We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room, absolutely delicious breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillside House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Inkeepers Greg and Naoni were great, the breakfast was delicious. We stayed two nights in the Eagle Next in July 2011 and will definitely stay there again just to have Greg's cornmeal muffins and spicy egg breakfast dish. Major yum.

Very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: The Eagle Nest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG-in-Snohomish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 121 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

We enjoyed staying at this B&B during our days in Friday Harbor. The breakfast was really nice, the downside is that it's a 20 minute walk to downtown Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jethroborsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Owner Greg is a rude, ill mannered person who also misrepresents the accommodations. My wife and I booked two nights in advance. What a mistake that was! First night the whole house had no heat [later found a small heater in the room on our own]. In a not very friendly manner, Greg stated he turns lights out at 10PM, but he would leave the front door open? Due to a previous booking we had to change rooms the second night. When we went to the room there was no bathroom! I called Greg and stated I specifically asked if the rooms had private bathrooms and was told yes. He responded in his usual abrupt way by saying there is a "private" bathroom for that room across the hall! He further stated "well if they ask me if the private bathroom is across the hall, I will tell them. Who would ever think to ask such a question when told all rooms have a private bathroom? He turned and walked away without so much of a sorry for any misunderstanding or inconvenience to us. Because there were two rooms down the hall and the other entered the living room, my wife felt she had to get dressed to go to the bathroom. The bathroom did not have a key lock, so technically anybody staying there could have used the bathroom.

The rooms were dated and rather small. The eating area for eight rooms had only four small tables and you had to eat between 8:30 and 9:30 AM, with no exceptions. The food was adequate with box cereal if you did not like what Greg prepared for breakfast.

My wife and I have stayed at many B&Bs' in the US and overseas, but never in such an unfriendly environment as this. Terrible, terrible, terrible!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jasen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I was shocked at how unfriendly Greg was. I have stayed at other B&B's with much better hospitality. When we first arrived, Greg didn't even say "Hello" . He just asked for our credit card. He made us feel very uncomfortable during our 3 night stay. We actually tried to avoid him. Otherwise, we were happy with our room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marjean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We spent two nights in the Eagles Nest and it was very comfortable and spacious, with a good view from the little balcony. We were quite concerned when we read a couple of the other reviews, but nonetheless decided to give it a try and found no substance to the issues stated, with the Innkeeper and his wife doing all they could to make us comfortable. Quiet location, with an easy walk into town, of just under a mile, if you want to do this. We want to go back again, as two nights were not enough. We liked the breakfasts, which had a good variety and the property is a great place to explore the island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Hillside House is only a few blocks away from the ferry station in Friday Harbor. We spent three nights in the Parisian room on the semi-basement floor. The room is very tastefully furnished and full of Paris inspired furniture. A little bit dark, but quiet and cosy. Great breakfast (Greg) and a lot of entertainment and recommendations (Naomi) made it easy to enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randolf_Birgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Greg, who handles the front desk and cooks the breakfast, is surprisingly unwelcoming and seems a bit hostile to guests. Our room was fine--comfortable but not large enough for lounging and a bit dark. Breakfasts were good, although rigidly served at 8:30, not the best time if you like to sleep late. The ferry arrives from Anacortes at 3:00, but they don't want you to check in until 4:00. This is an inconvenience, as you'll likely have a half hour to kill and it wouldn't hurt unfriendly Greg to offer you tea, coffee and cookies and let you sit on the deck and wait until 4:00. He prefers to run people who arrive from the ferry if they happen to appear a few minutes early. None too polite about it either. On another visit to Friday Harbor, I'd look for a different housing option.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michaelbreed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.1 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.4 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 17 in Friday Harbor
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 365 Carter Ave, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8055
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $125 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillside House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside House Bed and Breakfast, on San Juan Island, WA, is a 4,000 square foot contemporary inn, among an acre of fir trees, overlooking Mount Baker and the entrance to Friday Harbor. We feature spacious commons areas, wonderful views, quiet location, landscaped gardens, walking distance to shops, 7 guest rooms, each with a king or queen bed and private baths, and a 3 diamond rating from AAA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hillside House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside House Bed And Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing