We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charmer”
Review of El Rey Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Rey Court
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Historic charmer”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've passed by numerous times and always found the white-washed buildings set back from busy Cerrillos Road to be intriguing and charming. So when I needed a place to stay for two nights in early May, I was pleased to discover a reasonable price for the El Rey Inn on Expedia. As a solo traveler, I felt very safe here. The room was clean and quiet and I enjoyed walking the grounds and discovering all the little hidden nooks and crannies with statues of St. Francis and other decorations. I loved the home-made tortillas at breakfast. My only complaint was that it seemed to be a while since the grounds by my room had been maintained. They were in need of weeding and mowing. I think it was too early in the season to see the gardens in full bloom. All in all, I got what I came for, a peaceful and relaxing time. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soonermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    240
    79
    17
    10
See reviews for
160
368
39
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

The El Rey Inn is Route 66-type motel. It is attractive and pretty well maintained. Rooms are comfortable and staff helpful and pleasant. While definitely not in the up scale part of artsy Santa Fe, it is safe and comfortable. The grounds and gardens were beautiful at one time, so it's somewhat disappointing that they are no longer maintained as well as they could be. There are a couple of good local restaurants within walking distance, but you will need to drive to see any Santa Fe attractions. It is suprisingly quiet though on a major street, but the walls, trees and set-back location makes you think you are in a less busy industrial/business area. All in all, it is a pleasant and quiet inn with well maintained rooms except for the old-fashion televisions that receive very poor reception and deliver a horrible picture. Bring a good book!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rrhone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, ME
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

It isn't really off the beaten track - it's on a very busy road, actually - but once inside you could be anywhere. This is a big sprawl of a place that's been added on to again and again over the years. The landscaping is lovely, so you can relax outside. Our room was comfortable, with a bathroom big enough to sub-let, and we appreciated having a fridge. Also the price was right, probably because you're not smack in downtown Santa Fe.
Only a couple of quibbles - the pool was not in operation while we were there, which was too bad. And the breakfast is definitely skippable.

Room Tip: As others have said, rooms in the back are quieter. We had a corner room near the pool and the vendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I were very pleased by the El Rey Inn, which was cozy and filled with personality. While it might not be in the center of town, this seemed a good thing, since we could return to our quiet room and truly relax after a day of soaking up Santa Fe's culture.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in a room away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miami_Adventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at the El Rey Inn for two nights. The hotel is charming - although it is on a main road, the grounds are beautiful and it is really quiet. The hot-tubs were well maintained. We skipped breakfast and headed to The Pantry next door, which serve fantastic South-Western meals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place, clean rooms, friendly staff, excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmartin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the El Rey Inn for 2 nights in May 2012. We had just turned off the highway and found it by accident on the GPS. It has a very quiet unique and pleasant feel to it and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was above the usual quality for its price range I thought, and the hot tub was just the right temperature. Good beds and laundry facilities and pool, which was not in service at that time even though it was unusually warm. We walked to the old plaza in about an hour and then rode the number 2 bus back for $1.00 each. There is a bus stop just outside the Inn and we did it to avoid parking hassles downtown and because we needed the exercise. At $95.00 per night it is a great deal. Oh yeah, it has beautiful gardens too.

Room Tip: farther away from the road the quieter. We had one by the hot tub with no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wasklywabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.7 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,301 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
855 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inn At Santa Fe
Inn At Santa Fe
#31 of 60 in Santa Fe
605 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Court

Property: El Rey Court
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Rey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
El Rey Inn
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing