We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger with a Personality!”
Review of Luminaria

Luminaria
Reserve with OpenTable
Luminaria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 575 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Alameda
Description: At the crossroads of modern sophistication and rustic Southwestern charm stands Luminaria Restaurant and Patio. A modern Santa Fe restaurant influenced by the past, Luminaria is a microcosm of Santa Fe itself, always managing to impart casual sophistication and simple elegance. Timeless authenticity and robust flavors round out the palate of this truly unique Santa Fe dining experience. Luminaria highlights the flavors of New Mexico with a global flare, sourcing from the freshest local and regional ingredients. Dine under the stars on the secluded patio during warm months or indoors next to a cozy fire in winter.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Ordered from the lounge listening to excellent guitarist/vocalist. Burger out of this world with sharp cheddar; chilies; fries. Sounds basic but it was bigger than basic I promise. Huge and huge portion of fries too. Teens/kids would love.

1  Thank dhr199s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, Manager at Luminaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We are appreciate the time you took to review the "Madrid Waygu Burger" from the Living Room at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards, Chef Brett Sparaman, Executive Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Luminaria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 433 of 777 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

I teach business at the University of New Mexico. My family owned and operated restaurants in Santa Fe from 1930-1952 and I am friends with the third-generation restaurant owners in the City Different. We had reservations at Luminaria for Thanksgiving. They placed us at a table so drafty that we wore our outdoor jackets in the dining room. None of the staff said anything about it to us. The food was generally poorly executed, with the exception of the fried oysters. The dessert pastry was like concrete. The ambiance is like the inside of a Navy ship: battleship gray, with bizarre orange pillows. When I told them they needed to retire the table because it was too drafty, they adjusted our bill 20%. Big deal. Would you make your mother eat Thanksgiving dinner wearing her outdoor jacket? Putting that table there was such a fundamental error, that whoever did it does not belong in the restaurant business. My grandparents would be embarrassed for them. I can't believe I spent $150 to be punished!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GeeDEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Visited Luminaria for Thanksgiving and they did a great job. They were not unexpectedly busy, but made us feel welcome during our short wait for a nice table. Had a fairly traditional dinner that was expertly prepared. Very nice room, great service and nice wine list - will be visiting again.

1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, Manager at Luminaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for spending Thanksgiving with us! We appreciate the time you took to review Luminaria Restaurant and Patio and are so pleased you enjoyed your meal. We hope to have you as our guests again soon! Best Regards, Chef Brett Sparman, Executive Chef, The Inn and Spa at Loretto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Maybe the best meal we had in a year.
Being a picky eater I was very impressed.

From the amuse through the dessert and Cognac... an absolutely gorgeous meal.
Classic dishes with a subtle southwestern flair. A perfect mix of flavors and a romantic setting.
Expensive but well worth it.

5  Thank FindThebestFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, Executive Chef at Luminaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Luminaria Restaurant. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and honored to hear you say it was the "best meal in Santa Fe" and the "best meal you had in a year"! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers!
-Chef Brett Sparman, Executive Chef, The Inn and Spa at Loretto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose this restaurant because of the reviews in Tripadvisor and the online menu. We were not disappointed! We arrived on a chilly, windy evening and when the host saw us, he immediately seated us at a table near the roaring fire. Personal service right off the bat! The waiter, while difficult to understand was very attentive and knew the menu inside and out. We appreciated their terrific wine selection, specifically their great selection of wines by the glass. We usually order a bottle with dinner but in the higher altitudes of the area, we really didn't feel like having that much. We both chose the Paella as we love the version the Columbia restaurants in Florida make. We were very pleased to see that this was a take on a true Paella with more sauce than we found in Florida. This is a very flavorful dish with generous portions of seafood. Just the thing for a chilly evening!
The restaurant itself is a very comfortable, quiet yet spacious set of rooms that let you carry on a quiet conversation.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Luminaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We appreciate the time you took to review your experience at Luminaria Restaurant and are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your meal. Your compliments of the staff and Chef Sparman's cuisine are greatly appreciated and truly validate the efforts of our talented team. We hope to have to opportunity to have you as our guests again soon! Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luminaria also viewed

 

Been to Luminaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing