We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Route 66 Motel with nice breakfast.”
Review of El Rey Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Rey Court
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place was built in 1935, just in time for 2 years of Route 66 before they rerouted it south. The front part is adobe and classic. The rear is new. Nice gardens, nice pool, 2 hot tubs including one outside. Nice breakfast. Quick run in the car right down Cerillos to Galileo to Water - the original Route 66.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 801 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

The room we rented was cute but seemed a bit cramped. The bath was in need of remodeling. We did enjoy the birds and the fountains on the property. This is ok in a pinch but don't expect superiority. Staff at breakfast was nice but the mgt at the front desk was not especially friendly at checkout.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PennsylvaniYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

El Rey Inn 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
If you are travelling along Route 66, you will have done your research, Santa Fe might be on your list, or maybe not, but if you have arrived in this beautiful, colourful and the oldest town in New Mexico, then the El Rey Inn, will only help to enhance your experience.
There were 4 of us, we booked a villa, with two double rooms, it was lovely, so nice that we went to reception, and ask if we could stay another night.
The El Ray Inn, has everything, sauna, swimming pool, spa, bar, great breakfast, and lovely grounds, there are places to eat just across the road, or head off into Santa Fe, and party with the locals, and if shopping is your thing, then you will really enjoy it.
Stop like this on Route 66 are always a welcome sight, it’s a must to relax and re-charge your batteries.
A really good stop, not to be missed.

All my reviews are written from the heart, and how each place made me feel, I never write a negative review, due to the fact that if I have a problem or complaint, I open my mouth while I am there, let’s be fair and give people a chance to rectify problems, stop all this negativity.

Lee Wood at Pendle Pictures

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PendlePictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

El Rey's is on Route 66 and built in 1950's in the Route 66 hay-day. Older hotel but full of charm. Our room was big, with balcony to see the beautiful sunset. Very quiet despite being on a main road. Nice size pool and indoor hot tub spa. A second spa on the property is outside. Well maintained, very comfortable bed and easy drive to downtown or any attraction. Very good breakfast.
If we get to Santa Fe again (and I am sure we will) we plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: Get a second floor unit with personal balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We first found the El Rey Inn by accident four years ago on our trip to Santa Fe. This trip we made a point to stay there again. The handicap accessible room is nice. But the outdoor atmosphere is what really makes this place special. The FREE breakfast is great with fresh torillas and green chili and may other wholesome choices. The birds sing all day long. The pool area is beautiful. And the location is convenient to the Jackalope and Trader Joe's. What a treat to stay here. Look forward to our next trip to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Every room has a different decor. I'd love to try another room but we need the handicap accessi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzEQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had an upstairs room with a balcony. We enjoyed the unique furniture pieces, and the nice landscaping here - it could use a little TLC, but it was early spring, so might look better later on. If you want something different, not the cookie cutter hotel, this could be it. Not great, not bad , but pleasant enough with very nice folks helping with the breakfast in the am. in the cozy breakfast room. We had an easy time getting downtown and parking in the garage.

Room Tip: Hard getting the luggage up the stairs - might want to be down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Enjoyed my 6-night stay. Clean and comfortable. Slept well! Staff very pleasant. Landscaping is lovely, with benches placed in cozy spots to sit and enjoy. Minor issues: oven didn't work and was examined but never fixed. Probably will be replaced. Not a huge problem, and they did provide me with a toaster oven. Also, laundry room is not key access, but I think it should be. Maybe I travel with big city paranoia, but I was a little nervous in there alone at night. All in all, a very nice place from what I could see. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.7 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
810 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inn At Santa Fe
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
620 reviews
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Court

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $90 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Rey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
El Rey Inn
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing