We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
The Bunk House at Suitable Digs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bunk House at Suitable Digs
The couch/twin bed in the Bunk House The bathroom at the Bunk House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The Bunk House at Suitable Digs
The couch/twin bed in the Bunk House
The bathroom at the Bunk House
Exterior view of the Bunk House with private
outdoor patio
The front of Suitable Digs
Gardens and geodesic dome greenhouse
Olive tree greenhouse
small rock-lined swimming hole in the yard!
the swimming hole, artistically.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Santa Fe, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Todd M
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A wonderful desert retreat. Off the beaten track yet close to town. So much good to say... No review can do this gem justice. To begin with, Lisa is an excellent host who is as warm and friendly as she is helpful and accommodating. She has clearly invested her heart and soul in the property and strives to offer a comfortable and colorful experience. The rooms are beautiful. Tremendous character. The attention to detail is quite impressive. The grounds... Lovely. A plethora of plants and trees along with numerous shaded sitting nooks along the winding pathways. Suitable Digs is now my Santa Fe home away from home, and I strongly encourage anyone desiring a first-rate southwest lodging to book a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
I am speechless, Todd, unlike you! I can't thank you enough for your beautiful words, and you know how happy I was to meet you and have you stay here. Until the next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicoklan...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sustainability made comfortable, no cost spared!”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

In our opinion, the term “suitable” doesn't do justice to Lisa's creation. This isn't just a place to stay while visiting nearby Santa Fe, this can be the focal point of a fine trip all in itself. It’s an as invitation to commune with nature. To get a good comparative viewpoint, we spent a few days in two quite different settings on the 2.5 acres, the "Spartan" camper and the “Bunkhouse." Each had a unique charm. The Spartan travel trailer affords the opportunity to see just how little space is actually required to live in comfort. It’s an actual refurbished travel trailer built in the 1948 by J. Paul Getty’s post-war aircraft factory. Back then, these were actual homes, not recreational vehicles, and it’s both nostalgic and humbling to live, sleep, and eat in something tantamount to a museum piece. The accurate “period” restorations and decorations by Lisa were awesome. She raised the ceiling and converted the small, efficient toilet to composting in order to make it a testament to sustainable living. The woodwork is astonishing. The trailer’s placement and surrounding landscaping make it seem to be much farther away from everything than it actually is. Very quiet, private, and romantic. The same goes for the Bunkhouse, which has more space (the bigger shower and toilet were more appreciated after the smaller trailer's facilities). The sturdy woodwork and rustic western decor gave us the feeling of walking into a modernized cowboy cabin. It’s flooded with natural light. The Bunkhouse also has it’s own patio and immediate access to a naturally-cleaned 5-foot soaking pool, with deck (great for yoga), and a magnificently-crafted outdoor dining table with solar globes. Lisa keeps adding new amenities to the grounds aren’t all listed. Clearly, she’s sparing no expense in decor. Santa Fe's St Francis Cathedral (on the city’s main plaza) is just 16 minutes away by car, but you’ll feel far from the hustle and bustle of town. But what ties the whole package together is Lisa herself. We highly recommend that visitors ask for a tour of the grounds. We couldn't believe the vast amount of beautification and functionality she has implemented single-handedly (although she had the help of a master woodworker!). We learned an incredible amount about sustainable living. Lisa should conduct on-site seminars on agricultural husbandry and architectural nuancing...skills she learned on her own. How she has made an oasis in a near-desert setting is remarkable. But, as she says, if she can do it, we can do it. Finally, visitors should expect that coexisting with nature may mean an occasional encounter with bugs…and learning to recycle properly and compost waste (no, guests do not have to empty waste pails!). The overall experience is superb. Lisa’s “more than-suitable" digs have set a high bar and created something that will live on long after Lisa and her current guests have passed on!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lisa, as proprietor, is an amazingly knowledgeable and welcoming person.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E
Eliot, Maine
1 review
“Suitable Digs represents New Mexico, wide open spaces, off the beaten path but close to town”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

The moment you leave the pavement and head down the dirt road you know this is someplace special. My husband and I have stayed at Suitable Digs several times over the past few years and we are never disappointed. The environment and accommodations are excellent. We feel very much at home, visiting a friend. Lisa is a wonderful host always in tune with her guests needs. Staying at Suitable Digs is as much a part of our vacation as is the New Mexico experience. To me, Suitable Digs represents New Mexico, wide open spaces, off the beaten path but close to town. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else and have recommended it to several of my friends. If you stay here once, you'll come back again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was the best
Liked least: I hated toleave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2015
Carol, it is always a much-anticipated pleasure to have you and Bill stay at Suitable Digs. I so appreciate your kindest of words, and can't wait to see you both again later this year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khootie
Buffalo, NY
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet and green”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We recently stayed here for a weekend and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the bunkhouse, a separate cabin and our sister and brother-in-law stayed across the courtyard in the sunroom which is attached to the house. Lisa greeted us and showed us around her amazing property filled with gardens, plants and artworks. Loved the wind harp and there is an area with an outdoor communal table Her care of the property and devotion to sustainability is inspiring. The digs are about 10 minutes out of town down a dirt road, but totally worth returning to after a day of sightseeing in busy Santa Fe. Because of the dedication to sustainability, Lisa showed us around the lodging explaining everything and left a list of things to note (composting etc), which was easy to follow. We had a wonderful family visit here and only wish we had more time to enjoy the property. We were able to go out on a stargazing walk one evening and enjoyed the areas with solar lights-it was magical. Bring a flashlight however, if you plan to go out at night.
Would love to return again someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The naturalness and sustainability of the area
Liked least: Futon bed was a little hard with my arthritis
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation! It was a pleasure to host your family gathering. I also wanted to mention that I do have flashlights in each lodging, and will definitely put them in a more prominent location henceforth. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha H
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“We loved Suitable Digs...perfect balance of aesthetics and sustainability!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We couldn't have been happier with Lisa and her remarkable homestead. We stayed in the Bunkhouse which was cozy, warm, and colorful...bright sunshine streaming in...we never even needed to turn on heat at night. The Bunkhouse was well equipped with all we needed. We slept well in the comfortable bed. Lisa was a delightful host... available, friendly, helpful. Her recommendations for restaurants were appreciated...local places we likely wouldn't have found on our own. Suitable Digs is 'off the beaten path' which was great to come home to at night....quiet and peaceful. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The taste of truly 'living' in Santa Fe's high desert environment.
Liked least: Perhaps the dirt road to her drive....soon to be improved.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words and thoroughness of details, Stacey! And I'm glad to know about the bed...didn't realize it was so loose, just had it tightened by the person who made it, and will investigate pillow-top options as recommended. So look forward to seeing you and Steve again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing