We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity Lane”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juniper Lane Guest House
Ranked #5 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We just got back from our trip to Friday Harbor and I felt compelled to write about the wonderful experience and most importantly the wonderful guest house. I wasn't sure what to expect and was a little concerned with the review that mentioned it was far from town and it was noisy. Now that I have been there I have to say it was nothing less than perfect! Juniper was available to answer any questions, but gave us all the space we needed to thoroughly enjoy the cozy guest house she lovingly created. We stayed in the Green Tea room and the character and creativity that went in to every element of the home and the room was unbelievable! It encompassed everything I thought a trip to Friday Harbor should be. It is a guest house, so there were other people that we ran in to and heard on occasion, but everyone was respectful and friendly. We did have a car and we were on a tight schedule, so we did use the car, but it was not necesary. The nature on the island was so enjoyable that I wish I had more time to walk. We had dinner at the Duck Soup Inn one night which was by far the best restaurant on the island and we went Kayaking w/ Outdoor Odyssey's (a must). We saw orcas on two different occasions on our trip and learned a ton from our wonderful guides Chris and Johnathan. While on our Kayaking trip I asked one of the other Kayakers what they thought of their hotel ( Elements) and they said they thought it was interesting that they were given ear plugs?? Didn't have too much else to say other than that and when you compare the price to Juniper Lane it is a no brainer! I hope to be back many many more times and I hope others can experience the wonders of this magical place!....on a side note....when we travel we typically stay at high end hotels in the larger cities. We stayed at the Westin in Seattle and had I known I would have been here an extra night instead!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashlyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Juniper Lane Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 96 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2008

If you're not one of the lucky few who can call San Juan Island their home 365 days a year, at least you can stay in a place that feels like home while you're there.

This amazing Bed & Breakfast, just a hop, skip and jump away from the dock at Friday Harbor, is so beautiful inside and out, you'll have a hard time tearing yourself away to see the sites.

Everything is decorated so wonderfully, you'll go home with ideas about how you're going to re-do your bathroom. The room we stayed in, The Green Tea Room, overlooked the sheep pasture out back, with a cute little window seat to take in the view from.

There is a wonderfully, relaxed atmosphere that permeates this place. If you're looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life for a while, check out the San Juan Islands, and stay at Juniper Lane while you're there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MikeBr312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

I was to Juniper's in 2007 with my nieces. We shared a bunk room and had the best time. Juniper is gracious and the unique touches to the home reflect her. The property is lovely. Sit in the back and gaze over a neighboring lake and take in all the locals.....critters and birds! Tall trees.....quiet....a great place to sit and enjoy a good bottle of wine. I'm heading back tomorrow for 4 days. See you soon, Juniper.
MV, Irvine, CA.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blazer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

This is a beautiful place that the owner Juniper has lovingly renovated. Pictures don't do it justice. Juniper (the owner) is very friendly and goes out of her way to make guests feel comfortable. The kitchen is very nice with everything you'll need if you choose to use it. The only problem is it is located right off a very, very busy road. We went in August when it was warm and we needed to keep the windows open. It was VERY noisy, even with the windows closed (which made it very warm too sleep).

Other advice - this property is located outside of town. Taxi is about $6-$10 one way . It is not safe to walk to/from town due to traffic so either bring a car (or rent) or plan to use taxi( we did).

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank chakrachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperLane, owner/ Juniper Maas at Juniper Lane Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2007

While this review is very complimentary towards myself (I am grateful for that) We feel that there are a couple of strong personal opinions that may mislead potential future guests.
That the Inn is located off a very, very busy road and that it is unsafe to walk can be a subjective statement. The road is a rural country road with one lane in either direction that can be busy at some times during the day as it services the island traffic as one of four main roads out of town. Many of our guests choose to walk the 1.3 mile to the ferry and town regularly as we do on a daily basis and have for the past twelve years. We are a certified "Green Hotel" and we promote walking to reduce the use of fossil fuels and when it is enjoyable. We also don't provide air conditioning as this is the Pacific Northwest and very temperate with few exceptions. Fans are provided for those occasional hot summer nights. Friday Harbor is a small town on a small island. One of the tourism slogans boasts that Friday Harbor does not have a single traffic light. For more tranquil secluded locations visitors are welcome to check out the many options further out of town. We often refer potential guests looking for very quiet and remote locations to these accordingly priced establishments. We are conveniently located giving a rural setting within walking distance to the restaurants and shops of our small town and we are one of the most affordable, beautiful Inns on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our three days at Juniper Lane Guest House, and will definitely return. For those who enjoy mingling with other guests in the common kitchen, and sharing stories and life in the cozy front room, and perhaps a glass of wine, this is a wonderful retreat. Conversations with Juniper, the owner, added an element of personal presence that brought meaning to Juniper Lane's origins. Truly a Friday Harbor gem!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2004

I just returned from a great weekend trip on San Juan Island. One of the highlights was staying at the brand new Juniper Lane Guest House! It's a hybrid between a bed & breakfast and an international hostel. The decor is contemporary, multicultural, and fresh. Every room has silk curtains, that's how luxurious this guest house is! My friends and I will definitely be back. I highly recommend it! ---juniperlaneguesthouse---

7  Thank Austin_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 22ga_mi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Lane Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Lane Guest House

Address: 1312 Beaverton Valley Rd, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8999
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: $65 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juniper Lane Guest House is Unique Boutique Inn, a petit hotel, a hidden gem....and you found it! Affordable and clean lodging on San Juan Island. Located on the edge of Friday Harbor over looking a beautiful pastoral setting. Just a stones throw from Friday Harbor for shopping, restaurants, and activities yet rural enough to unwind in a hammock hanging in a 200 year old Douglas Fir tree as the sun sets down the valley. All of our rooms are unique and custom crafted with different types of native and exotic wood, colorful tiling and paint, and extra touches to ensure a one-of-a-kind stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juniper Lane Guest House Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing