We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Nearby Hotels
Inn of the Governors(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Alameda(Santa Fe)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel St. Francis(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$147
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$618
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (928)
Filter reviews
928 results
Traveler rating
668
155
69
28
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
155
69
28
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated floorsterra restaurantsummit suitein room dininghiking trailnew mexicodeep soaking tubbeautiful propertyfire pitsteam roomoutdoor fireplaceparking lothigh desertturn down servicefitness centerspa servicesshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 928 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Traveled from Los Angeles for a quick long weekend getaway to Santa Fe. Our first visit there, but definitely not our last. This resort will be our "pied-a-terre" for sure. It was about 10 minutes to downtown Santa Fe. They actually have shuttles that will take you to and from any location in Santa Fe. We chose to stay there because we wanted a resort-like atmosphere. We were not disappointed. When we called to inquire about activities and events, Martha, the concierge prepared specific answers to my requests/questions and emailed them to me. She came to introduce herself to us at check in.

Our rooms were beautifully appointed, huge casitas. Total luxury - heated floors in bathroom - what more can I say. Service was excellent. We went to pool on first day and had a discussion about the altitude (7000 ft.) with pool attendant, Gabby, who offered us a special remedy for altitude sickness issues. Fabi, head of food services was so personable, he quickly became our BFF.

We were treated wonderfully. Every request was immediately responded to with a welcoming attitude. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Upper floors may have better views of surrounding hills and sunsets, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laxcruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear laxcruising,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy everything from your room, the resort, and all of the amenities that the resort has to offer! We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. Four Seasons pride ourselves on providing seamless service and we are so pleased to hear that Martha, Gabby and Fadi were able to exceed your expectations! We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. We will share your comments with the rest of our team as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Your thoughtful review and time are truly appreciated. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As others have written, the resort itself are superb. The casitas are quite comfortable and luxurious. The pool, spa and fitness center are also top notch. The transportation to/from Santa Fe, about 15 minutes away, was very helpful but the times (to SF on the hour and pickups on the half hour were not real convenient).

The issue was the service as it varied from "good" to "poor" depending on the time and location at the resort. The resort is only 65 or so rooms so its not as if the staff was overwhelmed but it just seemed like the staff was not quite up to par with what you would expect from a Four Seasons staff. For example, we were supposed to get the newspaper daily...but did not get it the first morning. So, we told the concierge/front desk person who apologized and brought two papers to our breakfast table. She also said that she had made a note in our file to ensure that we would get the papers daily. However, we did not receive any paper until our final morning. Every other day we had to ask for them. Small deal, I know, but not what you would expect from a Four Seasons. We also encountered issues with breakfast in Terra on two days and issues with staffing at the pool.

Would I return to the Four Seasons? Yes, I would since the location is superb and the resort is nice. If the staffing issues were worked out, this would be my top choice in SF.

Room Tip: Vista Casitas have the best views and casitas 60-65 seem to have the best long view, even though you have to look over the main part of the resort. The first floor casitas have enclosed patios spaces. Our casita, number 50, had a nice view and was located at the back of the resort.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear gopoets,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! I am so sorry to hear of the challenges that you encountered during your stay. Please know that we take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. I would like to discuss the issues that you encountered in Terra Restaurant and our resort pool at your earliest convenience. My contact information is below please do not hesitate to contact me at your earliest convenience. Your comments and time are truly appreciated. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
cindy.racco@fourseasons.com
505-946-5801

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of this Four Seasons is a huge plus. You feel the calm and the quiet of the desert and appreciate the drama of the landscape. We were fortunate to hit a streak of scattered thunderstorms every day while we were there,so watching Mother Nature do her thing on my casita balcony was wonderful!
All the excellence one has come to expect from a Four Seasons is present here. The service, facilities and food are spot on. The deluxe casita we had I just adored. Beautiful from a design standpoint, spacious, and extremely comfortable. As with all Four Seasons beds, I didn't want to leave it! What kind of mattress is that? I want it! The soaking tub was an unexpected little luxury and much appreciated after a long hike, along with the crazy comfortable robes and slippers they provide for just kicking back in.
One suggestion and one complaint- Love the spa facilities, again very Santa Fe and lovely professional staff ( thanks to Eliazabeth for a great massage!) but I would suggest that in the women's steam room, y'all might want to consider some sort of cooling scent like eucalyptus or maybe the scent of y'all's signature oil? Anyway, it just smelled kinda musty and coppery. Doesn't make one want to linger.
And my complaint. Seriously- for the all the wonderfullness- how hard is it to whip up some great homemade muffins? Ugh! Those packaged muffins from who knows where, that taste stale and chewy. I know it's small but it's those little details that make such a difference. Enjoying a great cup of coffee and a good, house made muffin on a vacation morning with the NY Times in my hands is just one of my favorite pleasures. As it was, that muffin just put a damper on it. I have great recipes if y'all need them! :-)
Lovely, lovely stay. Will definitely be there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank burnedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear burnedin,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful resort, room, and Spa. If you wish you purchase our mattresses, it can be done! Please contact Emily Richey, Director of Spa, via telephone at 505-946-5896 or via email at emily.richey@fourseasons.com and you will never have to part with our beds! We will share your comments with the rest our team and Elizabeth, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done. Please know that we take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us, your comments and time are truly appreciated. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The "should have been in a Marlboro commercial" man showed us to our room, and you have to love a hotel where the large (and I mean LARGE) rawhide drum is immediately pointed out, along with the radiant heat in the stone bathroom floors, as an amenity.
As soon as you get north of Santa Fe, you know you're headed somewhere special. There's something wonderfully comforting about the pinon covered rounded hills, the coyote you glimpse loping along the roadside, the promise of starry nights.
We stayed in the middle of winter so it was extremely quiet. But Santa Fe charm was working its magic; everyone in the bar was talking about the homes they were looking to buy. It's not unremarkable for people to want to live where ever they vacation; what is remarkable about Santa Fe is that so many of them follow up on it. Two, and counting, from the few we met this past March.
You have to try the spa, ridiculously pricey but magical. We were treated to a rare snow shower at the end of our treatment and had to shuffle back to the warming room through dry drifting snow, but that seemed more like a treat than a nuisance.
Also, do eat at the hotel. Yes, you've come to Santa Fe to go downtown, and you will, but to miss what Andrew Cooper is doing with traditional ingredients, visits to the farmers market and his own special alchemy, is to miss one of the rising talents in the food world. It may take Food and Wine a little while to discover Andrew, but once they do, you'll wish you could say you ate with him "when".
Why didn't I give the hotel 5 stars? Really not a fan of the parking lots near the rooms/valet arrangement. Most Four Seasons use buggies to get their guests around the larger properties. I say ditch all the parking lots, create xeric gardens, and hide the guests and visitors cars behind some landscaping. I trust they'll figure it out.

Room Tip: You're going to want a second floor/view room. You need to see the light, the sunset sky. Breakfast could be better, especially as the chef is so talented! I'd vote he just hasn't gotten to it yet!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear jenskar,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your winter visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful and spacious rooms, the Spa, and our Executive Chef, Andrew Cooper’s delicious creations. At the same time, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that we caused you regarding our valet arrangement. Our valet parking is an additional complimentary service that we provide to our guests and we do not intend for it to be an inconvenience.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful rooms, relaxed setting, food was excellent, the staff is very attentive. The hotel is still finding its footing in terms of how it wants to fit into the local market. It really is more than simply a "Santa Fe" hotel. It is a destination resort and, as such, one really does not want to leave the place (which may not be your reason for traveling to Santa Fe). I will go back to this resort in a flash (as soon as I am able to refill my bank account in a year or two).

Room Tip: Each room is the same layout (among the best I've seen anywhere - and I travel allot), but each room is an independent "casita", so every location is unique. Probably higher up the mountain side is better.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Malcolm M,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!

Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful rooms and resort. We would have to agree with you that our resort that our resort is not simply a “Santa Fe” hotel and we are offering many guest activities such as tequila tasting at our resort pool and cooking classes with Executive Chef, Andrew Cooper to ensure that our guests have the opportunity to enjoy all that the resort has to offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews