We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolutely delightful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel was recommended to us by some family friends, whom frequent Santa Fe regularly. The property with its adobe buildings were very cute. Our room had two double beds was very clean, quiet, and reminded us a bit of what "Old Santa Fe" must have felt like. There was a sink in the bathroom and another just outside, which was perfect for our girl's vacation. The value was very good, including breakfast, but I would have liked to stay closer to downtown to be able to walk and explore the area without a rental car (a must have if you stay in Santa Fe)!
We would definitely stay there again since it was tranquil and only 10 minutes drive to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    229
    74
    15
    9
See reviews for
154
349
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monument
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much at the El Ray Inn in Santa Fe New Mexico. This is truly a taste of the Land of Enchantment! Very peaceful, very clean and most beautifully decorated! We were created with warm smiles and they took care of our room needs. The grounds also are very beautifully done in the Southwest flavor. This is where one needs to stay if you want a peaceful and authentic look and stay in Santa Fe. Thank you El Ray... we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have great qualities and great views. Just depends on what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having stayed at the El Rey many times before, it was its consistently good product. The ground were not as beautiful as in the summer, but winter has a way of changing that. We stayed in room 61 and the rooms are well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Excellent shower with great fluffy towels. The instant on fireplace in the winter is a nice touch. Service staff at checking were friendly and courteous. Overall, we will continue to stay there and enjoy our stay. Nice to have pure Santa Fe for the accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

What reason what I have to stay any other place? This was a gift at the end of a 3-day journey through New Mexico. Accommodation, comfort, aesthetic, family-owned, quaint, caring staff, affordable. Thank you for your prior thoughtfulness in anticipation of the needs of the traveler.
Terrific breakfast from which to send one.

My compliments. Beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21DianeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have stayed here many times and are never disappointed. I love the quiet, the nice breakfast and southwestern atmosphere. Trip into town is easy, but we avoid the tourist areas anyway. The old fashioned motor court feel is very welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GolferSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

All good! A wonderful taste of Old Sante Fe..... Great room, very clean, grounds were wonderful ( wish I could see it in summer, staff was the best, breakfast crew were adorable, Dad&Daughter.....lovely

Room Tip: Great choice, don't hesitate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Last year we were lucky enough to stay at the El Rey Inn. Previously we always stayed downtown at an expensive hotel near the Plaza. We were always disappointed with the hotel so in March 2012, we decided to give the El Rey Inn a shot. And we were not disappointed. We stay in one of the rooms with a fireplace. The room is like a mini suite where you can entertain. We look out of our room to a beautiful courtyard. And even though it is on a busy street, Cerrillos Road, when you close your door, it is perfectly silent. The WIFI is amazing (unlike the unnamed expensive Plaza hotel). Do yourself a favor and stay at the El Rey Inn.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 309Nancy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing