We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, convenient location!”
Review of Trumpeter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trumpeter Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Trumpeter Inn is probably my second favorite B&B that I have stayed at (#1 is also a wolf preserve in MT!). we stayed in the Savory room, very comfortable, and has an outside entrance which makes it easy for bringing in/out luggage. Bathroom large, beautifully done but note only a shower, no tub. Also note that this room is right next to a common area with TV, games and computer so could be some disturbance, however if other guests are aware there is a room there and you are present, most are conscientious and this is not an issue!
Breakfast was delicious and so was our 'bag breakfast' for our very early ferry ride! Shaun and staff were wonderful hosts and helpful with suggestions and arrangements. We very much enjoyed the grounds of Trumpeter Inn, making friends with the resident dogs, goats and alpacas! Birders would enjoy the many hummingbirds which come to feeders on the property! Very convenient to Friday Harbor, and not far from all other locations on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooshele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 396 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of the better B&B experiences we have ever had. Quiet and away from the harbor, but close to everything, you'll feel a world apart. The team does an excellent job making you feel welcome, offering savory snacks and local recommendations. On a clear night, be sure to enjoy the outdoor jacuzzi and stare at the stars. Our lone regret was only staying for one night as part of a tour of several San Juan Islands.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piperman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This delightful bed and breakfast is actually located on a farm, and the rooms have enjoyable views of a country landscape. A pond, fruit trees, and resident alpacas and goats in distant pens add to the rural charm. Our room was spiffy clean and fresh with a fun tongue-in-cheek décor, and the King bed was very comfortable. Traditional country breakfasts (juice, fruit, eggs, bacon, and potatoes, or ham with waffles, or pear pancakes) were generous and served at place settings that had all the trimmings—and even fresh flowers from the garden! Hostess Shaun was exceedingly well-organized and had breakfast piping hot right on time, and she provides in an in-room notebook the best town maps, explanation of parking regulations, and island history narration that we’ve found. The Inn is handicap-accessible, with a barrier-free entrance, a room with ADA bath, and downstairs breakfast cheerfully provided.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasonedtraveler067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Trumpeter Inn during a cycling tour of the San Juans. The owner greeted us upon arrival, assisted us in stowing our bikes in the conveniently located bike racks and ensured that we were settled in. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet, although the feminine, lacy décor was slightly dated for our taste, as we are in our early 30's. The sprawling rural property is pretty and included a hot tub which allowed us to soak our sore muscles. The breakfast was delicious and a nice opportunity to visit with the other guests. Overall the owners ensure that no detail is overlooked and put great effort in providing a comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I just finished a 12 day self supported bicycle tour of the San Juan islands. We started in Friday harbor with a 3 night stay at trumpeter inn. What a fantastic way to start our trip. Shaun was an amazing host and super nice person as well. She picked us up at the ferry with all our luggage which included 2 large suitcases 50 lbs a piece with our bikes in them. Her place is lovely with home baked cookies waiting for you every day. She makes a filling gourmet breakfast every
morning that you don't want to miss. She allows you access to the inn kitchen and you can easily prepare dinner in the evenings. We explored the other islands on our bikes and returned to trumpeter for our last night. If we ever return to this lovely island, trumpeter inn is where we will stay! Other b and B's could take a lesson from Shaun on how to do it right. The bucolic setting with alpacas and goats and 2 dogs doesn't hurt either.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CABIKENUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a great experience at the Trumpeter Inn. Shaun is a great owner and I was craving her delicious cookies for days after we left. The house is very clean and there was a very high level of attention to detail on every aspect of our stay. We also enjoyed the beautiful scenery around the property. Breakfast was delicious and a couple of days when we had early plans Shaun packed us a bag breakfast to go which was also very good. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you like a really wonderful experience then the place to stay is the Trumpeter Inn. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious and presented like a fine dining restaurant. Our room was exquisite with a beautiful view of the land surrounding the B&B. Shawn the owner is so gracious and friendly that you feel like you have known her for a long time. Plan to go back next year at the same time. Wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: There were no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
1.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 11 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
5.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Grand
Friday Harbor Grand
#3 of 17 in Friday Harbor
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trumpeter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trumpeter Inn

Address: 318 Trumpeter Way, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $149 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Trumpeter Inn, one of San Juan Island’s premier lodging establishments. Our pastoral estate, designated an official Backyard Wildlife Sanctuary, offers a unique opportunity for guests to enjoy and view deer, fox, trumpeter swans, dabbling ducks and other wetland species. Country quiet, yet less than five minutes from “downtown” Friday Harbor where you can enjoy the island’s charming shops, numerous art galleries and fine gourmet restaurants.In the morning, with a cup of coffee in hand, walk along the country lane or down the meandering trail on the five acre property to visit the miniature goats and alpacas or enjoy the horses and cattle on adjacent pastures. Spend the afternoon in the beautiful gardens featuring a panoramic view of the entire San Juan Valley, and in the distance, False Bay and Washington’s snow-capped Olympic Mountains. In the evening, relax on a lawn chair or private patio and view the sky exploding with stars.The Trumpeter Inn is one of the few San Juan Island accommodations that provides concierge services. We will happily help you arrange for memorable whale watching experiences, kayaking, and romantic dinners.If you are looking for accommodations on San Juan Island, we look forward to welcoming you to The Trumpeter Inn Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trumpeter Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing