We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goument Pizza”
Review of Van Go's Pizza

Van Go's Pizza
Ranked #18 of 67 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A lovely garden setting and delicious pizza. The staff were delightful and made us extremely welcome. A perfect way to cap our short stay in the San Juan Islands.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were excited to find a new place to have pizza on San Juan Island, good pizza, and we were looking forward to trying VanGo's. Atmosphere is lovely in the outside dining, service was very good. The one big issue we had was in the way they chose to tell my friend that he could not bring in his own diet soda. He is diabetic and in front of everyone the waitress made a point of telling him that in the future he could not bring in his own soda. It was embarrassing to be confronted in the manner that they chose. I do not fault them for having this rule, but it would have been much more tactful, not to mention less embarrassing, to have mentioned this fact when we were paying, which is done at the register, than in front of everyone that was eating at the time. My friend in his embarrassment snapped back that if they would carry his diet soda he wouldn't bring his in. I know he will not return and we live on San Juan Island. We were also canvasing pizza restaurants because we order for a group on the "Island" that has pizza once a month. Needless to say...that we will not be ordering from them. Maybe in the future the staff will think about how to address a customer without embarrassing them. After all its the customer who makes your business.......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
2  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danvanham, Manager at Van Go's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Diane,

We appreciate your feedback and choosing VGP.

Since our policy doesn't allow customers to bring their own beverages, mainly for alcohol purposes and licensing control, it makes it hard to wait till the moment you approach the register. The enforcement of the policy should be done right at the moment we see it happening.

Regardless, we would have appreciated it if your friend had communicated that the beverage was needed due to a medical condition. This whole issue would have never occurred.

Again, thank you for your feedback, we hope you consider our restaurant again.

Alejandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Enjoyed the pear, prosciutto and goat cheese with arugula pizza. The thin-crust is perfection, and the patio is cozy with a wall of flowers and a nice ambiance. Seating is limited on the patio, especially for a 4 or 6 person party. Service was very attentive. We noticed a sign that states they may close early if they run out of dough, so maybe go early and get best choice of seating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bluestems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

A block or two off the main shopping area, this one is worth seeking out. Cozy atmosphere, great service. We had a delicious Italian style pizza that hit the spot after a day of travel and shopping.

1  Thank Lactivist71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We chose this restaurant on trip advisor recommendations and were not disappointed. While the outside and locale are not remarkable, the ambience inside, in particular the patio, and the pizzas are! Four of us went for a casual dinner out while visiting Friday Harbor on our boats and we split a Cobb shrimp bowl of salad which was wonderful. Then we ordered 2 large pizzas which was way more than we could eat so we had a delicious lunch the next day. The house wine was a treat too! Would definitely go back next time in port!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank diwaldo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Go's Pizza also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Van Go's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing