We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillside House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle wa
1 review
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

A spur of the moment trip was fantastic. Greg and Naoni are very freindly. Breakfast was out of this world. One morning we had lilac infused pancakes and the other morning was a delectable quiche with homemade bread (beer batter bread....ohhhhh myyyyyy....) along with homemade granola. I stayed in the Eagle's Nest. Great room, spacious. Gas fireplace, double wide soaking tub (some might call it a bathtub with jets). Very nice view (most of Mt. Baker and a little of the harbor). You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dashrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
11
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you plan a trip to Friday Harbor and want a low key, friendly B&B. Please visit Greg and Naoni at their wonderful home. The house is lovely and each of the 7 bedrooms has its own personality. Each named room has a private bath, wonderful window seats, very comfortable beds. It's location is convenient to town. Prices are quite reasonable. The hosts are friendly and very accommodating! Breakfast prepared for us by Greg, was tasty and very filling! Although I was there with friends, I feel it would be a great couples get a way.

Room Tip: Each room has its own style and personality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We found the Hillside House B&B by using the B&B assoiation toll free number (866-645-3030) to find an available room on a Saturday night. When I called Greg, he was very charming and accomodating. This place is not really close to the harbor, so walking to it with luggage would probably not be do-able. Once you get there, Greg welcomed us with open arms. He gave us the little tour and took us to our room. We stayed in the Paris room. It was perfectly charming. And the window seat was so cute. Such a nice surprise. Breakfast was only offered between 8:30 and 9:30 which forced me to get up. My phone did not work in our room, which was downstairs, but sitting upstairs in the living room and looking at the view out the window was not such a bad thing. I would definitely stay at this charming home again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

we stayed at this b and b for two days early sept. we stayed at one room one night and another room the next night. i guess the rooms were previously reserved by others. each room is individually named so people can reserve a specific room. each of the rooms we stayed in had their own bathroom, one with just shower, the other with a bath. there are two rooms that do not have a bathroom in the room but a bathroom is designated for that room across the hallway. if you call for reservation, you may want to make sure you get a room with a bathroom inside. the rooms are very well kept and clean. the beds are nice. they serve breakfast only at a specific time so you have to be on time for this. the breakfast is home made, fresh and quite good. the one thing to keep in mind which did make for a challenge in the begnning is the distance from the ferry dock. if you do not have a car, be aware this is a good walk of about nine blocks from the ferry, mostly uphill. after you manage to drag your luggage to the place upon arrival, the rest is a breeze. settle in and get to meet the proprietors, greg and naoni, and you will appreciate the care they take not only of the place but also of their guests.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank etohelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Owners Greg & Naoni greet you and make you feel at home. They are very knowledgable of the area and events. The B&B is well maintained, extremely clean, and located just a few blocks from the town shops. Easy access to other parts of Island. The rooms are very neat and bed was great.The breakfast was excellent not to mention the extra snacks & tea available at your liking.This was our first visit but we are planning on coming back!! THANK YOU, Greg & NAONI, you are the BEST!!

Room Tip: Rooms are all unique in decor and space. Each room is equipped with tv and cannot be heard in neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearcatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I recently visited Hillside House with a friend and stayed for three nights while doing some whale watching and kayaking. Upon our arrival, the owner, Greg, was extremely brusque and made my friend and I both uncomfortable. We were asked for our payment before we'd even put our bags down.

Both my friend and I also had a bit of work to do on holiday, and brought laptops in order to take advantage of the advertised wi-fi at Hillside House. The wi-fi wasn't working, and when we suggested to Greg (politely) that perhaps rebooting the router would solve the problem, he told us he'd do it later. When he didn't do it later and we asked a second time, he stomped off to fiddle with it.

Greg's wife Naoni, on the other hand, is a complete gem. She's friendly, welcoming, and nearly makes up for her husband's rudeness. If Greg was anything like his partner, their place would be a joy to visit.

Breakfast is tasty, but it's served at 8:30 and if you aren't there, you aren't eating. The rooms are small but comfortable (we stayed in "Victoria's Secret), and the bed was mediocre. There's nothing particularly remarkable about this B&B (even though Naoni is lovely!) and - for the price - you'd be better off going elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiveniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Friday Harbor hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We chose Hillside because it was slightly cheaper than others on the island, but it is a bit of a walk from town, so thus the cheaper rate. We timed out walk and it is a 15 minute walk...uphill to the house or downhill to town. Plan to huff and puff. You can take a taxi, BUT, it was fun for us to see the town as we walked and we kept telling ourselves that we were walking off all the calories we were eating. (Not true, I gained weight :))

We arrived at the island at 11:00 a..m.....had a kayaking tour at 1:00 p.m.....check-in to the Hillside was at 4:00p.m. DILEMMA! We decided to try to leave out luggage at Hillside even though it was 5 hours before check-in. Greg (the host) graciously allowed us to leave our luggage in the den even though our rooms were not ready yet. I also REALLY HAD TO USE the bathroom and asked Greg if I could use a bathroom. He was hesitant because there is not a public bathroom, but allowed me to go into one of the rooms that his wife, Naomi, was preparing for guests. I thought it was very gracious of him.

I know Greg has gotten grief from other reviewers about his attitude, but I totally understand that he and his wife have to have boundaries or people would be tromping on their home like a hotel, which it is not. They provided to us exactly what they said they would...a good bed, a good breakfast, and beautiful view.

We stayed in the Captains Quarters(?) I think that is what it is called SO COMFORTABLE! The bed was awesome. Quality mattress with a down feather topping. I don't understand the logistics of it all, but Naomi (the hostess) was telling me about the experiments with the baffling to get the comfort just right. It worked. My husband and I had the best night's sleep of our whole vacation (we stayed at other places in Seattle). The room was decorated in a quaint and well-done 'seafaring captain' decor. Very comfortable and fun. Most importantly, it was very clean. Nice adjoining bathroom with plush towels and accessories.

Breakfast was delicious. Greg made a quiche (which all the men LOVED), fresh muffins, hash browns. Greg also had a homemade granola with toppings of almonds, chocolate chips, and dried cranberries. Of course, orange juice, coffee, and tea. It was very enjoyable eating the good food and talking with other guests from all over the country.

GREATEST THING! Greg and Naomi served fresh picked cherries from their own trees. They had Bing, Ranier, and two other varieties that I can't remember. AWESOME! Of course, this was a seasonable thing, but wonderful.

Greg and Naomi have structured house rules, which I appreciate. Each room has its own lock for privacy and security, the house itself is left open so you can come in at any time of night, there is a common refrigerator, hot water for tea, cookies/brownies on counter (yes they can get stale...not Greg's fault...they are initially very good), wine glasses and opener...everything you need to make yourself at home.

There is a deck with a beautiful view. Mostly pine trees, a sliver of the harbor, and some sail boats. The view is lessened because you are not on the harbor, but the price reflects that.

Would I stay there again? Yes. Good views, good food, GREAT bed. Closer in?.....You'll have to pay more.

Room Tip: Captain's Quarters was great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkyTalky4178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hillside House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 365 Carter Ave, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8055
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillside House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside House Bed and Breakfast, on San Juan Island, WA, is a 4,000 square foot contemporary inn, among an acre of fir trees, overlooking Mount Baker and the entrance to Friday Harbor. We feature spacious commons areas, wonderful views, quiet location, landscaped gardens, walking distance to shops, 7 guest rooms, each with a king or queen bed and private baths, and a 3 diamond rating from AAA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hillside House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside House Bed And Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing