We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Difficult to beat in the price range.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Difficult to beat in the price range.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Charming, clean, comfortable units with a southwestern flavor which would be difficult to beat in the price range. Our unit was reasonably close to a main thoroughfare (Cerrillos Road) but surprisingly quit. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Close to bus stop and only a five minute drive to the Plaza. Within walking distance of the wonderful Jambo restaurant and very close to The Pantry. Continental breakfast not exceptional but with The Pantry nearby, who cares?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    229
    74
    16
    9
See reviews for
154
352
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I turned 60 a couple of years ago and my daughter offered me a trip anywhere and I mean anywhere I wanted. I chose Santa Fe and left all the arrangements to her. She found the El Rey Inn and booked us here for a week. I can't wait to come back and bring my husband! The uniqueness of this place is awesome. Each room is individually decorated, folks this is NOT a chain. The staff were helpful, pleasant and went out of their way to make sure our Mother/Daughter stay was memorable. Breakfast every morning was fresh and plentiful. The El Rey is centrally located and convenient to all the chocolate makers in Santa Fe. I highly recommend the El Rey Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Recently a whole gaggle of family descended on us here in Santa Fe, and we had to find just the right place for them to stay in order to really savor what this city is all about. There was only one solution to our desire and that was the El Rey Inn.
Long a jewel for visitors, the El Rey possesses everything one needs when staying in this unique city, with the additional flavoring of up-to-date rooms that retain the feel of old Santa Fe. It setting is convenient, and belies the busy street that takes you to its doors, for it is an oasis of trees, courtyards and sense of history.
What tops off a stay at the El Rey is, of course, its special staff. To the person they made our family's stay welcoming and satisfying. Every request, every need, was accommodated and met—with a collective smile.
I first stayed at the El Rey, well before I moved to Santa Fe, over forty years ago and with all my subsequent visits I have never been disappointed.
There are very few places that match the El Rey.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayer, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

This El Rey is owned by a family. Most of the employees have been there for years. The ambiance is warm southwest. I return here every year when I visit Santa Fe.

Room Tip: If you are alone there are smaller and more affordable rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phxfox48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We were passing through Santa Fe and decided to spend the night. This Hotel was a gem. Staff was great, Great price, We will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miabur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York/London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had a fabulous stay here over Christmas. The room was warm and spacious and the beds, while not the best, we're comfortable enough. We skipped breakfast at the hotel (which was fine - tortillas, hard boiled eggs, chile, cereal, juice, oranges) in favor of walking next door to The Pantry, which I read about here. Possibly the best breakfast ever! We went every day. 

We hardly spent any time at the hotel, but the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The highlight was definitely, without a doubt, the outdoor hot tub, which we visited every day.

The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the center of town, which was no problem at all for us. The parking was extremely cheap and we never had a problem finding a spot. When we wanted to drink with dinner, we just took a cab there and back for $15 each way, which is still a lot less than the price for a hotel in town.

We had a fabulous time and will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nylonbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here in November. Nice clean rooms. Good breakfast in a lovely setting.
This will be our go-to place in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasP48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing