We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay with your dog”
Review of Tucker House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tucker House Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lakeside, OR
1 review
“The perfect place to stay with your dog”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have stayed here on different occasions over the years and will always come back when in Friday Harbor. The cabins are cozy with everything you need and you can bring your furry friend! The breakfasts are the best and can even be delivered to your room. All the other touches are equally splendid...home baked cookies in the p.m., fresh orange juice, special soaps, etc. Plus, it is conveniently located and you can walk into town. We cannot recommend it more highly and look forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    90
    31
    16
    8
See reviews for
89
300
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed a cozy two nights in the Patience Corner room. Fresh cookies every evening for us and our border collie. Breakfasts were unbelievably delicious -- best breakfasts we've ever had at a B&B. Don't forget to dine with David and Maria at their Coho restaurant. Exquisite dining. Overall a great stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swokolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spent three nights at the Tucker House's Goose in the Pond suite and loved it. I liked the fact that even though the room had a cute sort of name, the room was simply decorated -- not all gussied up with geese. Our "room" was large, had a separately, fully outfitted kitchen and all kinds of nice touches like snacks. Each afternoon a plate of homemade cookies magically appeared. We particularly liked the location three blocks from Friday Harbor 's main street and the ferry dock but far enough away to be very quiet. Not only was each breakfast delicious, but they went out of their way to assure that even with my food allergy, I was served items as delicious and attractive as the other breakfasters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Antiquity, food, and attention to detail are just a few words to describe our lodging experience. The Tucker House has the best breakfast we've ever had. Anna Marie is a culinary wizard. The breakfasts are several courses, very health and flavorful. Our room, the Castle Wall was beautifully decorated and spacious. Several windows for light and ventilation. A small balcony to sit and enjoy a glass of local wine was a special treat. The kitchen is available to make tea or coffee at ones own leisure. Did I mention it's located in Friday Harbour on the San Juan Island in WA. The Island is full of American History and is absolutely beautiful. We went in Oct. which is probably one of the best months to go. No crowds. You'll enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Castle room back in June. At first, I thought check in was odd, that there was no one there to greet us, but once we were settled in, we had a wonderful stay. Fresh baked cookies delivered everyday with housekeeping. Yum! Our room was lovely with a huge bathroom. The little details were great..it was stocked with their own shower gel and lotions and Qtips! How many times do you forget Qtips? Everything was very thoughtful. The staff was very accomodating and the breakfasts were incredible. Three courses..including dessert. Yes..cookies at bedtime and dessert with breakfast. Think I'm in foodie heaven!

Room Tip: Just know if you stay in a suite, you have to have breakfast in your room. The eating area only acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredbooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from a very nice 5-day stay in Lizzie's Cottage at the Tucker House in Friday Harbor. The location is convenient, the cottage accommodations are comfortable and reasonable (especially with the discount for staying multiple days) and Molly's breakfasts are exceptional. We also appreciated the pet-friendly policy because of the service dog that must travel with us. A birthday dinner at the nearby Coho restaurant under the same ownership was memorable for both the quality of the food and the cozy environment.
If we're ever able to return to Friday Harbor, we would definitely seek to stay in the Tucker House again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The accommodations at Tucker House have the feel of being at home. I stayed in one of the cabins with a bedroom, kitchenette, dining area, and bath. While not the most spacious of accommodations, the cabin provided a nice, cozy feeling. The kitchenete was particulalry well-stocked, including an assortment of teas, fresh milk and orange juice in the refrigerator, and snacks such as granola bars and microwave popcorn. And while some hotels provide you with a cookie upon check-in, Tucker House staff leaves a cookie every day after making up the room. Such a pleasant treat to come home to after a day of sightseeing.

Breakfast is provided at TuckerHouse. And what a breakfast it is. It is a veritable feast, starting off with granola, yogurt, and fruit. You then move on to the main dish (lemon ricotta pancakes one morning, a seafood and mushroom omelette another morning). And following the main dish, there is even dessert! Personally, there was so much food, I turned down the dessert portion. The food was all well-prepared and delicious. Just what one needs for a day touring the island.

Tucker House is located on a quiet street, only a couple blocks from the main part of Friday Harbor, so it is conveniently located to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkfincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Tucker House Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your stay. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable visit. Our new Breakfast Chef, Molly, is introducing lots of new recipes and flavors to breakfast. The Lemon Ricotta Pancakes are a tried and true guest favorite, but next time you might get to enjoy her breakfast pizza on house made focaccia or a savory mushroom strata. We look forward to the pleasure of your return visit.

With kind regards,
Anna Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucker House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucker House Inn

Property: Tucker House Inn
Address: 275 C St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tucker House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Tucker House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucker House Hotel Friday Harbor
Tucker House Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing