We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wayfarer's Rest
Nearby Hotels
Friday Harbor Suites(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$205
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friday Harbor House(Friday Harbor)
$419
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earthbox Inn & Spa(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orca Inn(Friday Harbor)
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tucker House Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Bird Rock Hotel(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$215
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Roche Harbor Resort(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Island Inn at 123 West(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
15
13
9
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
13
9
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 42 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed here for three nights at the end of August 2011. Checking in was a little different with instructions left on a desk at the front door. The accomodation was clean, spacious and comfortable. The lounge and kitchen area were nice, it really was like a friend had left you the key to their house while they were out of town! I REALLY enjoyed it and would recomend it in a heart beat and the price was great as well. If you are looking for 5 star luxuary with alot of staff running around after you then this is NOT for you. But if you do want a peaceful place to stay while in pretty and peaceful Friday Harbour, then this is a great place to stay if you are on a budget. HIGHLY RECOMENDED.

Room Tip: Rooms are assigned with a slight variation determined by price...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at the Wayfarer's Rest for 3 nights in August 2011. We were very lucky they still had rooms available as we only booked two days in advance. This meant we stayed in one of the wooden cabins for the first night (which we straight away nicknamed as "the Garden Shed") and were then moved to a double room for the remaining two nights.

The wooden cabins literally are garden sheds and ours was situated at the back of the garden behind the main house (on the right). There are two shared bathrooms in the main house, which is about 15 meters from the cabin. It has two single beds on either side of the room. One of the beds has the loudest squeak you'll ever hear in your life. The door didn't have a proper lock either. There were warm blankets and a small heater available. Overall, clean but basic.

Moving to a private double bedroom, next to one of the shared bathrooms in the main house, the following day was lovely. There was one double bed and two single beds, which makes this room really good value for money, particularly if you are sharing with friends or a family with children. Overall: clean, warm and comfortable.

We paid 80 dollars a night (incl tax). It surprised us there was no difference in price between the two rooms we stayed in.

If you are coming to San Juan Island on a budget and you don't want to camp, we'd definitely recommend the Wayfarer's Rest.

Room Tip: As there is no price difference between the cabin and the private double room we stayed in, book a private room!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totneslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Quaint and worth the money we stayed in the "boat house" it was very clean and well equiped, our trip to the island lasted several days. We had a fantastic time. There are 2 restrooms had no wait and there are stocked kitchens bring your food and cook if you want. Make sure you have towel there is a $2 fee for towles.

In all it is a great place to stay and is within 5 min. walking distance to the harbor and shops

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parsec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Well, wasn't sure what to expect. It was definitely a good deal, but saving a couple bucks isn't always the best way to go about life. I'm not sure what I was looking for, so my lower rating is probably based on what I 'thought' it should be versus what it actually was. If i was looking for a place to just get my couple hours of sleep and move on to the next place; say I was on my motorcycle, or bicycle, or hiking, this would have been a great place to stop. If I was stopping here for a quick shut eye and headed to another place on the other side of the island, then yes this would have been okay. Not sure it was quite what I thought it should be. We stayed in one of the cabins in the back of the house/hostile. It was clean, quaint, quiet. Definitely got our money's worth. It wasn't to full, and the wait for one of the two bathrooms wasn't all that long. Not sure we'll stay here again however. Just not quite our style.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjay_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Stayed there recently in Mid-Sept. 2008. Quiet, clean, comfortable. Great garden, good setting on edge of Friday Harbor. An excellent choice for the budget traveler. Easy walk to ferry or stores and restaurants. Not sure whether there are any private rooms with bathrooms. I only saw shared bathrooms, which might be a complication if the place is full.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WAguyWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews