We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“"Lost in the '50's"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"Lost in the '50's"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been to Santa Fe many times and stayed in many different hotels and had seen El Rey many times and wanted to try it out. We planned a short trip to "The City Different" and booked 2 nights at El Rey.

I was extremely happy with this stay. The stay is like going back to the 1950's in a good way. There was snow everywhere and the grounds were beautiful. Our room was pretty small and "cozy" but extremely nice and clean.

The only thing I would do differently in the future is go for a larger room but I was looking for the lowest price for a room and wanted to save my money for other things in Santa Fe, like the great food we ate in a bunch of excellent restaurants.

I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for something different in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe queen or king room for a larger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    218
    61
    13
    7
See reviews for
146
321
35
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Quintessential Santa Fe!! The El Rey Inn rooms are not only large and spacious but also tastefully decorated. They are well equipped with kitchenettes supplied with everything you would need. The property offers a beautiful selection of outdoor patios, pools, and flower gardens. The entire complex is impeccably clean, and the service staff is outstanding. The main lobby and dining room have a European atmosphere and the free breakfast is absolutely delicious also with a European flair.
And for the cost, there is no doubt it is the best deal in town. We will be staying there many more times!!!

Room Tip: Corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The place was not fancy-shmancy...a good hotel, Sante Fe style. Room was a bit small and could use some freshening up, but a great value and the staff is what sealed the deal for us. They were ALL so helpful! Breakfast was very lovely and the restaurant next door was great too!

Room Tip: Near busy road, but could not hear anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familytravelin35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our room was spacious and clean and it's layout was perfect for us. The laundry and ice machine were only a few doors away. We could park right outside our door so packing and unpacking were easy. The breakfast room is more than charming, and we each enjoyed our typical New Mexican breakfast the first morning. The second morning they had "run out of eggs". I was surprised the kitchen had not restocked the egg supply. The entire motel property is quaint and New Mexican! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at the El Rey in October 2012 and had the opportunity to view at least 4 rooms, each uglier and than the preceding. The rooms are outdated. The furniture appears to have been gathered from one of the used furniture shops along main street. The bathrooms are pitiful mostly without windows or any ventilation. The TV sets are antiques with minimal cable access. A truly depressing two nights. Pay the extra money and stay at one of the fine Santa Fe hotels. It will be worth the extra expense.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cittacentro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell W, Owner at El Rey Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
As owner of the inn for 40 years we have never received a review like this and we find no foundation for these comments. Our organization with one of the finest staffs in the hospitality profession takes this review as an absolute insult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

There are hotels closer to the heart of Santa Fe. There are newer, more amenitized motels. But nowhere will you find a motel that combines history, lush gardens & bend-over-backwards service like El Rey provides. Even though it is on busy Cerillos Road, once you get on the property you feel like you're on an oasis. The landscaping is exquisite, with little chairs & benches placed strategically about the property for your relaxation.

The rooms are on the smaller side, as one would expect from an old Route 66 motel, but they have expanded the bathroom area to be as large or larger than most contemporary motels. The breakfast is excellent, and you have use of the pool, hot tub, sauna, two & exercise facility. We generally take a taxi into town, then walk off our delicious New Mexican lunch/dinner by walking back - it takes about 35 minutes to walk to the Plaza.

We've stayed there once a year since 2007 & would never consider going anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4AkerFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø - Rovaniemi
Level Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here first time in 2008, and returned now more than 4 years later. Happened to get exactly the same room! A small hotel with charm, not a noisy business place - but one who cares for you. Personal service at the breakfast in the morning. Dont go to a cold express brand hotel, go here where they will make you really feel welcome.
Self-laudry possible. Pool was closed for the season, but by looking through the fence it was just like last time - nice.
Free WiFi at the hotel. Parking just outside the room doors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frode R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#10 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#26 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing