We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Cool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

All good! A wonderful taste of Old Sante Fe..... Great room, very clean, grounds were wonderful ( wish I could see it in summer, staff was the best, breakfast crew were adorable, Dad&Daughter.....lovely

Room Tip: Great choice, don't hesitate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    229
    73
    15
    9
See reviews for
154
348
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Last year we were lucky enough to stay at the El Rey Inn. Previously we always stayed downtown at an expensive hotel near the Plaza. We were always disappointed with the hotel so in March 2012, we decided to give the El Rey Inn a shot. And we were not disappointed. We stay in one of the rooms with a fireplace. The room is like a mini suite where you can entertain. We look out of our room to a beautiful courtyard. And even though it is on a busy street, Cerrillos Road, when you close your door, it is perfectly silent. The WIFI is amazing (unlike the unnamed expensive Plaza hotel). Do yourself a favor and stay at the El Rey Inn.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 309Nancy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The El Ray is a sanctuary in the middle of Santa Fe. We stayed in a "Deluxe" room that had a gas fireplace that was very cozy. The Inn has classic but new Santa Fe style. The staff was great and the place has a lot of history. We will keep coming back to the El Ray each time we visit Santa Fe.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms and the fireplace are great on snowy days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our Stay at El Rey- very friendly staff and no problems when our plans changed and had to check out early. Clean, comfortble and continental breakfast in the morning. Small dining room, so get in earlier rather than later.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor with balcony overlooking the pool. We didn't spend time on the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

After a very last minute trip due to the Denver airport closing and mechanical issues with plane, we ended up driving to Santa Fe to go skiing over spring break. I booked a hotel at the Santa Fe Hotel the night before, when we arrived there, the "suite" I booked to accommodate 3 teenagers and a tired mom, had no door separating the advertised two rooms, so we changed plans while in Santa Fe and booked with the El Rey. Quaint unique property, we booked a suite that had two actual rooms and a murphy bed in the living area. Perfect for our party. Was it a tiny bit run down and eccletic, you betcha. But for the price $145.00 it was great and David at the front desk was more than accommodating. Kids loved the two hot tubs. Loved the breakfast area and people serving there, felt like I was in Europe again. All in all thumbs up for the El Rey!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in winter. For under $100 a night you won't find a better place to stay. They were redecorating their breakfast area so we got a voucher to the restaurant next door for breakfast, which was a great little restaurant.

The rooms are a good size and bed is comfortable. We stayed here as part of a road trip so if you are looking for luxury weekend experience, this isn't the place for you. But if you looking for somewhere affordable to crash while you explore Santa Fe, then I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George_simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the El Rey for three nights in February, and we were very pleased with our choice. We usually stay somewhere close to the Plaza, but the deal we found at the El Rey was too good to pass up. The room was a little old, but it was clean, cozy, and quiet. We were in a room at the back of the property - I'd imagine the rooms at the front (near Cerillos road) would be louder. Since we were there during off season, the hotel didn't serve breakfast. Instead they gave us vouchers for $5.00 off at The Pantry, which was right next door. Most of the breakfast entrees at The Pantry cost between $5.00 and $10.00, so when you include coffee the vouchers covered about half of the breakfast. Overall we were please with our stay and will definitely consider the El Rey next time we are in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Cerillos Road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephanieN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing