We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something you should experience.”
Review of The Plaza

The Plaza
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.98*
and up
Santa Fe 'Sip and Savor' Food Tour
Ranked #7 of 266 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, the Plaza is the heart and soul of the city. The gathering spot for residents and tourists alike is surrounded by city landmarks, shops and restaurants.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Something you should experience.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The plaza is much smaller than one might imagine based on it's fame. There is always something going on...musicians, vendors, kids running. It's a pleasant way to spend some relaxing time and.....just loaf!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wrwguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,117
    612
    204
    33
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Shops, shops and galleries with a historic background”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Plaza itself is much like plazas across the southwest and even southern California. A large square with a stage and some statues and grassy areas. I didn't like that you couldn't sit on the grass at all, and there weren't enough benches for everyone who wanted to sit and enjoy the shade trees and music. As for the areas surrounding the Plaza, we enjoyed seeing the museums and stepping into a few shops and galleries, but they advertise this as a dog-friendly town and we couldn't take our very well-behaved dog into most places. Very high prices for things you can mostly find elsewhere. Taking in the historic feel of the place was actually easier at night.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank newmexicoonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
212 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Central to Santa Fe”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Who would come to Santa Fe and not see the plaza? For sightseeing, shopping and peoplewatching it's the place to be. Free entertainment frequently in the tourist season. All kinds of activities...to many to list.
Lots of hotels and restaurants to choose from. Near religious points of interest and museums.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Plaza”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lots of galleries, shops, restaurants. Don't miss the Indians on the portico at the plaza. They have jewelry etc. that they themselves have made relatively inexpensive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank joyofliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Free" shopping”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The plaza is a great place to start your visit to Santa Fe. The first thing we noticed as we were walking toward the Plaza is music playing. There is an atmosphere of festival at the plaza. The center is a grassy area with benches, trees, and vendors. All around are small shops. Food vendors are on the grassy area, and on the North the local indians set out there crafts. We made the mistake of waiting until the last day to go back to select some items we had seen on previous visits. The same indians were not there with the items we had ment to purchase. If you want something buy it while you are there. The atmosphere is wonderful. It is a great place to enjoy people, art and each other.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing