We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B Experience”
Review of Trumpeter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trumpeter Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Four of us spent the night prior to a kayak trip and we all enjoyed our stay immensely. Shaun is a delightful hostess, the home, garden and pastures are beautiful, she has every amenity you can imagine and it was just minutes away from the tourist core. Very peaceful. She fixed us a terrific breakfast to go, since we had to meet the kayak group early and we had access to the kitchen to make lots of fresh coffee early. Really...it's a lovely place and such a good value!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnaleeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 396 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a lovely plus to our visit to the San Juans! I wish I could say we were intentional about the choice of the Trumpeter, but our first visit to the Islands meant that we were reading reviews and taking our chances. What a home run The Trumpeter turned out to be! A brief mile outside the too busy for us Friday Harbor, the quiet of the farm like property instantly soothed. The Inn looks like it was finished a month ago; absolutely spotless and immenently comfortable. I loved the absence of the ubiquitious big screen television in our room (one available in common areas of the Inn if you feel deprived) and the ever presence of Shaun's devilishly good cookies and grounds elegently managed (even the alpacas seem pleased!) all are complimented by Shaun herself, delightfully witty and anxious to please, and her unbelievable breakfasts linger still in our memory--and will for a very long time!

Room Tip: There are no bad chocies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenDillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a fantastic and lovely B&B! The Trumpeter Inn is absolutely the place to stay while in the island. Shaun is the perfect hostess with her marvelous personality and hospitality. Her fantastic breakfasts and homemade cookies are absolutely wonderful. And the snacks, drinks and chocolates are an added treat. The surroundings are breath-taking and the yard is absolutely lovely with many blooming flowers. And of course, the dogs, Joey and Jenny are a welcome addition. In summation, I will gladly proclaim that "this is the best B&B we have ever visited."
Thank you Shaun!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron-Glenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Trumpeter Inn this past spring, and had a fantastic time! The B&B was awesome, the breakfasts were beyond compare, and I think we both put on about 5 lbs snacking on Shaun's fresh-baked afternoon cookies! We had a great time touring the island, and Shaun was a most gracious hostess, providing us with local tips and ideas to pass the time as well as acting as our liaison with Captain Jim, the best Whale Guide on the island! Really, he'll tell you so himself :) My wife made a batch of the key lime coconut cookies recently, a recipe Shaun readily shared with us, and after she took a bite she looked at me in despair and said "They were better at the Trumpeter!" A great reason to return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

... we certainly didn't. The property was absolutely beautiful and the B&B itself is comfortable and spotlessly clean. Shaun was such a wonderful hostess; very friendly and open, very attentive and certainly very hard working to provide an immaculate San Juan experience. She will even go so far as to pack you a special breakfast-to-go if you are going to miss breakfast in the morning - but we definitely don't recommend missing out because all the food is absolutely delicious. I don't expect you could do much better on San Juan than staying at the Trumpeter Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDrayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Trumpeter Inn was a great find on San Juan Island for us. Sean was a great hostess and extended great hospitality to us including driving us to town and to rent a car. The Inn offered tons of amenities including home made cookies daily, snacks and drinks, chocolates and a hot tub, but the highlight was definitely the magnificent breakfasts. We had fresh made entrees and fresh fruit salad that were served with great presentation.

Highly recommend staying here if you are visiting San Juan Island!

Room Tip: You need transportation - car, bike, moped - if you stay here as it is not walking distance to main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolphan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Ok this was the best stay we have had anywhere. The grounds and the house were just perfect. I am not the typical B and B customer , I am more on the private side ,and my husband is very social , so I was a bit nervous before our stay . We were both very happy with what we found at the Trumpeter Inn. Shaun went out of her way many times to accommodate our needs, from providing a ride from town to booking a massage for us. She is the PERFECT mix of helpful, friendly , at the same time allowing us privacy . We love the breakfast every morning and stockpiled the delicious cookies in the afternoon. THANK YOU Shaun for making our get away perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
483 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
523 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
523 reviews
5.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trumpeter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trumpeter Inn

Address: 318 Trumpeter Way, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $149 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Trumpeter Inn, one of San Juan Island’s premier lodging establishments. Our pastoral estate, designated an official Backyard Wildlife Sanctuary, offers a unique opportunity for guests to enjoy and view deer, fox, trumpeter swans, dabbling ducks and other wetland species. Country quiet, yet less than five minutes from “downtown” Friday Harbor where you can enjoy the island’s charming shops, numerous art galleries and fine gourmet restaurants.In the morning, with a cup of coffee in hand, walk along the country lane or down the meandering trail on the five acre property to visit the miniature goats and alpacas or enjoy the horses and cattle on adjacent pastures. Spend the afternoon in the beautiful gardens featuring a panoramic view of the entire San Juan Valley, and in the distance, False Bay and Washington’s snow-capped Olympic Mountains. In the evening, relax on a lawn chair or private patio and view the sky exploding with stars.The Trumpeter Inn is one of the few San Juan Island accommodations that provides concierge services. We will happily help you arrange for memorable whale watching experiences, kayaking, and romantic dinners.If you are looking for accommodations on San Juan Island, we look forward to welcoming you to The Trumpeter Inn Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trumpeter Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing