We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way things are supposed to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My sister and I have stayed here many times, starting back when it was the Auberge and through the change to the Four Seasons. We have always had a room with a balcony and a fireplace. When my sister had an allergic reaction to the fireplace, they moved us to a new room with no carpeting, which we appreciated. They keep some rooms without carpet for allergic guests and those traveling with pets. At first we felt bad that they had to go to the trouble to move us, but it was obvious that THEY felt bad about us being inconvenienced. I have never experienced such perfect service and true concern for my comfort and welfare. On one visit, I had food poisoning from another restaurant when we showed up. Before my sister could check us in, a valet brought a glass of iced ginger ale to the car for me. Later the chef put together soft boiled eggs and bread that wasn't on the menu, because I couldn't eat anything on the menu. My sister is allergic to dairy and has a violent reaction if she accidentally gets any. The hotel staff knew this, soy milk was provided and they were very careful checking with the chef to make sure we stayed dairy free. We have used the spa services for facials, pedicures, massage and a specific craniosacral massage. Elizabeth was my craniosacral masseuse and not only did a great job, she actually sang to me a little bit to relax me. As far as I'm concerned, this resort is second to none. The rooms, the room service, the restaurant, the spa.....all better than any other Santa Fe hotel. We have stayed at most of the hotels on the square and they are lovely, but the level of customer service at the Four Seasons is superb. There may be those who give it low marks in the "value" section. As someone who is in the age range of those of us who remember customer service, I would have to strongly disagree. The value of their customer service is priceless!

Room Tip: The rooms higher up the hill have a great view, also, the second story has the balcony
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Meredith W:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team and Elizabeth, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 836 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

A delightful second honeymoon! We wanted a quiet environment, gracious staff, good food and drink. The atmosphere is relaxing and spacious. The views are hard to beat! Our stay was memorable and just what we hoped it would be. All desires were accommodated in a friendly manner.

Room Tip: Room suites on the northeastern slope have a beautiful sunset view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lifejournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear lifejournies:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We have to agree with you that the views of the Sangre de Cristos mountain ranges and rolling hills of the Jemez Mountains on our resort are hard to beat! As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This Four Seasons is in a spectacular setting but they have yet to bring the experience up to their usual standard. The restaurant was terrible. It would have been so at any price but it stung all the more given the money we spent (this was a splurge for us, my wife's birthday). But it was truly awful service, starting off OK and then completely falling apart. It was as if once we ordered and went with the big bottle of wine, that was it--his money was made and we were left hanging. The kitchen didn't fare much better, some dishes missing and a fish that was served that never should have made it to the table. But then we couldn't send it back--because there was no one to send it back to! Our waiter was long gone. We poured our own wine throughout (which I don't really mind) and put dishes aside to clear. Sadly, I don't think it was that the restaurant management didn't care. I think it's that they didn't NOTICE. Shocking for a Four Seasons.

The room experience was generally good--but not at the level of every other Four Seasons we've visited. Front desk staff was very pleasant, if not exactly competent. They seemed new. We had a long, slightly clunky check in and a very long, very clunky check out, blamed on the computer. They were nice through it all and apologetic (which was better than we got in the restaurant), but again--compared to other Four Seasons (or St. Regis or Peninsula or Ritz Carlton or Fairmont, etc.) it wasn't even close to worth the price.

All in all, it was a gorgeous setting and very underwhelming stay (and we're actually very easy people to please). We still had a nice time in Santa Fe. Can't let a marginal hotel ruin your happy place. But we were disappointed, for sure. Next visit, we'll stay at any one of the number of places in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear D R:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort following your stay with us. Your review regarding our restaurant will definitely be passed onto our Director of Food & Beverage. We only want our guests to experience the absolute best, and we are genuinely sorry this was not the case for you during your visit. Should you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the number listed below. We take your feedback seriously and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to regain your trust and confidence.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
(505) 946-5801

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I just returned from a five day stay at this property and must say I miss it already. It is approximately one and a half hours from the Albuquerque airport. This should not deter one from staying here as they do have a shuttle that will pick up guests from downtown Santa Fe until 10:30PM. The drive is easy and the temperature was even better since it was cooler as we drove further north. The property is unpretentious and the buildings on site seem to blend into the scenery. The staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome and our room was very spacious with a fireplace and private patio. For those who like the opera the Santa Fe opera house is only about a ten minute drive. We saw La Traviata and to say it was an unforgettable experience is an understatement. With a ranging thunderstorm taking place at the most opportune times it appeared as if it was meant to be choreographed as part of the opera. There is much to see and do in the area. A stay at the Four Seasons Resort was a perfect place to relax, be on the go, and everything in between.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovet2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear lovet2travel:

We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to write a review from your recent visit at Four Seasons Resort Santa Fe!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious comments are truly appreciated. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. We are always extremely delighted to hear such a positive feedback from our guests. Our property is the closest to the opera and we offer complimentary shuttle services to and from the opera. Once again, your time and your thoughtful comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is our second stay - and it has really come along since the Four Seasons began managing the property. As long-time Five Graces people, we find ourselves drawn to the Four Seasons property because it is MUCH better equipped than any of the other hotels (that should never be rated above this property - it should be a neck and neck race with Five Graces). The staff gets better and better. The rooms are spacious, the food is great and the atmosphere is truly special. The locals come here, bring their special cars, for a wonderful brunch on Saturdays, by the way. My wife and I have been long-time believers that the Four Seasons provides a graciousness of service the other companies have yet to figure out. To the management - we say thank you - but we encourage you to continue to address the inherited parking "view" problem that presents itself. Seems to be improving though. We will be coming back!

Room Tip: Room 8 is a great, private casita for the romantic stay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank golflefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear golflefty:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado, Santa Fe! It pleases me immensely that your visit to the Resort was enjoyable and delightful. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. We are working diligently on the beautification process of our resort and we hope that you will be able to enjoy it on your next visit. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

well out of town but close to santa fe opera and a fantastic getaway. premium resort but not snobby. loved the feel of this place and staff make it cozy and friendly. awesome suite. nice little fireplace and roomy patio. big bathroom with nice shower and soaker tub. all we needed for a great 4 days away. spa very nice and welcoming to my elderly mom.

Room Tip: we loved room #23!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Katherine P:

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review about your recent visit to the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. I was very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy your casitas, the Spa and your getaway with us. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe in the future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at the property in June as part of a business function. Can't wait to return as pure leisure. Amazing staff. Loved the casitas - good privacy and comfortable beds. Food was excellent. Massage was one of the best I've ever had. The location is just outside the city, allowing for complete relaxation. But only a short ride to civilization.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luxtravgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Luxtravgal:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us during your business trip and I appreciate your feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your casita, massage and the culinary offerings! We believe that our resort offers complete relaxation and tranquility to our guests and it is all due our location; however, it is not too far from town so our guests do not have to miss a thing! We hope your next visit us will be more leisure than business. Once thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions from your recent stay.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
607 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,813 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506-0080 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $290 - $1,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing