We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”
Review of Hungry Clam

Hungry Clam
Ranked #24 of 67 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I don't know about World Famous Fish & Chips, they were ok, but pretty greasy (hubby calls that a Gut Bomb). Of course, fat taste good and we were hungry, so we ate them anyway. The Cole Slaw was not the best either. The view was great, could not have asked for better. And we had good service, even though they were very busy. Looked like they offered some nice salads, so that would have been a better choice for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debimlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    104
    45
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fried R Us”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well, our waitress was friendly. This seemed like an interesting local place to explore. I had the one-piece fish and chips. I'm sure the fish was Alaskan cod, however the heavy batter and over-the-top deep frying totally overwhelmed the fish. For a place whose signature dish is fish and chips I would expect the frying to be lightened up, but this place rivals the county fair for frying. We won't be returning any time soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irisgladstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh. Fried foods and mushy french fries.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Go elsewhere. The view's ok, but soggy, mushy french fries are all I remember of my meal. My daughter had the fish and chips where the fish was actually tastym, but the fries, the fries, how hard is it to get fries right?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelly n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not nice”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Hungry Clam has the worst service -- rude staff from waitresses to manager. After poor service from everyone we dealt with, the final insult came when the manager/waitress used profanity directed at us. We immediately left and got some great fish and chips from a fast and friendly place down the road. Go to Fridays Crabhouse instead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food, service and prices.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The waitress suggested some places to find something we needed. It has a nice view of the street below, the shops lining it and cars loading on/off the ferry. The view of the water is blocked by the buildings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LISE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Clam also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Hungry Clam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing