We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Getaway”
Review of Wayfarer's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wayfarer's Rest
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I recently joined two of our close friends and their toddler. We had a great weekend in a comfortable hostel. I would recommend this place. Most of the major kitchen utensils we available. We brought our own towels though it wasn't necessary. The beds were a little squeaky so that's why I didn't give this an excellent rating. The management was very easy to work with.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cashmoney_ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 42 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in one of the dorm rooms and couldn't have been happier. The rooms, bathrooms and ktichens were all clean & tidy, the beds were comfortable, showers were hot, it was only a short walk from town/ferry dock and I met some amazing people from all around the world. It was peaceful & quiet there (even though they were booked out!) and couldn't have asked for anything better on my budget.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MishyC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here the night before our camping trip in the San Juan Islands. It did the trick - was clean and spacious. The shared kitchen was nice both for dinner and also for prepping our meals before camping. The kitchen just has the basics but it does the trick. Fellow guests were all friendly and interesting - many doing outdoor pursuits as well. The location is a 10 minute walk or so from the ferry terminal in Friday Harbor, no need for a car. The staff were not present at arrival but had left instructions for check in so it all worked out in the end.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jess_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night while visiting San Juan - a good location only 10 minute walk from ferry. Clean, bright & spacious place. Good value for location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelopedublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After a long day of bike riding over on Orcas, we arrived on late and were able to get right in. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. The grounds were lush and pretty. Two huge kitchen areas. Friendly people all just passing through

Room Tip: Room 4 was great for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ibsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is a good place to stay on San Juan Island if you're not wanting to spend a fortune and don't mind things being a bit grungy. I was bike-touring and didn't want to camp; it was perfect for me. Yes, the bed in private room #2 squeaks mercilessly and isn't so comfortable; yes, you hear everything that's going on in other rooms. And I can imagine that it gets dirty, when there are lots of people there. But it's got a good central location (nothing scenic, but presumably you'll be everywhere else on this amazingly beautiful island while you're awake), not right downtown so it's quieter in that sense, and the kitchens are good-sized. I'd certainly stay there again...the absurd cost of staying in the more upscale institutions on this island would otherwise keep me away. And it's such a great place to visit--the south and west coasts of that island have some of Washington's most amazing places.

Room Tip: Private room #2 is right next door to the bathroom, which is good (easy access in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed there two nights,April 23&24 2012 Location was good and the price was reasonable. The place ,however, was badly in need of a good cleaning. The floors had not been vacuumed or mopped , the stove had been left very dirty and the whole place was in need of a good cleaning. The place has potential.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank norshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#11 of 11 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayfarer's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfarer's Rest

Address: 35 Malcom St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9594
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $76 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for finding the Wayfarer’s Rest, providing comfortable and convenient lodging for active travelers since 1999. Budget accommodations for individuals, couples, families and groups.Wayfarers rest is located just four blocks from the ferry terminal on Malcolm St., just two blocks off the main street of town. Parking is available for guests but we are an easy 10 minute walk from the boat if you are on foot. Town amenities include grocery stores, restaurants, boutiques, movie theater, bowling alley, museums and more, all within walking distance. Also, access on foot, the Port of Friday Harbor, with its float plane terminal, fresh fish market and passenger only ferry services.For those unfamiliar with Hostel travel you can equate it to a bed and breakfast minus the formal breakfast production. The advantages above and beyond the savings is your access and use of our two fully equipped kitchen facilities where you can prepare your own breakfast, lunch and/or dinner, saving you the costs of dining out. It is also interactive, if you choose, meet fellow travelers, and share different experiences, stories and traveling tips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wayfarer's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayfarer's Rest Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing