We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast Stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky Bay Cafe

Rocky Bay Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Breakfast Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Three of us stopped for breakfast here before a day long kayaking tour. What an unexpected treat. We picked the cafe because there was a line out the door. We only had to wait 10 minutes and were then treated to a satisfying breakfast. Definitely worth the wait!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OrcasIslandDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    171
    45
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The wait was long for breakfast but worth the wait. I had the oatmeal, which was huge and delicious. My husband ordered pancakes, which were light and fluffy. We were very happy with our breakfast and would recommend this place for a traditional breakfast while on the island.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Photographer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
529 reviews
361 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Great greasy spoon, homestyle breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Walking around Friday Harbor in the morning, we followed our noses (bacon!) until we saw the line in front of the Rocky, and knew this must be THE place to eat. We got in line.

Nothing foofoo or gourmet, just hardcore platefuls of the a.m. suspects, perfectly prepared and generously portioned, including TERRIFIC real hash browns which sadly isn't very usual any more at all, and all of which comes out piping hot/perfect.

Some mornings, this is just what you've got to have. And there's no better place on San Juan Island to have it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UnrepentantFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent food, good service, coparatively reasonable for Friday Harbor. The staff was friendly and very accomodating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RozSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Let's Get Real, It's OK ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for breakfast on July 4th before the parade. As far as breakfasts go, it was fine. It's pretty standard fare, with nothing bad nor anything special about it. All the raving about how superb it is seem to be overblowing the quality. It's not THAT good. One final word on the coffee: I would rate it a bit lower than average. Like a lot of cafés coffee, it was too weak and was not particularly flavorful.

Helpful?
Thank LSSR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Bay Cafe also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Rocky Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing