We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-see for any Santa Fe visitor”

Museum of Indian Arts & Culture
Ranked #8 of 260 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum, which has a 42,000 piece collection, is a must for those interested in Indian culture.
bangkok
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must-see for any Santa Fe visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We loved the museum's exhibits. First class. Location, while outside of town a bit, is also pleasant. City bus transportation makes it convenient to go to and fro from the Plaza area to the museum complex. Good restaurant for lunch, too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bangkokcassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    135
    33
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome basket collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The designs, shapes, colours and variety of basketry left us gobsmacked! Wonderful collection.
Too bad we could not take a few photos!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A small but important museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Truthfully, we dashed in here for a rest room after a visit to the Cathedral across the street. When we learned it was only $5 for senior admission, we decided to see what it was about. It was packed with a beautiful and varied collection, including an outside sculpture garden. I'm glad we went beyond the gift shop, as this was a really worthwhile stop. By the way, the gift shop is full of lovely books, jewelry and art.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank grollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for family outing with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We went as a day trip from Albuquerque. Kids enjoyed the many crafts on displayed and getting involved in some of the activities. A good half day of fun

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trippyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
218 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Get a different taste in SF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

A little different from some of the other art museums, but if you're open and into art, the place can really move you. The Native American influence on Santa Fe and in NM is definitely evident here. There are some very cool pieces and exhibits.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KendraP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Indian Arts & Culture also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Indian Arts & Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing