We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel, having driven down Cerrillos Rd, we were a little concerned that we had 5 days booked at what initially appeared to be an overpriced hotel. The neighborhood wasn't very nice, with a car wash next door, and a used car lot across the sluggish, congested street. Traffic in the old run-down area was awful.
Our room turned out to be very clean and well furnished. The window style air conditioning was effective and provided white noise in the room. We were concerned that we would hear traffic noise in the evenings, but that concern was unfounded. The fantastic landscaping that the hotel maintains effectively killed any noise from the traffic.
The bed was very comfortable. The included breakfast was nice. The staff was very friendly and started every morning by asking if we'd like the hot tortillas and a banana. Also, there were boiled and peeled eggs for our protein.
All in all, if we ever go to Santa Fe again, we would be very likely to stay at the El Rey. By the way, the nearby restaurant, The Pantry, was also a fantastic place. We ended up eating there about 4 times in our 5 day stay. Breakfast and dinner, with sopapillas for dessert were fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    229
    73
    15
    9
See reviews for
154
348
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed at this gem annually for nearly twenty years, and I'm likely to again. However it's sad that it is losing its charm. The grounds used to be immaculate, the rooms spotless, and service that was responsive. Now the flowers and green house are gone, bushes are overgrown, the carpets are dirty, and the wireless internet is spotty at best. I hope management can resolve these issues,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzStampede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell W, Owner at El Rey Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We receive terrific comments on a daily basis regarding our extensive gardens and flowers as well as the grounds in general with all of the patios, secluded walkways, fountain areas, and shady grass areas where often one will be reading or visiting with fellow guests. Our gardens are certainly our "signature" for our historical southwestern inn. El Rey takes pride in having been awarded Backyard Habitat status in 2003 by the National Wildlife Federation and we have been members ever since 2003. Our greenhouse has been and still is in operation for the past twenty-five years. It is not a busy time in the greenhouse at this time of year as it is not planting time. But in the early spring, our guests love to stop in and see all the bedding plants that are being raised in our unique greenhouse. We hope our guests will return for that colorful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have stayed at the El Rey twice. Both experiences good. The landscaping is lovely, the atomosphere relaxed, and the lovely continental breakfast out on the vine-covered patio absolutely meditative! We also liked little extras: "nicho"s with old "santos" paintings; the enclosed quite outdoor hottub area; the polite and unobtrusive staff, the big old pine trees and wooden carved room furniture. Don't let the iffy neighborhood nearby dissuade you. This is an old school motel with old school charm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We found the El Rey about 20 years ago and have returned often, most recently in August 2012 for Indian Market. In a city that can get wildly expensive, the El Rey is a great affordable option conveniently located on Cerrillos Road about halfway between the downtown plaza and I-25. Now, it ain't the Four Seasons, but the rooms are clean and cozy, the grounds are nice and fairly quiet in the back, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the whole property has a quaint 1950's-era Route 66 motel feel to it. The Pantry is a great and popular diner-style eatery that is literally a half-block walk away.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in a newer wing in the back have fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTexatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

made reservations over telephone august 2, 2012 for night of august 21, 2012 . was NOT informed that my credit card was to be immediately charged for the room and that there would be an additional charge for sales tax when we checked out on the 22nd. had i known this i would have made other accommodations - was told this had ALWAYS been their policy - have traveled for many years and only have one comment "POOR POLICY" - would not recommend to friends or enemies

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank joeb1111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell W, Owner at El Rey Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
It is our standard policy that when a reservation is made, the first night's charge is charged on the person's credit card to guarantee the reservation. This charge is done at the time of the reservation being made. This is certainly a standard policy for the majority of lodging properties and we are no different in that regard. Moreover, this reservation was made during the Indian Market week, the peak week of tourism in Santa Fe. And yes, unfortunately we do have to charge Santa Fe Lodger's tax and New Mexico sales tax on the room rental. It happens to be the law here in New Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Ely Rey Inn in Santa Fe NM was the best little cozy place with lovely grounds. The staff was great - very helpful! The breakfast was for grown up and was great. The rooms were cozy. The pool was beautiful. We plan on staying here, again. Try it out - you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in the "old" part of the Inn, and our room was at the end of the building, right next to Cerrillos Road. This is a noisy location. The suite was quaint, double beds and linens were barely passable for comfort, and the tv was broken when we arrived. Also, plenty of ants crawling around the bedroom and bathroom. At checkout, when we mentioned the ants in the rooms, the attendant said" oh, well, I have bugs in my house, too." We stayed here five nights. No discount for the noisy room. I was not impressed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boysandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell W, Owner at El Rey Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We have researched the allegations in this review with each and every department in our organization and find that these allegations are simply unfounded and not true and have no basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing