We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Experience Four Seasons Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not your typical Four Seasons. Clusters of 2 and 3 casitas sprinkled along the hillside with commanding views of the dessert. Main lodge with restaurant, fitness and the spa are just a short walk from any room. We enjoyed the fact that we were outside of downtown by about 10 minutes. It gave us a more diverse experience of the area.

We loved the views from our room and lighting our log fireplace in the morning having coffee and listening to the haunting songs of the coyotes in the distance. Rooms were spotlessly clean, wife loved the heated floors and bright large bathroom. It can be noisy if there is an event going on at night but we enjoyed the music and didn't bother us at all.

But what really made the Four Season special was the level of service and treatment we received from the staff. We always had enjoyable conversations with front desk staff, always very happy to offer suggestions or make a reservation for us. From bus person, bellman, hostess, management, servers, reservations and kitchen, everyone was genuinely egger to please. Staff often continuing a conversation from a previous day remembering things we spoke about or asking how our day was.
I would certainly recommend a stay here. See my review separate of Tarra Restaurant

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear john b:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. I am delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities that the resort has to offer. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future when your travels bring you back to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 847 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Four Seasons Encantado is about a 15-20 minute car ride from downtown Santa Fe but it might as well be on another planet. Silence reigns at this serene outpost surrounded by beautiful scenery and filled with superb service.
There is a team of wonderful concierges who know about everything in the area and as far away as Albuquerque and Taos. They do dinner recommendations and reservations, give you driving directions, suggest shopping stops and help evaluate "degree of difficulty" for area pueblos and walking tours. They are knowledgeable and considerate, taking into account my 86 year old mothers difficulties with walking and "odd" foods. Martha started helping with dinner reservations through on line conversations and made us happy while we were still in Albuquerque staying at another hotel. She continued to be a real treasure all through our stay.
The valet team will drive you in and out of town on the hour and half hour respectively. They are also very kind, almost backing the car up to our room so my mom wouldn't have to walk the extra few feet to the front steps at reception. They are all real gentlemen and also know about the history of the property and the area. They are conversational when you'd like but never intrusive.
Make sure you catch the sunset from the terrace outside the bar and restaurant. Best view in town. Larry the bartender is also a delight and will mix up a lovely refresher to go with the sunset.
The restaurant, Terra, is a treat as well. Service is lovely, both at breakfast and dinner. Gustavo, our waiter at breakfast, made us feel pampered and happy. Kyle, our busboy was funny and cheerful. Dinners were wonderful as well. The bar serves its own menu or you can get anything on the Terra menu as well. Managers are always checking on tables to be sure you're happy.
The only down side was a wedding that took place on Saturday night and brought the place from about 35% occupancy to 100%. The band was rehearsing in the afternoon, making the noise level at the pool much too loud for me. I went back to my room to sit on my patio but alas, it faced the pool and band. It continued until 10:30pm when it was shut down as promised but the bass up until that point was loud enough to vibrate the windows in our room. The housekeeping service was much later on those days. You could see the obvious effects of the total occupancy. The resort did comp us to a lovely dinner along with sincere apologies for the noise. I do think they need to rethink their wedding venue.
The spa menu didn't have enough options, a disappointment.
I was actually originally considering a location in town but opted for the Four Seasons because it would be very quiet and out of the way of the hustle and bustle of downtown. I got what I wanted until the wedding, which ended the tranquility I had booked this resort for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mariank9camp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear mariank9camp:

Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you and your mother had an enjoyable stay with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with Kyle, Martha, Gustavo and the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. With that being said, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that we caused you regarding the noise from the wedding and housekeeping service being later during the day. We take all of our guest’s feedback very seriously to utilize them as a learning tool in order to improve the services that we provide to our guests. Once again, thank you for taking the time out to share your impressions from your visit. Your time and feedback are truly appreciated. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our four nights at the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe was fantastic in every way. The setting is beautiful, the staff throughout the resort efficient, kind, and very helpful, and the food in the restaurant excellent. Our room and little patio were so nice it was hard to leave to go into Santa Fe for sightseeing. Be warned that everything in Santa Fe is quite expensive compared to other cities. The Four Seasons is about a 15 minute drive into Old Town Santa Fe. There is a shuttle, but we just drove in and out in our car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denadenaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear denadenaki:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting. The fitness center had lovely natural light and lot of nice equipment. The heated floors in the bathroom were a lovely and welcome touch in the recent cold weather. The service was fabulous. A great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trvl8176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Trvl8176,

Thank you so much for your taking the time out to write a review about your recent visit to the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. I can't thank you enough for providing feedback about your stay with us. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team as there is no greater motivator than a job well done. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe in the future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

It is difficult to praise this hotel highly enough..except to say it is on a par with Four Seasons Scottsdale!

Excellent rooms, grounds, pool complex and the restaurant service was special indeed as could be seen with locals coming in to eat.

Staff were especially good and if ever in the area again we will not hesitate to return

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mpkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear mpkp:
We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to write a review from your recent visit at Four Seasons Resort Santa Fe! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay – everything from the resort to room's accommodations. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest of our team as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Your gracious comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such a positive feedback from our guests. Once again, your time and your thoughtful comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here with a group on a business trip, my wife came along as well. We very much enjoyed our stay, including the large bathroom, comforable bed, fireplaces in room and casita patio, dining, views, hiking trail and capable wifi. A quick trip to and from downtown Santa Fe by extremely convenient hotel shuttle if you don't want to drive, especially after dining out in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a casita close to parking if you prefer to not use the valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorCalVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear NorCalVisitor:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy your room's accommodations and our resort. We are so glad to hear that you were able to utilize our resort’s complimentary shuttle services as well. Once again, thank you for taking the time out to share your impressions from your recent visit with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Resort on a more leisure stay sooner rather than later.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our experience at the Wine and Chili Festival was significantly enhanced by our stay at the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!!!! Just fabulous. Outstanding customer service, fine dinning and spectacular views from the casito.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PattyJerry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear PattyJerry2014:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. It pleases me immensely to hear that your experience at the Wine and Chile Fiesta was enhanced by our resort. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,830 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506-0080 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $280 - $930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TravelUp, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing