We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!”

San Juan Island Cheese
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: Welcome to San Juan Island Cheese. We are your local cheese counter and lunch bistro with an ideal location across from the Brickworks Farmer's Market and within walking distance to the ferry. Sit outside in our patio oasis and enjoy a glass of wine, beer, cider or shrub with our ever changing cheese and meat boards. Here for lunch? Try one of our house made quiches, salads, daily soup made with seasonal ingredients or panini for lunch! Room for dessert? We offer cheesecake and chocolate cheese truffles, just to name a few. San Juan Island Cheese showcases artisan cheese, beers, and wines from the Pacific Northwest and beyond. Explore and take home amazing cheeses custom cut and wrapped by knowledgeable and passionate mongers for your enjoyment.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

I thought it was a cheese store… It's a fantastic place for lunch too!!! I had the veggie sandwich and my friend has the grilled cheese. We argued about about who had the more perfect lunch. GO THERE!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Owner at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thanks for your nice review.
So glad you found us.
We are especially happy when "Locals" visit us.
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

Fantastic stop! Ordered a blue cheese plate and a couple of glasses of wine. Pairing was excellent, and the cheese plate was very well done. We ate on the back patio on a perfect day before the crowds showed up. Highly recommend for a couple's happy hour

Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah D, General Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review!

We're huge fans of blue cheese and love sharing our favorites with our guests.

We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We went to the shop/bistro and had a very good time! The garden in the backyard is lovely! The cheese was tasty but the smoked salmon was incredible! As a dessert we had a cheesecake which was perfect. The only thing missing was an espresso!

Thank Ulrike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah D, General Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Wow is right!
Thanks for your review!
We're glad you enjoyed everything- from the cheese to the smoked salmon to the cheesecake!
We currently offer drip coffee from a local roasting company that is delicious. Not quite espresso, I know...
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

we ate here when we first arrived at Friday harbor and made sure to come again before we left because it was so good. We had 2 different grilled cheese sandwiches. A veggie, and one with pesto, tomato and cheese. They were delicious, perfectly crunchy, best grilled cheese we've had. The outside back seating is very nice with a beautiful little garden. The staff was very friendly. They unfortunatley are closed Tuesdays and Wednesdays. We came back before we left though and had more grilled cheese and a delicious northwest cheese plate. We came here with the trip advisor recommendation that had it ranked #1 in Friday harbor. We completely agree. Loved it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3GilmoreGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah D, General Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

That's cheese-tastic!
Thank you for your kind words.
Our grilled cheeses are made with sharp white cheddar, french raclette, a housemade pesto with parmigiano reggiano, and fresh slices of tomato. Now you're making me hungry!

Please visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Excellent service! Great addition to Friday harbor. Nice outdoor patio with the fragrance of fresh herbs.

Thank HilldaleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah D, General Manager at San Juan Island Cheese, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you!

Our herb garden went wild this summer with parsley, sage, oregano, chives, thyme... Plus we have arugula and tomatoes. We're glad you enjoyed the fresh fragrance.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan Island Cheese also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to San Juan Island Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing