We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orcas Suite - A Disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harrison House Suites
Ranked #4 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington State
1 review
“Orcas Suite - A Disappointment!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were very excited about our weekend away, ready to relax and enjoy our beautiful room. The location is wonderful a VERY short walk to the ferry and main street. The room however is a disappointment. It is very old and shabby, the floor is so crooked that everything kept wanting to slide off the small kitchen table! The bathroom has a bad leak coming from a corner of the jetted bathtub, a VERY small television is mounted to the wall on an arm that swings so you can try to see it from the sofa bed or from the Queen bed. It does neither! It is too small to see easily from the couch and the bed is turned sideways to it so only the person on the side of the bed facing it can watch at all. So much for relaxing and watching movies with the provided dvd/vhs player. There is a sad and tiny fireplace that looked like it might be electric, but it could be gas, we did not use it. The small deck with the "private" tub was nice, except it is under a street light and you are looking into people's houses across the street, the "view" is peek-a-boo between houses. The breakfasts they brought to our room each morning were very good and it was a great convenience. Maybe some other rooms have already been remodeled, but this one has not and really needs it! The walls are also very thin and we were woken up several times by the small child staying next door. If you decide to come I would recommend checking the website photos very carefully before booking a room here, if it does not show the room from multiple angles I would not try it or have low expectations. We will not be coming back, for the same price there are much nicer places to stay!

Room Tip: Avoid Orcas Suite!! Check website photos carefully!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wamomof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Harrison House Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. The Orcas Suite is a one of our honeymoon suites. It sits on the upper level of the 1905 Harrison House with views of the water. The suite has undergone several renovations over the last few years. Last year it received a fresh coat of paint, a new hot tub, sleeper sofa and flat screen television; this past February, 2012, a brand new walk-in shower along with a granite counter top, new refrigerator and plumbing in the kitchen. These old houses are indeed a challenge and we do our best to be conscientious stewards with maintenance. Yes settling of floors is not unusual. We have made an adjustment to the kitchen table so you can enjoy breakfast. We hope our guests will appreciate all the new amenities we have added to the suite. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    42
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
75
104
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have lost track of how many times we have stayed at Harrison House in the past seven years, but I can say that we have never had a problem of any sort, and it always feels special to be there. We are starting a tradition of staying there every Christmas, so we can visit family but also have a treat for ourselves at the same time, and bring the dogs, too. The four course breakfast is terrific, and the suites with kitchens allow you to cook other meals or save leftovers from tasty dinners around town. Everyone makes you feel both like an old friend and a valued customer, which is quite an achievement. I highly recommend the San Juan suite if you like plenty of space for lounging, cooking, or even (sadly) working. It is also good if you travel with largish dogs, like we do.

Room Tip: If you like to have room to spread out, The San Juan suite has two couches, two dining tables, three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wehrlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We loved our room and we had a wonderful time. We definately will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizDave90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Spent a couple nights in the Lopez Suite; which was my Dad's bedroom when he was growing up -- Anna Maria and Dave have made this old home alive again for me, bringing back memories when we visited my grandparents and creating new ones for my husband and I to share together of this picturesome island where I was born. Once we arrive here on the ferry, our car pretty much stays parked and we walk wherever we go--be sure to visit the Coho Restaurant, which is owned by Anna Maria and Dave.
As always, our time there is much too short but we always look forward to the great accommodations and extra touches that are "Anna Maria/Dave."

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whidbey_mjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A trip to San Juan Islands is a beautiful experience. Staying at Harrison House Suites in Friday Harbor makes it even better. The staff there bends over backwards to accommodate you.and they make you feel like old friends. Our stay in the Orcas Suite was very comfortable with everything you need and a view of the harbor. The hot tub on the private patio was a welcome addition on the 29 degree day in November. The breakfast is incredible and the home baked cookies that they bring to your room in the afternoons are deliscious! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go on their website and take a look at the pictures and amenities. Each room is a little different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legacy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Just spent the weekend here (in the Orcas Suite). Harrison House was great. Nice location, very accommodating owners, breakfast incredible! We plan to return in January. Thanks for a wonderful (if short) weekend!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cridland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We spent our 35th Wedding Anniversary in Friday Harbor. We had the Orcas suite and it was sweet! LOVED the personal hot tub and the very comfortable bed. Everything we could need was there. Enjoyed the cookies that magically appeared each afternoon and the Breakfasts were definitely gourmet!!! The Innkeepers were very helpful and friendly and made us feel right at home!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.0 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrison House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison House Suites

Property: Harrison House Suites
Address: 235 C St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrison House Suites, conveniently located steps from the Friday Harbor ferry landing and the downtown core, is an upscale inn with six suites. Each are fully furnished and appointed with full kitchens and private baths. Many have fire places, private hot tubs, and views of the water. Start your day each morning with breakfast delivered to your door. The Inn is the perfect base for your San Juan Island holiday and accommodates weddings, retreats, families traveling together and your furbaby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Harrison House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrison House Suites Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing