We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Peaceful Retreat”
Review of Longhouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longhouse B&B
Ranked #7 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved staying with Patty and Jerry at Longhouse again for the past 3 nights. These 2 welcome us into their home, and treat us like family. Patty's breakfasts look and taste like they are prepared for royalty, and are served where we look out at the water and evergreens.
Our bed seems to have been made for me. These hosts see to our every need, sometimes before we realize we need it. I'm looking forward to our next visit.
Longhouse doesn't take credit cards, but this establishment is a very good value, and a treat to come back to. I recommend Longhouse Bed and Breakfast on San Juan Island, Wa.

Room Tip: I prefer the green room and its roomy bathroom the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family particularly enjoys short hikes and birding. Our host Jerry provided great insights into local area hiking and provided maps. He also provided pointers on best places to see eagles and occasional foxes. The property is quite lovely and we entirely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were welcomed with fresh homemade cookies and lavender lemonade upon our arrival. Patty and Jerry sat down with us and offered wonderful suggestions for restaurants, hikes, and places to visit. They offered to make dinner reservations and even printed out maps for different routes for our trip home.

Every morning we were greeted by a gorgeous fruit plate followed by French toast, Dutch babies, locally made sausage, homemade preserves, and other goodies all garnished with beautiful edible flowers. Patty formerly owned a restaurant in Seattle and is an amazing cook.

We had planned on leaving for a quick trip to Vancouver after 2 nights but decided to stay at Longhouse a 3rd night to enjoy our hosts' suggestion to visit the neighboring organic farm, alpaca farm, and take a leisurely hike. Patty and Jerry clearly love San Juan Island and were anxious to share it with us. We would love to visit them again!

Carolyn and Inman
Cartersville, Georgia

Room Tip: We stayed in the green room which had a private bath across the hall. The blue room had to walk a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were welcomed to the house with a glass of wine and appetizers on the terrace overlooking the bay. Not more than ten minutes went by before I asked Patty and Jerry what was that creature running across the lawn. Turns out it was an otter; we later spotted two swimming just offshore. Then the herons and eagles made their appearances, followed a little later by the kingfisher, who entertained us by diving off the dock piling into the water multiple times. Next morning we saw a doe and her spotted fawn in the yard.
Patty and Jerry are very warm and generous people who love to share their home and island with all. The place is away from town and main resort--just what I wanted. The first night I could not sleep because of the absence of urban noise and light, but quickly adjusted and slept like a rock the following night. The room was roomy, clean and nicely appointed. Bathrooms are across the hall, but not a problem as the two guest rooms are assigned separate bathrooms. As for the breakfasts, absolutely wonderful. Wished we could have stayed a few more days to kayak and just hang. Next visit.
ael & jt

Room Tip: The Longhouse has two rooms in the main house--we stayed in the green room which is on the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aelandjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Patty and Jerry in October, and it was one of the best stays of our lives. They are such an amazing couple with great travel stories, a beautiful home and AMAZING food! The moment we arrived we felt completely at home. Jerry was very helpful with offering feedback regarding activities, hikes, etc. in the area, and they were both a pleasure to be around! If you get a chance, try Patty's Dutch baby!! We will definitely be back in the future and HIGHLY recommend staying at Longhouse!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JadeAndTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a most wonderful time at the Longhouse Bed and Breakfast. Patty and Jerry are warm, kind, and generous people. They worked hard to make sure our vacation was relaxing, warm, well fed, and fun. The house is beautiful and perfect for a weekend away. The food was incredible, and the company with Patty and Jerry even better. We had a fabulous trip and would love to return SOON. Gratitude and blessings to Patty and Jerry!

Room Tip: Both room have their own bathroom and it is wonderful, lovely, and perfect. You will not be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A great location for a gateway on San Juan Island. Patty and Jerry are warm and welcoming hosts who made us feel at home. Highly recommended, especially if you are looking for a place a little outside of towns, facing a small bay and surrounded by woods. And the breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parmef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
6.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
485 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
360 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
#7 of 11 in Friday Harbor
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 17 in Friday Harbor
67 reviews
7.1 mi away
Friday Harbor Grand
Friday Harbor Grand
#3 of 17 in Friday Harbor
105 reviews
2.8 mi away
Roche Harbor Resort
Roche Harbor Resort
#6 of 11 in Friday Harbor
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longhouse B&B

Address: 2187 Mitchell Bay Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8508
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $110 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Waterfront Bed and Breakfast Good view, Great Food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Longhouse B&B Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing