We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of El Rey Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Court
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place, clean rooms, friendly staff, excellent service.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmartin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 811 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the El Rey Inn for 2 nights in May 2012. We had just turned off the highway and found it by accident on the GPS. It has a very quiet unique and pleasant feel to it and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was above the usual quality for its price range I thought, and the hot tub was just the right temperature. Good beds and laundry facilities and pool, which was not in service at that time even though it was unusually warm. We walked to the old plaza in about an hour and then rode the number 2 bus back for $1.00 each. There is a bus stop just outside the Inn and we did it to avoid parking hassles downtown and because we needed the exercise. At $95.00 per night it is a great deal. Oh yeah, it has beautiful gardens too.

Room Tip: farther away from the road the quieter. We had one by the hot tub with no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wasklywabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at the El Rey after reading comments on tripadvisor. I am very glad we did. The rates are wonderful. The rooms are clean, cozy and quiet. It is just a short drive to the plaza. The grounds are really nice. I found myself taking lots of pictures of the grounds. They include a nice continental breakfast. This a great little motel with a neat history! We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimsmith2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have stayed at the El Rey for years and years and love the ambiance. The rooms are all up to date and very comfortable. There is a wide selection of room choices and the staff is very helpful. The gardens are beautiful and it seems every year they make charming little improvements. Breakfast is included and is a nice touch. If you don't want to pay the high prices in downtown Santa Fe this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a plan of the grounds and pick your location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron94965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I chose the El Rey Inn because of other reviews on this website and we were not disappointed. The motel is on a few acres and our room was well off the road and very quiet. Our room was very cosy and homey and decorated in a southwestern motif. There was plenty of storage space for our items. The grounds were very nice, with plenty of large trees and bushes to soften the look of the gravel drive. There is a small greenhouse on the property that had plenty of annuals ready to be planted as soon as the weather warms up. We did not eat breakfast there because it was not to my husband's liking, but I did notice there were tortillas with cheese, beans and salsa, as well as boiled eggs, and bread for toasting. The price was reasonable and it's only a short few minutes to the Santa Fe Plaza. I would recommend this motel to anyone who is not expecting bright, new, fancy rooms, but likes privacy, the songs of birds, and refreshing green space.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear traffic noises, ask for the rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa4275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have to say the El Rey divided opinion between my husband and myself, I was keener on it than him! I guess in the summer it would be a lovely and relaxing place to stay, but in the winter or spring you might be better off in the centre of Santa Fe, which is beautiful. The El Rey is a bit of a drive to the centre, and parking can be tricky in the evening. The grounds are beautiful, but the pool was closed when we stayed in April and it was a bit too cold to sit outside for long, which was a shame as the room was a little cramped and dark for relaxing in. The bathroom was newly decorated and beautiful with a good shower, although again, tight on space. We enjoyed the lovely hot tub, despite a fierce wind that was blowing! The lounge is nice, but we were not shown around it when we checked in, so didn't really find out about it till the next morning. Service is friendly and helpful especially at breakfast which offered a good selection including fresh tortillas with green chilli - I loved them! There's plenty of info about local attractions available and the El Rey does offer good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room set back from the road if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironhorse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at the El Rey for a couple of nights on our way to Arizona. We have stayed there before, but it was many years ago. Loved being able to walk around the gardens and foot paths that run through the property. Each, nicely scaled section or grouping of rooms reminds you that you are in Santa Fe. While the room we had at first looked like a regular motel room with two queen sized beds, there was an additional alcove with separate sink, closet and dressing area in addition to the bathroom with its own sink etc. I loved the vintage black and white tile, the generous amount of towels, soaps, creams etc., the window that actually opened in the bath room. Right outside our door was a covered portico that ran the length of our one story building with seating in front of each room to extend the feel of the size of the room and to take advantage of a place to read while someone else may be watching TV.

The breakfast was presented with warmth and charm by the long time morning staff; warm tortillas, green chili, hard boiled eggs in addition to juice, yogurt, cereals, English muffins, breads, and fresh fruit, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. On Easter Sunday, the hard boiled eggs were dyed! It is these personal touches that add a lot to a stay here.

The nicely furnished lounge just outside the reception area was actually a place where you might want to be---to read the newspaper, use the computer etc.

You can easily pay more to stay in Santa Fe, but with the ease of the parking, the livability of the room and the friendliness of the staff, I don't think you could have a better experience.

Room Tip: call and speak to the staff directly, the woman I spoke to was very helpful in choosing a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorrineAtlantaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#30 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,389 reviews
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#16 of 61 in Santa Fe
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
844 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#13 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Court

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $90 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Rey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
El Rey Inn
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing