We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience.”
Review of El Rey Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Rey Court
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Desert, CA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience.”
Reviewed March 12, 2008

The El Rey Inn in Santa Fe, NM is a delightful experience. After reading others' reviews, I felt confident booking a two-night stay.
The Inn is over 50 yrs old with a charming southwest flavor.
Room was very clean, great mattresses, a real bathtub, warm reception, a lovely breakfast room with adequate continental breakfast. Located on the outskirts of town, a car is definitely needed to get around. There were several dining options within walking distance. The guest laundry room has a microwave available for guests and each room has a refrigerator.
I made use of a small exercise room with only so-so equipment but it was enough. It was a very pleasant Santa Fe experience.

  • Liked — Southwest flavor and clean, clean room.
  • Disliked — No WiFi and poor lighting in room for reading
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krbPalmDesert_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    243
    82
    17
    10
See reviews for
161
374
40
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Though this hotel is charming enough from the outside, we were disappointed with the interior amenities and services. The hotel is WAY past its prime; the furniture is run down and decrepit, the sheets stained and the bathroom not thoroughly clean.
The mattress was the incredibly rickety, and the headboard was falling apart. The sheets were yellowed in some areas, the blanket had holes. We were provided with two pillows. Both were flat, lumpy and incredibly unpleasant. I wouldn't be surprised if they were 50 years old. My fiance and I both woke up with sore necks.
The bathroom shower had clearly not been cleaned thoroughly; other peoples' *ahem* hairs were in it.
The continental breakfast was as under- whelming as most are. In addition to the typically sub-par continental breakfast offerings, the staff person attending the otherwise empty breakfast room offered us what looked like five-day old Safeway muffins. When we refused them, he put them back in their package. We couldn't help but wonder how many times those muffins had been warmed-up, then tossed back in their box.
A disappointing stay at a run-down hotel that we would not recommend.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank amerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

Wonderful motel full of Santa Fe charm , all the reviews I have read are accurate as this is an experience to stay there, its a bit far to walk into centre but we found with the car no problems parking, the whole area is just fantastic and we hope to return again soon to the El Rey.

  • Liked — rooms full of santa fe charm
  • Disliked — opening the door to see the car covered in snow !!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curatokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

We stayed at the El Rey thanks to a gift certificate as a wedding present from family. We were engaged in Santa Fe and it holds a special place in our hearts and love it more and more each time we return. El Rey was simple yet charming with kivas in the rooms and tile floors. It is set up like a 1950's motel and can be noisy given the wrong neighbors but overall, a nicely priced place to stay away from the Plaza yet close enough that it's only a few minutes drive away.

  • Liked — Price, setting
  • Disliked — Service, noise/thin walls
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Kind of a sprawling property. From outward appearances I initially was concerned but staff was very nice. The accomodations were well maintained.

Our room was a bit smallish but had nice furnishings.

Breakfast included was nice.

Only problem is internet is only available at the office.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank 606zpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

This is a great place. Room was small but well appointed - had everything that you need plus nice little extras. Desk staff was friendly and professional. There was some noise from traffic and the breakfast was crowded and basic. But this is a charming and lovely little place for the money

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

The El Ray is a charming reasonably priced hotel. Reasonably priced by Santa Fe standards that is. It is an escape from chain motel sameness without the luxury price of a fancy hotel. Each room is different and done in a Southwest style. We have stayed there many times and will be back. The only negative we have encountered was in the newer room we stayed in this last December. The room was everything we expected but the heat left something to be desired. The electric radiant heat was not connected to a thermostat that allowed you to set a room temperature. The result was we could only get two temperatures, too hot or too cold. Seems like installing a proper thermostat would be an easy thing to do and we left wondering why the management had not done it.

  • Liked — charming ambiance
  • Disliked — irregular heat
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vaquero viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.7 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,309 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
871 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
762 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inn At Santa Fe
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Court

Property: El Rey Court
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your El Rey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
El Rey Inn
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing