We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in Friday Harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backdoor Kitchen & Catering

Backdoor Kitchen & Catering
Ranked #10 of 63 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Friday Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This place is extremely hidden. It's in an industrial area. They do have a small sign up front and a granite rock that says "Enter" once you head to the side of the building you walk into a beautiful garden oasis. I had the lamb chops and mashed potatoes with steamed veggies and the hubs had the scallops, both were outstanding. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and spent the week on San Juan island and wanted a nicer, higher end type of restaurant to have dinner at. This place was perfect. Our server was a nice man, who was very attentive. A very enjoyable evening. A bit spendy, but well worth it. We will return to the back door kitchen if ever on this island!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    53
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Food good, service so-so.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The food here is very good (although the chef does seem to go somewhat overboard with sauces and trimmings). But however good the food, poor or rude service will always put me off returning. When we arrived, we were left standing in the waiting area for 10 minutes without any acknowledgement or even eye contact from the waiting staff. We were eventually shown to a bad table right next to the servery (we had made a reservation). The waitress got our drinks order wrong, we had to ask for cutlery. When I'm paying $100 plus for a meal I really do expect efficiency and courtesy as well as good food. Won't return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeicesterUKTigerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BEST IN FRIDAY HARBOR OR ANYPLACE NEARBY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

talk about a hidden gem- this is it..tucked behind a moped rental shop you will be transformed as you walk through a beautiful garden to a funky house tucked deep inside. The vibe is eclectic and cool and the food-WOW. We had one of those memorable meals that you know will be hard to recreate. All so tasty the veggie platter may be the best most delicious i have ever had. the crab salad was off the hook and our apps were creative and stellar. GO HERE

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

A bit difficult to find but totally worth it. My steak was better than one I ate 2 nights previous at the Seattle Space Needle! Great garden atmosphere, attentive staff & wonderful menu options. Husband states the sea scrap pols he had were the best he had ever had.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cass L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Level Contributor
295 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Exceptional Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

There were 7 in our party and we called late in the day so we accepted an outdoor table in spite of the wind and cool temps. It would have been great in better weather as it is a beautiful garden. The service was friendly and attentive and the menu really interesting with lots of variety. Everything we ordered was delicious, apps, mains & although we skipped desert, it was only because we were so full. Good varied selection & prices on the wine list. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backdoor Kitchen & Catering also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Backdoor Kitchen & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing