

Room Tip: We liked our area, courtyard by the indoor spa, but another beautiful area is the open courts behind...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent, linens are only washed on 4th day of stay per state ordinance (state or city).
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    229
    73
    15
    9
See reviews for
154
348
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night how lovely! Great decor, huge room, very clean, nice breakfast. Big pool and children's nice play area. Late check out was a bonus. Highly recommend staying here. There is great gluten free bakery across the road. What a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendastarr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights and did day trips using this hotel as our base. Santa Fe is a pricey city to visit, and we didn't want to break the bank. Our rate was $125 a night.
The hotel is quiet, the grounds have lovely fountains and plantings, and the breakfast is pretty good.
I found everything to be satisfactory in every way. I would definitely recommend it to travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadrugadaMistral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We can't wait to stay here again! This is a historic hotel and the grounds are absolutely beautiful and well kept with maintenance out and about all day, making sure things are working and that the landscaping remains beautiful.

Our room was lovely and the bed was firm and comfortable. There is a nice secluded jacuzzi where you can steal away. It's a bit more private than the one next to the pool.

The young man, Jose, who was working at the front desk went above and beyond. He helped us find a nice hike as well as directions to Taos. He had maps to give us and drew us routes on them.

Breakfast was amazing! Delicious homemade tortillas and green chile as well as yogurts, granola, cereal, coffee and tea. The staff who gets you the tortillas in the morning are very friendly and helpful. There is one woman in particular who asked us every morning if we wanted a banana and tortilla. She was so nice. And you can have unlimited tortillas, which you will want because they are so tasty!

This hotel is just a short drive to the plaza. You should stay here!! We definitely will again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I just wrapped up my fourth stay at the el Rey. The staff is friendly and very attentive to guests' needs. The manager, Silvia, is quick to resolve issues. For example, we had a problem with the thermostat in our room and her team worked quickly to get it fixed. Silvia discounted our room fee because of the inconvenience. The inn is clean, comfortable, and uniquely appointed. The pool is very well maintained and the grounds are lovely. You forget that you're staying right on Cerillos Road because it's very quiet and peaceful. The el Rey is also very family friendly. I will definitely stay at the el Rey the next time I pass through Santa Fe, and I highly recommend it to anyone headed that way.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Guatejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have wanted to stay at the El Rey for a long time,,its usually full during markets in August, but did make it to Folk Market this month. The hotel is spotless and the grounds are amazing, beautiful flowers!!! We had a room by the pool and hot tub, both clean and not crowded. They serve a nice breakfast by the workers in the breakfast room were very attentive. I would stay again!

Room Tip: rooms on second floor have balconys, first floor have a patio setting.
See more room tips
Green Features: they have a container to recycle and alerts about the water shortage in NM.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We going to splurge big for a room on the plaza, but for less money we were able to get a two room suite. Separate room for the kids > fancy pants plaza hotel.
We loved the El Rey--the grounds, the pool, the breakfast-all was amazing.
I don't think we'll be returning to Santa Fe, but if we did, I'd only stay here,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prestoninaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing