We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My daughters and I just spent the last 4 days at Rancho Encantado to celebrate my birthday and loved every minute of the luxury, the pampering and fantastic food and wine at Terra. (not to mention to Pink-a-ritas!) Everything about this hotel rocks, --- personal driver to town, the spa and pool, the rooms are so beautifually expansive with great private terraces and best of all, everyone on staff is naturally, high touch customer experience oriented. Be sure to have the water with strawberries and basil upon arrival - what a flavorful sensation! Antoinette, their concierge, has the best recommendations to restaurants and activities - spent time in Taos, Albuquerque and went horseback riding at broken saddle which was the highlight of the weekend. Thanks to everyone at Rancho Encantado - I'll be sure to return with my husband.

Room Tip: If you are celebrating a special occasion, be sure to mention upon reserving room - you will be ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Egee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyRacco, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am pleased that you and your daughters enjoyed your time with us on your birthday and truly appreciate your feedback.

We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    139
    56
    20
    6
See reviews for
154
451
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We love the Four Seasons chain because of the high standards of service, the beautiful properties and the fantastic amenities. Even with the missteps that can be expected from a new property, we enjoyed our stay at Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe and we look forward to returning again.

Contrary to some of the negative comments on TripAdvisor about the area around the hotel, we found it beautiful: the road leading up to the entrance winds through a lovely, uniquely New Mexican landscape. This is the southwestern United States, not Southwestland at an amusement park. Even with cosmopolitan Santa Fe ten minutes away, this is a more rugged, rural area, and you have to expect more “fifth tree on the hill” and less “Fifth Avenue.” The overall effect is very New Mexico, even if it doesn’t feel like “traditional Santa Fe” (that’s not a bad thing in our book).

Our room - a Patio Casita - was on the first floor of a four-unit building a short walk from the spa and main building complex (and yes, you can hear people walking on the floor above you, as others have noted). The room itself was very comfortable with a fireplace, huge king bed, sitting area and table. The patio had a high “coyote” fence made of local trees and included chaise lounges, a table and chairs and another fireplace. The highlight of the room was the large bathroom: in a style you might call “modern Southwest” with heated concrete floors, a deep tub and separate shower, a separate toilet and two big sinks.

The restaurant is visually appealing and the food and service are up to typical Four Seasons standards - that is, very nice. The bar is pretty - and the outdoor spaces afford an amazing sunset experience - but the service needs an upgrade. Our one visit to the bar included slow, incorrect drink service (with no apology for serving the wrong drink after a 15-minute wait) and do-it-yourself service required to raise the sunshades that prevented guests from viewing the awesome sunset. The bar staff were friendly, but they need to learn the standards of Four Seasons service.

The huge spa is beautiful and is definitely worth a visit, even if you’re “just” using the steam room or whirlpools. We hope to have time to take a yoga class and use the gym and pool on our next visit. The hotel also has an “office” in downtown Santa Fe (right near Coyote Cafe and Don Pasqual’s) that provides a convenient spot to drop off packages, have a glass of water or ask questions of the friendly concierge staffing the welcome desk. What a nice touch!

This is a lovely property and we’re sure it will only get better with time (as others have noted). We look forward to making a return visit soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MJPBAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We also are enjoying the spectacular location and facilities here at the Four Seasons. Agree with prior reviews that a few kinks need to be worked out. Had to ask more than once for a few items - room service removal, newspaper delivery, did not leave us the key when we checked in. Our past experiences with Four Seasons has been that they anticipated our needs. We are confident that they will make this a Four Seasons property that is consistent with others we have experienced.

Spa is well appointed and offers a wide variety of treatments. More classes and unique activities would be welcome.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Skymiler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently spent four nights at the Four Seasons Rancho Encantado. The setting was gorgeous, and we enjoyed being outside of Santa Fe's touristy downtown. We stayed in a mountain view casita which was beautiful - loved the bathroom and patio. Overall the room and its amenities were top notch.

Only downside was the somewhat inconsistent and impersonal service. Nothing too egregious, but the pool was only staffed sometimes, we had to ask for a couple things for our room more than once, and for a hotel of this caliber and small size, more personal service would have been nice. (for example, no one checked in with us during our stay to see how things were going or if we needed anything).

We enjoyed a nice dinner in the bar area (our server was great!) and the views at sunset were magnificent.

I'd definitely recocmmend this as a relaxing, luxurious and quiet resort outside of SF.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beyond excellent customer service. Beautiful property just outside the city (you can see every star in the sky). We were there on a 3 day mini honeymoon following our wedding in Ruidoso, NM and really needed to relax. This place was perfect! The staff was extremely accommodating and attentive. We had dinner at the restaurant onsite, the patio with heat lamps was a perfect setting to enjoy the sunset, delicious food and a bottle of Elk Cove wine.

The only drawback is that if you book a room on the lower level of a 'casita' you can hear everything coming from the room upstairs. When we asked to move rooms they did immediately, without question. The bellhop that helped us with our bags to the new room told us that it was a huge problem they have been trying to alleviate and that many people have had complaints. Which led us to question why they had us in the room to begin with since the resort was relatively empty?? Definitely ask upon booking your room or else it will impact your experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alainacarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I loved this hotel! The rooms were fabulous and the views of the sunset are breathtaking. We had excellent service in all areas of the hotel. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is about a 15 minute drive to town, but the hotel has a complimentary shuttle. So if you want to be in the heart of the action then this isn't the place for you. But we loved beibalance to go into town for dinner and then come back to our oasis! Most of the hotel rooms in town are tiny. The restaurant at the hotel is pretty good but I would recommend trying out some of the fabulous restaurants in town. Overall I would highly reccomend this property!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CateyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Maria from WhatAHotel.com recommended the Four Seasons Encantado - Santa Fe for a long Lavor Day weekend. WhatAHotel.com uniquely provides excellent resort amenities not elsewhere available - which made this Four Seasons actually a great price value! If you are drawn to spectacular high-desert vistas - this resort is incomparable! The accomodations are fabulous: each Suite or Casita with an unbelievable sunset view. Dining is understated & Five Star: dining room; lounge; & in-room have indigenous ingenious twists to great ingredients coupled with service as only Four Seasons can deliver. Front desk staff, housekeeping personnel & concierge embody superlative guest interactions. Tip: fly into/out of Santa Fe municipal & have the hotel use it's fleet of Benz's to transport you. They also take you right to Santa Fe's town square while providing excellent area insights.

Room Tip: Accomodations all have a sunset view &, nice touch - are equipped with Kuerig coffee/tea makers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
583 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,776 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,234 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe

Property: Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe
Address: 198 State Road 592, Santa Fe, NM 87506-0080 (Formerly Encantado, An Auberge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under grand skies and infinite stars, rediscover your inner artist in our intimate escape from the ordinary – nestled in a high-mountain desert landscape, minutes from the magic of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Set in 57 unspoiled acres tucked gently into the Sangre de Cristo foothills, Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe is just 10 minutes from Santa Fe’s galleries, shops and distinctive architecture. The Resort offers 65 casita guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Rancho Encantado Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantado, An Auberge Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Hotel Santa Fe
Encantado Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing