We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Rocky Bay Cafe

Rocky Bay Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great little local spot for breakfast. Prices a tad bit on the high side, but hey, it's Friday Harbor. Food was excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank spokanedavid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    182
    45
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good for a quick sit-down breakfast”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We ate breakfast here on a Saturday morning on the recommendation of locals. The place was full when we arrived, but by the time I walked across the road to the pharmacy and back, my boyfriend had been seated. The food was nothing to rave about, but also wasn't bad. The service was fast and friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sometimes there is a line out the door”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were there early on a Monday morning, and we did not have to contend with a long line of customers. We each had the "senior special," one egg prepared any way, bacon or sausage, hash brown potatoes and toast (or a pancake). The other items on the breakfast menu looked good and the prices were reasonable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
237 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Line Moves Quick”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Get here early and still expect a line for this breakfast/lunch mecca in Friday Harbor. Biscuits, gravy and hashbrowns spill over the plate and the brisket omelette is a winner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peripatetictexan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classic diner type restaurant”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is an extremely popular restaurant in Friday Harbor. On any given morning it's not unusual to see it completely full, and summer mornings the line files out the door and down the sidewalk. There are not a lot of places to eat breakfast in town and the Rocky Bay remains one of the major breakfast destinations.

The food is not bad, and not fantastic. It's fine, and has all the standards you would expect. Coffee is fine, too.

The only drawback for me is that it is loud, VERY loud, and the seating is not terribly comfortable.

The service is fine, they make fresh doughnuts (nearly?) every day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Bay Cafe also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Rocky Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing