We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Delicious Anniversary Dinner at Duck Soup.”
Review of Duck Soup Inn

Duck Soup Inn
Ranked #21 of 67 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Duck Soup Inn is a rustic island restaurant serving Pacific Northwest cuisine. We hope to offer you a sense of place by showcasing the bounty of the islands we are blessed to call home. From local farm produce, meat and seafood, foraged edibles from land and sea, and local goods made from island crafts people, the abundance and beauty of the San Juan's is on full display. We offer you adventures in island dining through fresh, seasonal, inspired cuisine, delightful wines, and creative cocktails served in a cozy cabin in the woods. The restaurant has received enthusiastic attention from various publications including Bon Appétit, Pacific Northwest Magazine, Seattle Met, Seattle Times, Gourmet, Travel & Leisure, and Fodor's.
Langley, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Delicious Anniversary Dinner at Duck Soup.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a very exceptional dining experience. The chef forages and creates delightful tastes accompanying the well thought out menu items. The ambiance is good and the wait staff was well versed in what ingredients and the presentation. Enjoyed our 24th anniversary dinner very much.
If you are in Friday Harbor don't miss dining here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandRealtoraFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    57
    42
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Everything was great!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

From a slightly unique viewpoint, we dined here with a 9 year old and a 2 year old that we were watching for the evening. We took a chance taking them here for dinner. Everything went smoothly. The food was great and the service was not only accommodating, but excellent. Everyone found something on the menu that they loved. The atmosphere was relaxing and comfortable. Our favorites were the fried Brussels sprout appetizer and the Steak Diane. We would dine here again, sans children. The cocktails were especially memorable ;)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to Duck Soup Inn for our wedding anniversary, where we were immediately welcomed and felt like we were treated very special. We were seated with a window view of a beautiful pond that had trees all around it, making it very romantic as well as warm and comfortable. Our waitress was incredibly attentive and very friendly, and truly wanted to make our evening special. The food was very fresh and delightful, the best dinner on the island. The culinary level of this restaurant is very high, as both our dinners were superb. Not only is this a great place to visit, you may also get a visit from Mo-Mo the very friendly cat who makes you feel at home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FalconCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Everyone raves about this restaurant so we went, but found it very ordinary with only "OK" flavors.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The service was good and the setting very pretty, it is San Juan Island after all, but the dishes were just not outstanding. The presentations were lovely and creative, but the flavors just "OK". Being from the San Francisco area may have spoiled us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alltheworld2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Possibly the best meal I've ever had”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I went with my wife and we shared 7 courses. The food was INCREDIBLE. We love eating and we love great food in great atmospheres. Duck Soup Inn had everything we could have asked for. It is outside of "downtown" but totally worth the drive or bike ride.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jesssica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Soup Inn also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Roche Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Duck Soup Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing