We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a hearty brunch, but get in early or be prepared to wait”
Review of Rocky Bay Cafe

Rocky Bay Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
218 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“A great place for a hearty brunch, but get in early or be prepared to wait”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We ate at the Rocky Bay Cafe for Sunday brunch as a last minute choice. There was a sign out front to sign in so we did. Don't expect to get right in however, we waited about 45 minutes to be seated. The place was very crowded on the inside as well, and unfortunately they sat us right by the aisle where people come in to sign up so there was a lot of traffic. Don't expect ambiance, it's just a diner. The staff was friendly, but apparently overworked as I ordered coffee and the waitress only finally asked if I wanted a refill after we had already paid our bill and were prepared to leave. They ran out of the special crab omelette that I had my heart set on but the breakfast I ordered was really quite good. HUGE portions! It's a great place to grab some brunch if you are not in a hurry and are really hungry!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BLBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    178
    45
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food, but a ridiculously long wait for a table”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

There is a lack of good breakfast places in Friday Harbor. Rocky Bay Cafe seems to have a constant crowd outside patiently waiting for a table, I have never seen anything like it! We visited here on Sunday and Monday and both days waited an hour for a table. The turnover of the tables is so slow.
The food however was excellent. All of us enjoyed our brunch very very much, even my kids who are super fussy.
My only food related complaint was the orange juice, not freshly squeezed but concentrate from a carton.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMFTW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good value, irregular service.”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

in our three days on the island, we ate at Rocky Bay Café 3 times. That should tell you something about the quality of the food and the price. The combination breakfast is a great deal and became our favorite. My wife declared the French toast the best she has ever had. We also enjoyed the crab omelet special, the breakfast burrito, and vanilla cappuccino. Food was served quickly, so the long wait list went quickly. The one place the service consistently fell down was water refills. At several points, every glass at ours and all the surrounding tables were empty. Better if they just left out some pitchers and let patrons refill their own glasses. Still, we’ll surely be back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qhawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, simple food, convenient location”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

nothing too fancy here, but good food all around. Eggs over medium actually were cooked perfectly. Corned beef hash was tasty, but could have used a bit of salt.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9thANGEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent food, but not great”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Based on the reviews, we thought we'd be knocked out by the breakfast here, but we weren't. The menu offers the standard fare. Of our group of four, one of us had eggs, bacon, hashbrowns and toast, one had the same but french toast instead of hashbrowns, one had a denver omlette (with hashbrowns and toast) and one had oatmeal (with raisins, cranberries, walnuts, brown sugar, and milk). The food was good, just not outstanding. The service was quick at the outset, but getting drink refills was a challenge. The nice thing was that they didn't rush us to leave even though there were people waiting outside for tables.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2waylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Bay Cafe also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Rocky Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing