We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of El Rey Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Court
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We love coming here and have for several years. We come in August for the Opera but also the beauty of Santa Fe as well as New Mexico. The motel is warm, accommodating, as well as friendly. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. You don't get the feeling that it's a chain motel for impersonal. We love it and have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: I think it's easiest to call them directly and talk to them about the rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for El Rey Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 782 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are driving down Route 66 in Santa Fe don't pass up the El Rey Inn!

It is a beautiful property that is first class. We had a beautiful room with an adobe fireplace and seating area and we had our own patio table right outside our door. If you can splurge on a king room it is worth it. Has all the amenities....in room microwave,refrigerator, coffee, hair dryer etc. They have two hot tubs and a beautiful swimming pool. Much nicer than the average chains. Very nice upscale continental breakfast. Even warm tortillas!

Room Tip: The king rooms are really nice!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a pleasant few days here. Well located, good facilities, nice pool, helpful staff. Only complaint was noisy air conditioning and poor light in the rooms. Had to invest in a torch to see, even by day!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank George1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the moment we drove into the El Rey Inn, we relaxed, and had a great time. Situated just 5 minutes from downtown, it was a perfect oasis, yet close enough to quickly get to everything we wanted to see. Our first room was #12 - a queen suite with an enormous, sunshiney bathroom. The main room was small, but it had a small bedroom attached where our son stayed and we could move some of our things into.

After 2 nights in 12, we moved to #50. (When we reserved, #50 was taken already for the first part of our stay) Holy cow what a gorgeous room! Kiva fireplace, huge room with king bed, full kitchen, patio, 2 sets of sliding glass doors, and steps from the pool. We ate on the patio, went for a nightly dip in the hottub and pool, even did our laundry (in a nearby room) before we packed to leave at the end of the week.

We loved taking walks around the grounds. There are little hidden vignettes around every corner, beautiful plantings, great seating and courtyards. The breakfast could use some variety during the week, but overall was quite good. We had to print out our boarding passes the day before we left, however their guest printer was out of ink. When I asked about it at the desk, they were very accommodating, allowing me use of their own computer and printer.

Overall, the El Rey Inn was comfortable, and homey with all the amenities I wanted. The bonus was the location and of course the price. Not a cookie cutter hotel, it had charm and personality, great hospitality, and I would go back in a minute!

Room Tip: #50 was amazing, spacious, with a fireplace, kitchen and patio.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Recommended by someone in Taos, but not thinking about it, we happened upon the El Rey and stayed for 1 night. Established when Route 66 went through in the 1930's, it has had only 2 owners. This is a well-cared for and well-maintained oasis on a main road (Cerrillos).
The room had charm, attention to detail, and very comfortable and clean. But the outdoor space was so delightful and inviting we spent the evening with friends in comfortable seating in one of the courtyards under shady trees. There's a pool, 2 hot tubs and sauna. Self-serve laundry available.
Continental breakfast was lovely with attentive staff and served in a comfortable space overlooking the outdoors.
Oh, and the price was very reasonable considering the locale and that we stayed during Labor Day weekend.
We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LainieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the time we stepped into the El Rey til the time we left it was the best experience we have ever had in our life! The staff was so kind and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The grounds were filled with flowers, gardens, and trees...not to mention the white lights in the evening. I hope we can return to Santa Fe again and again. We will continue to only stay at the El Rey because it just doesn't get any better than that!

Room Tip: If you like log cabins...ask if you can stay in a room that has the log ceilings!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horsefly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Fun and funky hotel with garden fountains, flower-lined pathways and tons of history and charm. Gracious service and an amazing value. Just 5 minute drive to downtown, this isn't the place to stay if you want to walk to downtown but if you don't want to pay downtown prices so you'll have more $$ to spend on art and shopping, this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.7 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,327 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
776 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Court

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $92 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Rey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
El Rey Inn
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing