We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean, and delightful”
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming, clean, and delightful”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great place to stay whether for one night or one week as I did. The staff are warm and very help. My room is cozy, clean and well-maintained. A special treat: the windows open so I can listen to the birds outside my window as I awake each morning and enjoy fresh air all day long. The property is a bird sanctuary and there gardens and fountains abound. The morning breakfast is more than ample and prepared and attended by a charming couple. 5 minutes to old town Santa Fe. Can't wait to return with my husband and friends.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, ask for a room toward the back of the property. More birds to enjoy, too.
See more room tips
Green Features: Glad to see their conservation of water in the rooms and careful use of it in their gardening practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    238
    78
    17
    10
See reviews for
159
367
39
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The best thing about this charming hotel was the top-notch staff. All our needs were met and questions answered. The spa in a little courtyard was wonderful. The breakfast is ample, and the staff loves to bring you a warm tortilla and fruit, if you want them. Room shows a bit of wear and tear, but I like the absence of a chain feel. Definitely get a meal at the Pantry restaurant, just two doors down!

Green Features: Always glad to see a motel that is environmentally friendly!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Co. USA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My one recommendation would be to run a shuttle service into the Plaza, even if once an hour...
The grounds are quite nice, unlike many of the more motel'ish places in SantaFe, this one left a nice amount of Open Space. Some of the rooms need going over, cracked sink, old toilet seat, carpeting that has seen better days. But then you get the rooms over nearer to the pool, wonderful. Sleep like a baby, spacious, and while a bit more, well worth it.
Again, with parking such a hassle in town, consider running a shuttle, Sage Inn does that, it's good Customer Service.
All the best, enjoy your stay, we did ours, Salida1048

Room Tip: Try The Pantry, right next store to the ElRey, great place to eat, and you can walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here one night (before our time share was available) --- two different kinds of worlds! The El Rey has such character! Our room was large, immaculate, and included all necessary amenities (good quality, firm mattresses, small refrigerator, safe, shower and tub, hairdryer, TV, etc.). The TV had a permanent splash of dots about 6" long burned into the screen, but that was the only negative aspect of the entire room. The breakfast that is offered in the price of the room is a significant step up from the usual faire offered at hotels. In addition to the bagels, yogurt, dry cereal, hard boiled eggs offerings, the El Rey offered fresh flour tortillas and fruit delivered to your table. The workers checked occasionally to see if they could bring you anything else, to check to see if everything was "okay," etc.... a nice, personal touch. I'd recommend the El Rey to anyone wanting a unique experience. Granted, the hotel is on a major road (and too far from most things to walk), but we did walk a very short distance down the road to a restaurant (The Pantry) recommended by some of the hotel staff (and very well rated by TripAdvisor contributors).

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the hotel hot tub. As a result, if we wanted privacy we had to close...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel room came with two different types of garbage cans --- one for regular types of garbage, and the other for recyclable items. Nice touch.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 411Shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This place was incredible. It wasn't like being in the city at all. Our room was large, the bathroom was HUGE, all the amenities were great. Service was super friendly. Having the two hot tubs available at different sides of the property was great. The "indoor" hot tub has big doors so it's practically outdoors. Great towels with special pool towels. We looked in on the breakfast which looked fine, but we wanted to go to the nearby cafe. This is a good place for either romance or families, with little paths and benches scattered around, a play area and some interesting antiques. Also, it seemed some of the rooms are detached bungalows that only look attached, so more privacy and quiet than it would look like on the surface.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN262Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapiti, Wyoming
Level Contributor
163 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I love this place, I would stay here again anytime. The service was great, the property is charming and quaint, and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed was awesome, I slept like a baby. The towels were even soft. The breakfast experience was unexpectedly pleasant. You should totally stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were staying someplace else in Santa Fe that had many noisy spirits moving around all night so we decided to move after the first night. We stayed several nights then at the El Rey and found it very restful, with character at a very affordable price. It has southwestern charm, and very comfortable rooms (ours had a fireplace).We would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMMSebastopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,285 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,559 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,564 reviews
Comfort Suites
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
832 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing