We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT miss this venue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Opera House

Santa Fe Opera House
Ranked #1 of 249 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful outdoor venue that offers music festivals in July and August.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss this venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We decided to book the entire experience… the buffet dinner (which included an engaging synopsis of the evening’s opera by a knowledgeable author) in addition to the opera. I can see why the Santa Fe Opera is so highly rated on Tripadvisor! Every detail was exquisite – the buffet meal was delicious, the author’s keynote was entertaining and informative, the venue breathtaking, and the talent of the musicians and performers was first-rate. We saw “Marriage of Figaro”, a 4-act opera but acts 1 & 2 were combined and acts 3 & 4 were combined. Even so, we didn’t leave the venue until midnight! The opera is timed to begin just at sunset. There is no backdrop to the stage, and no side walls to the venue, so you are gazing at the beautiful New Mexico sunset over the mountains as the opera begins. Mother Nature also entertained us with a storm that evening, the thunder and lightning adding to the drama on-stage! (You won’t get wet though, there is a covering overhead.) Do NOT miss this Santa Fe gem if you are there during the season.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SchnauzerBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    91
    17
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went to two operas-the shuttle works great. Go to the talks before the operas but if the buffet/talk is too expensive, go to the free talk and go for the early dinner at La Casa Sena

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 777cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

If you've never seen an opera, this is the place to do it. My daughter and I did the tour of the opera house and saw a performance of La Boheme here and it was simply breathtaking. I'll definitely go back! Hope to see you there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating, informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had no idea how much work, how many people it takes to stage an opera! You see it all at this top opera house.I'm not an opera fan, but this tour was fascinating. The passion and knowledge of the docent was noteworthy.Tours daily at 9:00, $8 for seniors. No advance tickets or reservations needed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dave-in-va36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Opera under the Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The white "sail" roof line of the archetecturally beautiful open air opera presents a stunning setting to enjoy the opera and appreciate the sun set over the desert. For comfort, a roof covers the seating and there is translation screen on back of each seat. The performers were easy to see from seats furthest from the stage. Patrons presented in tuxedos to more casual attire.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lantana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Santa Fe Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing