We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

What a great find! We stayed here twice on our recent trip. Both rooms unique and lovely. Room 51 is by the pool but separated from it. Had semi private patio. Enters via the colonial courtyard which is resplendent with bird songs. The floors were red brick and cool
Had 2 armchairs, queen bed, microwave and small fridge
There are little courtyard areas all around the property and it feels like being in a park
The breakfast room is very pleasant with outdoor options. Love that the staff was offering fresh tortillas. We put some butter, cinnamon sugar and banana on them! There is also green chili filling available. Looked homemade. They also gave us fresh peeled oranges one morning. There are hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, breads A fine repast!
Almost next door is the highly rated Pantry Mexican restaurant where heavier meals can be had
We loved our stays here and would return at the first opportunity

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bon1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    229
    74
    16
    9
See reviews for
154
352
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a really quaint inn with many comforts (sauna, hot tub, pool, & fitness facility). The gardens are beautifully maintained and there are wonderful areas in which you can sit and enjoy a book or watch the birds (although many of these areas are the designated smoking areas also). Employees are incredibly friendly. During the 4 days we were there, we met people from all over the United States plus Europe and South America. It is on a busy street, but our room was set back in the property so the only problem we had was pulling out (could not turn left anyway because of how the street is set up). I highly recommend this place (and we plan to return).

Room Tip: Unless you enjoy the sound of traffic, I would ask for a room back from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

yes, it's the best! the rooms are all different and very southwesty with lots of fun character. courtyard full of roses. hot tubs and saunas. the pool is exotic looking. continental breakfast is continental breakfast. i don't think you'll ever be disappointed here, it's enough to make you wanna stay in and not go anywhere because it is so attractive. nice tiling everywhere.

Room Tip: pick this place or pick the Homewood Suites for the value. don't go to the Lodge, it smells as o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Severine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the El Rey in Santa Fe this June and we loved it. Our room was clean and had a lot of character compared to a typical motel room. In fact, character is what the El Rey is all about. Out our sliding glass door, we had a lovely walled off patio with an umbrella table and chairs that was perfect to lounge on in the evening with a glass or wine. Our front door opened onto a small courtyard with plants, birds singing and benches. We really felt like we were in Santa Fe versus a sterile motel room that could be in any town. The complimentary breakfast was good and it included fresh tortillas

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susantaylor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our stay at the El Rey was one of the finest experiences of our trip through Colorado and New Mexico. The grounds are beautiful. To wit, immediately upon exiting our motor carriage, we were greeted by a sonorous cascade of birdsong. We stayed for 3 nights, in a different room each time, and each was not simply different from the others, but wholly unique. Our leisurely breakfasts on the shady, nay verily verdant, lush, patios (there are 2) put us in fine fettle. We can envision no better harbor from which launch the frigate of adventure in Santa Fe and surroundings! Mistake not our playful tone for disingenuousness: we love the ERI, and shall, should we dock in the area once more, stay nowhere else but here. So climb aboard the SS El Rey Inn! Anchors away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great stay. The room was very large and decorated with Victorian
Furniture. There were rose gardens that were will taken care of throughout the property. Breakfast was adequate. The only complaint we had was that the tv was old and did not get a lot of channels, such as the business channels. The remote did not have a guide, so you couldn't tell what was going to be showing. Aside from that, we definitely will stay again. The pool was nice and guests usedit a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
190 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

What do you get when you blend a beautifully restored 1930s Route 66 auto court with a 1950s auto court and five acres of landscaped grounds that double as a bird sanctuary, and add just enough of the modern amenities modern travelers expect as well as a wonderful breakfast on the patio? The El Rey Inn, a true urban oasis is just a short distance from the historic plaza and most popular attractions, and is easily acessed via I-25.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing