We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We spent three evenings at this resort with our two young children. I did not notice, or was not bothered by, the "sea of paving" that a previous review mentioned - the resort grounds are beautiful - maybe they have added enough landscaping between that review in July and when we stayed in September. I did not use the spa, but I toured it, and it's beautiful. The pool and gym are top-notch. We did not eat at the restaurant, but we did have a drink at the bar and I highly recommend watching at least one sunset from that patio. The rooms are spacious and comfortable; my only complaint would be that the water temperature in the showers was not very hot. Although everyone at the hotel was super friendly, I think the service was a little "off" - maybe because of a wedding at the hotel? Without going into details, check-in was a little bizarre and there was no one available to take us to our room (we drove to the room and unloaded ourselves). Also, the hotel has this weird practice of having everyone dressed in "regular" clothes so it often feels like a random guest is walking up to talk to you until you realize the person works at the hotel. While we certainly felt comfortable having our two young children with us, it was not as child friendly as say the Amangani in Jackson Hole. The hotel is very close to downtown Santa Fe, which I found very child friendly, and would recommend people traveling with small children check out Bandelier National Park, Maven Chocolate Bakery and the Shidoni Foundry/Sculpture Park which is near the hotel. Oh yes, and the pastries at breakfast are DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AnnieBibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 869 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2009

I have traveled quite a bit in my day, and I must say that Encantado is one of the best places I've had the pleasure to visit. The service is beyond extraordinary. From driving our car to our casita and unloading it for us to offering us a private escort to our room and sending an engineer to our room to get a good fire going in the kiva fireplace, this resort has truly thought of everything. The spa was also amazing and the services truly unparalleled. My one criticism would be that the wooded fencing around private areas have some gaps which make you feel a little exposed an unable to relax completely.

Encantado really offers an enchanted experience. It is a little drive outside of Santa Fe so you cannot walk into town but they can chauffeur you upon request. I enjoyed being in the quiet rolling hills. Absolutely peaceful, romantic, and rejuvenating.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank djrhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Having never been to this area of the country and New Mexico, staying at the Encantado was certainly the right choice. It provided the perfect combination of staying at a resort and spa, while also being close enough to Sante Fe and Taos, to do sightseeing and being a tourist.

The Encantado Resort provided a divine experience of relaxation. The attention to details by the staff was so evident. It was a completely relaxing experience and would definitely recommend it for anyone to stay. We definitely felt special.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dlw1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We met in Santa Fe with two couples who joined us from Los Angeles to go to the Opera. We stayed in one of the second floor casitas with beautiful views of the mountains and wonderful appointments in the room, we used the fitness center daily which was one of the nicest we had seen. My wife had a treatment in the spa and commented on how beautifully designed it was and the treatment was one of the best she has had. We enjoyed the pool and used the complimentary mercedes convertable one day to go to town and explore. On our final night we had dinner at the hotel Restaurant Terra and the entire party agreed it was by far our best meal in Santa Fe, the staff was superb the food amazing and the service friendly and professional. We highly recommend this new Auberge Resort to anyone looking for a very special getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BobMACBeverlyHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The very friendly and professional staff at Encantado made a big difference when compared to some of the problems within this beautiful setting. Most rooms look out over a sea of paving which could be solved by enclosing the parking area with a log fence which surrounds many of the lower level guest room terraces. A simple log style trellis over the parking spaces would soften the view from above. The guest experience could be enhanced by creating simple gravel pathways through the landscaped open areas instead of having guests walk through the parking lots to the lobby, restaurant , pool and spa. This was a big problem. The pool area is nice but is enclosed by a tall metal security fence which was probably required by code. This fence may have been eliminated within the view area by placing it at the base of the tall retaining walls beyond. The low wall at the edge of the pool terrace could also be raised o foot or two which would eliminate the view to the entry court and parking area below. The nice art gallery in the center of the porte cochere unfortunatly blocks the long vista from the pool area to the valley beyond. We understand that the parking lot problems are being addressed and more landscape screening plants will be added. The guest rooms are very nice and the buildings are cool and modern as you would expect from Auberge. The second floor view rooms look over one story units which have a flat glaring white reflective roof which could be aleviated by a beige coat of paint or some small beige gravel. There were a few other issues but all of these things will be resolved with some time and an improved economy. The attentive staff made all these problems secondary and the fantastic food at the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner also helped a lot. I hope I can come again soon and spend more time.....

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank resortdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed at the Encantado in July for a 5-night vacation. We enjoyed our stay very much and are looking forward to visiting again.

The property is located several miles north of Santa Fe, so the location to the restaurants, shopping, museums, etc. in downtown were not within walking distance like other properties. However, the resort has a convenient car service to and from downtown, which is a great service. Also, if available, you can borrow one of the Mercedes convertibles for use to drive around in, so getting to downtown was not a problem. In fact, since this was our second visit to Santa Fe, we enjoyed being a bit away from the action.

The property itself is very beautiful, but compact. All of the common areas --- lodge, restaurant, bar, pool, spa, fitness center --- are immaculate. Some prior reviewers commented on the prominence of the parking lot, and it is quite prominent, but the rooms with the higher numbers have less of a view of the lots. Drinks at the bar at sunset are a must, as is a morning coffee to enjoy the cool air.

The room (we had a vista casita, which is on the second level and has a balcony rather than a patio) was very nicely appointed and spacious. We did not use the fireplace but enjoyed time on the balcony. The well-stocked minibar (non-alcoholic drinks were complimentary) was very nice to have, as were the full-size bath products. There was a small problem with the shower door closure and we weren't fans of the coffee maker, as it was extremely loud (not good if one person is an early riser and the other is not). Also, on our first day, the in-room wireless was not working, but it was fixed by the next day. Overall, wonderful accommodations.

The best part about the experience was the service. From check-in to check-out, the staff were phenomenal --- attentive, polite, helpful and gracious. The bell staff and spa staff in particular were very pleasant, as was the concierge. They really helped to make our stay enjoyable.

In terms of on-property activities, the spa is not to be missed. It is an absolutely amazing experience in a beautiful setting. The fitness center is good, with top-notch equipment (although the room is on the small side). The restaurant, Terra, was a good dining experience, as was the bar.

We very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travel_blurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Encantado is nothing short of spectacular. My husband and I stayed there through a package that we got on luxurylink.com, which ended up being an excellent deal!

We spent 3 nights at Encantado and loved every second of our trip. We went there to celebrate our anniversary and relax and that is exactly what we did.

The setting is beautiful—desert, with some greenery and flowers—encircled by mountains on 3 sides. We spent hours just sitting outside, reading and enjoying the incredibly relaxing and pristine scenery.

The resort is everything you could want. We stayed in a casita with a king bed. The casita itself was perfect. It had brand-new fixtures and a modern and clean, but still comfortable. It was very roomy, with a huge bathroom, big closet/dressing area, large bedroom and very generous patio. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the bathroom was awesome with a walk-in, stone shower, the biggest soaking tub I have ever seen and his and her sinks. We had a great view from our patio and felt complete privacy. There is a hiking trail that goes around the resort, which is very manageable and a good way to start the day.

The food was incredible. The restaurant is world class and the service was excellent—accommodating and very attentive.

The staff could not have been more gracious-every single person we encountered went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. When we asked the concierge about where to go to print out our boarding passes, he told us to give him our flight info and he checked in for us and had the boarding passes delivered to our casita.

We both had massages, which we loved. The spa is wonderful—luxurious and very private.

I could go on and on (honestly), but will just say that this was one of the best places we have ever been. Encantado far exceeded our expectations--the natural beauty, the impeccable service, the amenities, the décor, the staff, etc. We were beyond sad to leave, but hope to be back soon.

The only “negative” comment I would make is that we were sent a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as a gift from family. We had 2 strawberries left over that we put in the fridge to save for the following night and when we went to take them out, they were gone. We didn’t mention this when we left because we had been so pleased with the overall service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bluedot16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
632 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506-0080 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $274 - $901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing