We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best on route 66 so far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Our best on route 66 so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly staff. Very nice rooms, lovely bathroom, good Internet, pool with hot tub. Very nice gardens. I would recommend this to anyone for one night or a week! One thing, the town center is NOT walkable and is worth looking round. Very nice stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ThinTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    229
    73
    15
    9
See reviews for
154
348
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland, or
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I just spent 5 nights at this hotel while visiting my daughter in Santa Fe. The place is a great little throwback and charming hotel. I appreciated the whole place from the front desk staff to all the rest of the staff. Very friendly and welcoming. The grounds were great, great pool! It was big enough to actually swim in. 2 hot tubs. The outdoor one was the best. Great souvenir coffee mugs to purchase. Got one for my daughter. Will be staying again in September on another daughter visit. When I asked to look at some other rooms no problem. So I picked out the one I hope we get in September. A great hotel if you like a little funky and fun. Only complaint was pillows were not firm enough. Close to the plaza and all you want to visit in town. Walk or take bus. Nuff said

Room Tip: If you are by yourself the single room is plenty. But for more room based on the king and queen roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonafiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Funky and fun hotel that has a beautiful heated outdoor pool. We go every summer to enjoy an SF getaway that -- in addition to time spent on the Plaza -- has to include swim time for the kids. The rooms are retro cool and clean. The Pantry restaurant is a quick walk away for great local eats. El Rey is the best choice on Cerrillos.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paintchipgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The room was a bit small for two people and the bed was not very comfortable but it worked out ok. The breakfast was decent. I would stay there again if I was looking for an ok budget motel in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anon880088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed two nights at El Rey with another couple and it turned out to be a perfect choice for us. We had breakfast both mornings at a really pleasant outdoor patio. The pool area was also very nice and private, surrounded by trees. The nice outdoor spaces made it easy to spend time with our friends and to make new friends. I highly recommend El Rey if you are looking for a little more than just an inexpensive place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amgarcia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We enjoyed our two days at the El Rey. It's a huge property with many little nooks to explore with an array of flora and great fauna too,(bird feeders with hummingbirds,etc.) The room was a nice size, however the bed was a bit squishy and the towels were past due for replacement.
All in all, I'd stay there again. It was convenient to get to the old town and a very comfortable place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guestess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The old part of the hotel is nicer than the new part, but the new part is ok too. It is not in downtown Santa Fe but I didn't care since that's a little too much turquoise for me. It's not fancy but it just felt really good to be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gideon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing