We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drumming in Dry Desert Air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
just outside NYC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Drumming in Dry Desert Air”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The "should have been in a Marlboro commercial" man showed us to our room, and you have to love a hotel where the large (and I mean LARGE) rawhide drum is immediately pointed out, along with the radiant heat in the stone bathroom floors, as an amenity.
As soon as you get north of Santa Fe, you know you're headed somewhere special. There's something wonderfully comforting about the pinon covered rounded hills, the coyote you glimpse loping along the roadside, the promise of starry nights.
We stayed in the middle of winter so it was extremely quiet. But Santa Fe charm was working its magic; everyone in the bar was talking about the homes they were looking to buy. It's not unremarkable for people to want to live where ever they vacation; what is remarkable about Santa Fe is that so many of them follow up on it. Two, and counting, from the few we met this past March.
You have to try the spa, ridiculously pricey but magical. We were treated to a rare snow shower at the end of our treatment and had to shuffle back to the warming room through dry drifting snow, but that seemed more like a treat than a nuisance.
Also, do eat at the hotel. Yes, you've come to Santa Fe to go downtown, and you will, but to miss what Andrew Cooper is doing with traditional ingredients, visits to the farmers market and his own special alchemy, is to miss one of the rising talents in the food world. It may take Food and Wine a little while to discover Andrew, but once they do, you'll wish you could say you ate with him "when".
Why didn't I give the hotel 5 stars? Really not a fan of the parking lots near the rooms/valet arrangement. Most Four Seasons use buggies to get their guests around the larger properties. I say ditch all the parking lots, create xeric gardens, and hide the guests and visitors cars behind some landscaping. I trust they'll figure it out.

Room Tip: You're going to want a second floor/view room. You need to see the light, the sunset sky. Breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear jenskar,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your winter visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful and spacious rooms, the Spa, and our Executive Chef, Andrew Cooper’s delicious creations. At the same time, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that we caused you regarding our valet arrangement. Our valet parking is an additional complimentary service that we provide to our guests and we do not intend for it to be an inconvenience.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    139
    56
    20
    6
See reviews for
154
451
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful rooms, relaxed setting, food was excellent, the staff is very attentive. The hotel is still finding its footing in terms of how it wants to fit into the local market. It really is more than simply a "Santa Fe" hotel. It is a destination resort and, as such, one really does not want to leave the place (which may not be your reason for traveling to Santa Fe). I will go back to this resort in a flash (as soon as I am able to refill my bank account in a year or two).

Room Tip: Each room is the same layout (among the best I've seen anywhere - and I travel allot), but each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Malcolm M,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent visit to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado!

Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful rooms and resort. We would have to agree with you that our resort that our resort is not simply a “Santa Fe” hotel and we are offering many guest activities such as tequila tasting at our resort pool and cooking classes with Executive Chef, Andrew Cooper to ensure that our guests have the opportunity to enjoy all that the resort has to offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Rancho Encantado for the second consecutive year for a family reunion. Last year it was an Auberge Hotel and not it is a Four Seasons. The name recognition should help keep it well occupied.
The transfer has altered little in the physical identity of the hotel, except for elimination of some parking lots that has improved the appearance of the layout. Unfortunately, not enough attention has been given to maintaining or repairing minor glitches in the rooms such as one cracked window and the water temperature in one shower that could not be adjusted down.
Other than these minor defects, the food, staff, and service was pretty much all that could be hoped for. Luncheon planned for the courtyard had to be moved inside because the only umbrellas available at the hotel were at the pool, which is very pleasant. The Spa and exercise facilities are well appointed and my $150 massage was terrific and much appreciated after 18 holes of golf at nearby Black Mesa Golf Course--probably the best nearby course in the area.
The hotel is actually in Tesuque, about 10 miles north of Santa Fe center, but the hotel does offer a shuttle service.

Room Tip: The higher up the hill the better, but rooms at lower levels are fine, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveNC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear SteveNC41,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review about your recent visit to the Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado. I can't thank you enough for providing feedback about your stay with us.

I was very pleased that you were satisfied with your recent stay with us for your annual family reunion. As you know our trademark at Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts is excellence in service, and we take this very much to heart. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team. Please know that the appropriate discussions has taken place regarding the minor glitches that you encountered with your room. We take all of our guests feedback seriously in order for us to continue to provide and offer the best products and services that we are known for.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe in the future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

First, let me admit that I work in the hospitality business. That can make one either very critical or very forgiving. Our flight from Dallas to Santa Fe cancelled and we were forced to get seats on the supposedly oversold flight to Albuquerque. From there we drove the hour to the hotel. Of course we lost not only time but baggage. As soon as we arrived at the Hotel, our nerves were soothed by the incredible front desk/concierge team. By that evening, Kaitlyn had located our bags, informed us when they would arrive into Santa Fe and about the time they would be at our door the next morning. She had more information than the air lines, the credit card company or the booking company. Phenomenal performance! From there it was the smoothest of sailings. My partner is a designer and he loved the cement floors, especially the heated one in the bathroom. Loved the shower and the 100 gallon tub which retained heat longer than most tubs I've soaked in as well as the subdued desert colors of our casita. Most of all, we marveled at the nighttime silence broken only by the chirp of crickets and the sound of the breeze. The sunrise brought a din of birdsong. For us, it was a desert paradise. Unfortunately, due to the drought conditions, we were unable to enjoy the in-room fireplace. As for the food! We never had anything but extraordinary meals - three times for breakfast and the same for dinner. Chef Andrew is passionate about good food and it shows - or tastes it. Dining Room Manager, Katherine, was an absolute doll. Larry, bartender, was a delight, as well as professional and personable. At the Front Desk, Martha and Richard, too, were great. The entire staff was fabulous. I just can't remember all their names. (Just to note: we did not use Spa services.)We agreed that this was one of the best vacations we've had in along time. Now for the negative - first, the employees of one department don't seem to have an overall idea what the other departments are doing. Second: the piped in music. At the pool the music was far from serene and became somewhat annoying with the variety of rock-ish tunes. This was also a problem at the restaurant, especially while seated around the outside gas fire pit. I would rather have no music than what was played. Thirdly - we ran out of coffee pods and ended up asking three times before they were delivered. Minor complaints. Nevertheless, the visit was fantastic. Finally, a thank you goes out to the entire staff!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrick o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear patrick o,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado! It pleases me immensely that your visit to the Resort was enjoyable and delightful. At the time, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused you by not having your coffee request delivered immediately. Please know that the appropriate discussions have taken place in order for us to ensure that it does not occur in the future. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with Kaitlyn, Katherine, Richard, Martha, Larry and the rest of our staff, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife, son and I stayed for the weekend and overall the service and attention to detail was satisfactory. Our objective of staying in Santa Fe was to reside in a peaceful and quiet resort with lots of space. Encantado seemed to fit the bill but when we decided to spend some time outdoors we were very disappointed. The grounds didn't look anything like other four season resorts that we've stayed at - unkempt, dead trees and bushes all over the place and just a general lack of care. The food in the restaurant was very good. Pricey, but to be expected. We have always been loyal to the four seasons brand but next time I take my family to Santa Fe I will check to see if there has been any improvements otherwise will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

four seasons is probably our favorite hotel "chain", always lovely. this property reminds me a bit of the solage in napa, concrete floors, huge bathrooms etc, i just didn't find it very "luxurious". i'm not a fan of the concrete floors although the bathroom area is heated but it would actually make the room too warm so had to be turned off. Beds were good, nice mini bar area with kerig coffee maker. the one thing i really hated were the showers, in the room and in the spa. the water was so difficult to adjust in temperture and flow, it was just uncomfortable to use.

we stayed in #47, not very private as the units across and above could look down onto your patio. two fireplaces, one in and one out. the outdoors fireplace was very difficult to keep going with the wind. terrible view from this unit, basically looking at a wooden fence about 5 feet from the patio. spa was great, as were the treatment rooms and staff. food was just ok. we were at a company function one night outside and honestly the catered food wasn't very good, but it's hard to serve 100 people outside. the one thing i found difficult to understand, knowing that we were a very large group coming in, you'd have thought they would have had more staff in the bar during the evening. although the staff was nice, they seemed a bit harried. very nice (free) transport into santa fe. mind you, the hotel is about 20 minutes by car from old town santa fe.

Room Tip: several casitas look across the valley at the mountains, i would suggest asking for one of those. o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear ob23,

Thank you taking the time to write such a detailed review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We take all of the comments we receive from our guests seriously and use them as a learning tool in order for us to find new ways to improve the overall product and service delivery we provide to our guests. Please know that the appropriate discussions have been taken place regarding your food & beverage experience. Should you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me at the number listed below.
We understand that there are many choices for you to decide from when traveling to Santa Fe and we appreciate the business and your loyalty to our brand and our resort and we want to make sure that this continues. Once again, your time and comments are truly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
505-946-5801
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
260 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

There is absolutely nothing bad to say about the great food, the incredible service, the really beatifull room, the nice pool area and great fitness area. But it is in the middle of knowwhere, so if you want SPA experience that is quiet it is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikkelTorsting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy T, Executive Assistant to Cindy Racco at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mikkel T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our beautiful Spa and Terra Restaurant. Our resort is the perfect getaway to treat yourself and family to a relaxing and luxurious getaway. However, with the short ride into town offered by our complimentary shuttle services you can experience the City Different and have it all. We are very proud of our employees who are professional, caring people and are committed to ensuring our guests a true Four Seasons experience. I will share your comments with the rest our team, as there is no greater motivator than the praise of a “job well done”. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cindy Racco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
582 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,775 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,232 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Property: Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506-0080 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing