We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in downtown Santa Fe”
Review of Luminaria

Luminaria
Reserve with OpenTable
Luminaria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 583 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Alameda
Description: At the crossroads of modern sophistication and rustic Southwestern charm stands Luminaria Restaurant and Patio. A modern Santa Fe restaurant influenced by the past, Luminaria is a microcosm of Santa Fe itself, always managing to impart casual sophistication and simple elegance. Timeless authenticity and robust flavors round out the palate of this truly unique Santa Fe dining experience. Luminaria highlights the flavors of New Mexico with a global flare, sourcing from the freshest local and regional ingredients. Dine under the stars on the secluded patio during warm months or indoors next to a cozy fire in winter.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I love this restaurant for special occasions. If you are there during the warm weather the outside patio is the loveliest in Santa Fe. It setting is beautiful, right next to the Loretto Chapel, and it's design is elegant and comfortable. The food is excellent, but what makes everything even better is the service. The wait staff is incredible, especially Carlos. His gracious manner and warmth makes him an ideal waiter. He is always calm and does not try to rush your meal.

The inside is beautiful too. I love to bring friends there to celebrate birthdays as the staff goes out of their way to make it special, in a subtle way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank DolceVidaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Luminaria, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review of Luminaria. We are so proud of our restaurant and delighted to hear how much you enjoy your experiences with us (including the garden patio). Your compliments to our staff are very appreciated and really validate the teams efforts. We have shared your review with Carlos and he is truly honored! Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 457 of 795 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

On a beautiful October Sunday afternoon, we enjoyed brunch at Luminaria. The menu had pretty typical brunch fare, eggs benedict, salad nicoise, salmon . Everyone was very pleased with the food and the service was impeccable. Was hoping to sit outside but unfortunately it was very cold and windy. All in all, it was a pleasant experience, it just lacked something. Maybe because we are from the New Orleans area and we are accustomed to jazz brunches with lots of music and excitement.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank abitadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, Manager at Luminaria, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Luminaria Restaurant’s Sunday Brunch. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals and love the idea of a jazz brunch. Thank you for the great suggestion. We hope to have you as our guests again soon! Warm Regards, Chef Brett Sparman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Really enjoyed the sea bass and sweet potato mash for dinner. My 3 companions enjoyed their meals just as well. Will definitely return!

4  Thank Bobbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, Manager at Luminaria, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Luminaria Restaurant. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals and look forward to your return! - Chef Brett Sparman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We picked this hotel from a recommendation from friends. This was our first meal on our honeymoon. We made reservations. When we arrived, they congratulated us on our wedding and they thanked us and were grateful for having dinner with them. They brought us a glass of champagne for a toast. The atmosphere was quiet with soft music. Great atmosphere to talk, and enjoy the wonderful food and drink. The flavors are very distinct and delicate when needed and strong ahem expected. The blue corn muffins just melted in your mouth. The butter was also a delight. The tortilla soup was definitely the best I have ever tasted. Great consistency and flavors. The entries were also a delight. Cooked to perfection. The steak was cooked just right and the Paella was also very well done. The sorbet with pear nectar was a treat to the palette. I think this is probably the best restaurant in Santa Fe. Definitely a restaurant destination when in SantaFe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 2011glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Luminaria, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of Luminaria Restaurant and congratulations on your recent marriage. We are honored you chose to share the first meal of your honeymoon with us. Chef Brett Sparman and the entire staff at Luminiaria would like to thank and congratulate you. We hope to share many more memories with you!

Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager, The Inn and Spa at Loretto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a belated anniversary dinner here. The price fixed menu with wine pairing was a good value -- with excellent food and wine. We sat right next to the fireplace, making our experience cozy and romantic. Having an early reservation assured that we got preferred seating and service; the restaurant filled up around 6:30 (Saturday night). It's pricey, but treat yourself. Brunch is great, too, and on warmer days, you can sit on the lovely patio.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank osaruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Luminaria, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing this review of Luminaria Restaurant and Happy Anniversary. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and look forward to celebrating many more special occasions with you!

Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager, The Inn and Spa at Loretto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luminaria also viewed

 

Been to Luminaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing