We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay and full of charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london
Level Contributor
251 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“great place to stay and full of charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed here and it was just as good this time round. There is a bus stop outside the inn so you can get a bus into the centre (but the buses stop running early in the evening coming back to the inn). The pool is good with plenty of loungers and there are two hot tubs as well - one by the pool and another in an enclosed courtyard. The gardens are lovely and there are lots of different areas to wander around. The rooms have lots of personality. There's no traffice noise as it is away from the busy road. The breakfasts are good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    219
    63
    14
    7
See reviews for
149
322
35
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The motel room had the unique Southwestern feel along with all the comforts. The large "powder room" section with an extra sink and good lighting was a definite plus. Although situated along a main road into Sante Fe, it was sufficiently set back to avoid any annoying street traffic noise. The contininetal breakfast, served in a charming dining area offered a decent range of choices.The 10 minute ride to the downtown Plaza area made it conveniently located. It was a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoRo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The owner bought a motor court in the '70s and has added on units in the same style, landscaped it beautifully and offers a unique, charming outdoor hot tub, a delicious New Mexico breakfast offering and employs a very personable staff. If you're looking for something convenient to downtown, at a reasonable price with ambiance, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegramj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I booked this hotel after reading the reviews. We are so happy that we did! We loved it, the charm and unique feel of the hotel made us feel special. The staff was wonderful, from check in, to the awesome guy who came out at night and lit the fireplace at the hot tub for us to the grounds keepers and I can't forget to mention the lovely lady at breakfast-think her name was Lilly, she was so sweet offering everyone a fresh tortilla. The room itself was clean and of course had a vintage feel but thats why you stay at the El Rey to see and do something different, something unique to Santa Fe not a chain hotel. I slept great, the bed was comfy, the noise level was low, some reviews commented on it being loud but I did not hear anything and I am a fussy sleeper. The soak in the amazing outdoor hot tub could have helped me drift off but whatever it was, I will be back El Rey, thanks so much, oh one last thing the hotel is close to everything, good food, shopping, downtown easy to get to as well-just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippinroundeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a great surprise the El Rey Inn is! I was expecting your typical mom-and-pop motel experience -- clean but outdated, a bit tired but lovingly cared for. What I got was a completely updated and modern room that retained much of its original charm. My mother, sister, niece, and I shared a room with three beds, and the nice surprise was that I had my own room with the third bed (which is always good when you travel with three people who have to sleep with the TV on)! The bathroom was small but clean and functional, and it included plenty of thick towels for all four of us. The room itself had a fridge and a huge wardrobe with plenty of storage space and an extra blanket or two for cool evenings. Our room was very quiet, the beds were extremely comfortable, and we had plenty of hot water for showers.

The unexpected bonus of the El Rey Inn was the charming outdoor hot tub/seating area/fireplace. What a great way to spend a relaxing evening after wandering around Santa Fe all day! There's also a sauna, another hot tub, and lots of seating in the lush courtyards scattered around the property. It's a real paradise ... and all right off old Route 66, too! In addition, the El Rey offers up a pretty hearty breakfast in a lovely dining setting that can't be beat.

While we paid more than we're used to for the room, the elegance and charm of the El Rey Inn quickly won us over, and we won't hesitate to stay here on our next visit. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our third visit, the last was 15 years ago. Room #23 was great with a kiva to enjoy and with extra room.The sunny breakfast parlor and attentive staff, make for a delightful experience. Close to downtown and the sights of Canyon Road. Trader joe's is close, as well as Jackalope.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ssea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Inn is on the original Route 66 and was built in the 1930's. The prices are reasonable for Santa Fe. The room we had was adequate, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was done in black and white! LOVED IT! Each room is slightly different. We did not spent much time in our room since there is so much to EXPLORE in Santa Fe. The grounds of this hotel have so many interesting items to look at with many flowers, plants, statues and water features. My favorite item was the secluded hot tub with a fireplace. After a long day of site seeing what a treat it was to relax for a couple of hours in the hot tub. There are actually two on property but the one with the fireplace is BEST. I want one in my backyard! The staff were EXCELLENT! Loved the maintenance guy who came to light the fire for us. Will be staying there again!

Room Tip: Get a room near the hot tub with the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,778 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,862 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing